Meanwhile, in the pasture…

Let’s see. We’ve covered capital punishment, quantum mechanics and monetary theory. What else is there to blog about? Oh yeah… baby goats!

IMG_8887

We have a bunch of cute kids cavorting around the pasture these days, with more on the way.

IMG_8947

IMG_8945

Sharona is due next

IMG_8938

Her rotundity is more evident in this shot (she’s upper left)

IMG_8889

I’ll say it again. There are few things in the world cuter than baby goats.

 

24 comments on “Meanwhile, in the pasture…

  1. And they pose so beautifully … what a perfect way to start the day …

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We can see the pasture from our house. I get the pleasure of seeing them playing in the morning, even before coffee has cleared away my grogginess. It is a good way to start a day. 🙂

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m going to have to find myself a baby goat to pet, just to see if they’re as soft and fuzzy as they appear. By the way, you’re warmer than we are this morning — by one degree. My weather page says you’re at 43F, and we’re at 42. Tomorrow, it’s supposed to be 37F. It’s a real front!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re always welcome to come on over and do that experiment here. 🙂

      We’re forecast to go down to 27 tonight. It will be the first freeze we’ve had in a month. We’ve been enjoying the warm sunny weather, but knowing it has to end sometime.

      Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, so when the world looks bad and you are feeling down with everything, just go pet a goat and things will look ever so much better. New life on the homestead just makes the soul feel like all is right with the world, don’t you think? It was always a time of anticipation and excitement when our cows were about to calf. I sometimes wish I could have animals but then I don’t really want the responsibility of chores twice a day. So if I really feel the need for animal interaction, I’ll go the goat petting area at the local zoo. 🙂

    Have a great kidding day.

    Like

  4. They are adorable! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. avwalters says:

    What is the significance of King of the Hill. Goats do it. Kids (the two legged variety) do it. Since we’ve been under construction, there are, from time to time, many piles of dirt around here. No sooner are they piled up than we notice that they are covered with prints. Mostly it’s deer, but even the turkeys do it.
    And your baby goats are too cute. I wouldn’t get anything done!

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    Finally, finally, some serious topics here. 🙂
    We are under a foot of snow and single digits. I saw deep deer tracks, but these tiny baby goats would be totally buried.
    Bill, here is a cruel and stupid question I have on this post. Where do your goats eventually end up? – as meat I assume? Is there much market for lamb now? Just curious.. I am a big lamb lover myself, but everyone I know never eat it. All the lamb I see in Trader J0es and some other places is imported from Australia and New Zealand. Only a couple folks at farmers market sell local.

    Like

    • EllaDee says:

      Lamb is an Aussie staple for local consumers and export, but goat also is a growing export market with goat meat becoming more available locally here as well. Both great because they need to be pastured rather than feedlot & grain fed beef. But the tide is turning there as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • BeeHappee says:

        Ah, thank you, my stupidity, I was using ‘lamb’ for lamb and goat meat interchangeably. Come to think of it, it’s been quite a while since I had goat here in the USA. Time to drive up to my farmer to get some. 🙂

        Like

    • Bill says:

      The breed we raise (Boers) are meat goats. We sell the kids when they’re weaned, usually at about 50 pounds. Fortunately most of this lot has already been reserved by people who will be adding them to their herds. If we have any females left over after that, we’ll keep them for our herd.

      American farms don’t produce enough goat to meet demand, so most of the goat eaten in the U.S. is imported from Australia and New Zealand. My understanding is that there are huge numbers of feral goats there and that is the source of the imported meat, but I’m not sure of that. I don’t eat lamb and Cherie is vegetarian, so I don’t know much about it. I do have some friends who raise sheep here and sell their lamb at the farmers market.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. EllaDee says:

    I have to agree, I love kittens and puppies… anything cute, four legged, furred or feathered but baby goats are truly lovely. Even older goats… there is a ‘farm’ at a local ‘cafe’… hard to explain… but the goat there [ok, now imagine me in amongst the children] when I pat her is soft and warm and leans into my hand.

    Like

  8. Oh my. Cuteness overload coming…

    Like

  9. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    LOL! Please pet a few of those soft and furry ears for me will you, please?
    Speaking of incredibly soft and furry; do your goats have those little dingle-balls under their chins, like my Aunt’s goats did? (They were Toggle burg or something like that…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

