Wildlife

So I got myself a new toy.

IMG_8965

While I can come up with legitimate justifications for having it, the truth is that I thought it would be fun to see what might be roaming around the farm at night.

We have lots of wildlife here, of course. But often all we see of the crittersย are tracks and scat. They’re pretty good at staying out of sight. I’ve seen plenty of deer, possums, coons, skunks and the like, but I’ve yet to see a bear, a bobcat or a coyote. Quite a few people have reported seeing a cougar, but to the best of my knowledge no one has gotten a picture of one. And of course there is the mysterious creature I’ve glimpsed that I believe to be a fisher cat.

So I set out my new trail camera in hopes of capturing exciting photos of wildlife.

Guess what I’ve discovered so far?

STC_0013

I need to program the date and time correctly

STC_0011

No surprises yet.

I’ll keep looking.

 

41 comments on “Wildlife

  1. I suppose your curiosity to know whether the camera could catch the Fisher Cat would make you look at the images daily. Are you doing that?

    Shakti

    Like

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    Have fun! And a joyous Thanksgiving!

    Like

  3. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    O deer – perhaps some “duck” (whose tape left behind – “duct” tape in the old days).

    Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Boys and their toys ๐Ÿ˜€ I must say, that I am most certainly not letting my dearest and nearest see this post if I can help it. Mean I know!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      But I so rarely buy toys. ๐Ÿ™‚
      The price of these cameras has fallen dramatically over the last few years. It’s a somewhat frivolous purchase, but not an overly extravagant one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

        When we moved from NYC in 1975 our offspring, not yet four years old, would go with me to buy the groceries and each trip would request some “trivial” toy. After a couple of trips like that, I decided a weekly allowance (some coins) and a savings passbook account within the distance of a Saturday morning walk. Then the offspring could decide, when to save, when to spend (and on what). It changed a life. Much later I read a book Couples and Money which suggests “Theirs and Hers and His” including allowance (in quotes). How she or he uses that personal portion is their own business and the partner does not criticize or try to veto. It is a law of “conservation” that what one spends on one thing is not available to spend on a different thing; and the converse, what one does NOT spend – on something someone else might prefer if it were them – is also available to spend on a different thing, no matter how “frivilous.” For example, by the time we arrived at the point of buying a Macintosh (SE, at the time) computer, the offspring volunteered to contribute $600 of allowance saved over a long period of time – to help make sure the family bought a Mac.

        Like

  5. Wonderful captures.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you catch what you think has been prowling.. My hubby and I jokingly only recently spoke about such camera’s on our allotment plot.. However our wild life seems to have two legs, and eats onions, turnips and breaks into sheds. :(… Thankfully our shed was left alone this time.. but they chose the largest turnips ๐Ÿ™‚ xx They must need them more than we..

    Like

  6. What a surprise :). I’ve often thought one of those cams would be fun. It’s going to be interesting to see what you see over the year…besides deer.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I checked it today (at a different location) and had more deer shots, including some nice daytime photos. Still nothing else so far. My neighbor down the road photographed a large bear with his. I’m curious to see what is roaming around out there other than deer.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. EllaDee says:

    Interesting to actually see what’s there than guessing by the clues they leave, noises… or things they take
    I know we have at least a bandicoot, possum, owl, frogs, foxes, flying foxes, cats, bats, geckos… and wallabies who camp under the neighbors’ house.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I had to look up bandicoot. For sure we don’t have any of those (no wallabies either). I hear coyotes yipping and howling most nights, but I’ve never laid eyes on one. I expect I’ll get a picture of one sooner or later…

      Like

    • smcasson says:

      Bill I think most of those trail cams are set up to catch motion of a large animal – deer, bears, trespassers… Maybe there’s a sensitivity adjustment you can make to make it spot a fisher or a coyote. (Coyotes are pretty small, comparatively) Of course, if it sees a fisher, it’ll catch every deer that bats an eyelash or twitches a tail too.
      I’ve seen plenty of CL ads posting pics of equipment being stolen, caught on trail cam. Sad but true.

      Like

  8. smcasson says:

    Oops, wrong thread level for my comment above… ^

    Like

  9. How fun! I bought one for M a while back but he has yet to find time to set it up. Maybe this weekend he can set aside some time.
    I sure hope you do get a picture of that fisher cat!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Mine was very easy to set up. Just put the batteries in and it’s ready to go. I did try to program the date and time but somehow goofed that up, so I need to give it another try. The quality of the nighttime shots isn’t very good (as you can see) but the flash is invisible, so as not to spook the wildlife. Yesterday it took some daytime shots of deer and the quality of those is excellent. We’re hoping to get photos of something more unusual than a deer someday. Would be neat to capture an image of something rare. Hoping you all have yours up and running soon.

      Like

  10. Those are great. I’ll bet you get a surprise.

    Like

  11. Can’t wait to see what turns up under cover of darkness! Keep us posted.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  12. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Is this your Fisher? Not a cat, but a (larger) cousin of the Mink; ) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fisher_(animal)
    Apparentky there is also a Fishing Cat; but it’s native to Asia… https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fishing_cat
    If you do have a Fisher passing through, and had an abundance of rodents, you won’t have for very long; )
    We had one go through here. The footprint I saw in the snow a few years ago, was not fresh, but looked similar to a cat… Looking forward to more of your snaps: )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve seen what I believe to be a fisher, even though they’re not supposed to be this far south. Hoping to capture an image of whatever I’ve been seeing.

      Like

  13. shoreacres says:

    The best reason to have a camera like this is to enjoy it. There’s a blogger on weather underground who does nothing but post links to various cams. I’ve been watching a camera much like yours for several years. It’s aimed at a feeder, and gets its share of deer, of course, but there have been possums, raccoons, and a stray neighbor’s calf. They’re really wonderful. Everything in the world doesn’t have to be utilitarian, you know. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Bill says:

      True, but on a small farm budget it helps to get at least a little utility out of our purchases. ๐Ÿ™‚ In this case I consider getting a better understanding of what wildlife we have here to be good enough. If we ever catch a poacher on it, all the better.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        You know, I think my friend and I found evidence of a poacher during our Thanksgiving trip. We found two deer rib cages and spinal cords, fresh but stripped clean, two leg bones, and a pile of hide, all in the middle of the road. I can’t imagine a legit hunter leaving all that. What do you think?

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Probably not. Usually a hunter will “field dress” the deer (i.e. gut it) and take the rest to skin and clean later. Sometimes they’ll just take the “backstrap” (tenderloin) or maybe the legs, and leave the rest. What you’re describing sounds more like a predator or scavenger. It’s possible that the deer died there after being shot. Often a deer will run away after being shot and the hunter won’t be able to find it. Sometimes I find carcasses like that here and my usual guess is that the deer was wounded by a hunter, ran away and died later.

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Ah. That’s not any better for the deer, but I hated the thought of a poacher. I kept thinking about the guys you’ve mentioned, who hunt from the road.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        But having said all that, it wouldn’t make sense that the deer would’ve laid down to die in the middle of the road. That is curious.

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I’ve got photos. I’ll send them along once I have them processed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

