Commentary

Everyone appreciates a pat on the back now and then. So, at the risk of immodesty, today I thought I’d share some comments from the last couple of days that sadly ended up in my Spam folder. They’re just too good to keep to myself.

Yesterday หนังx wrote, “What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable familiarity about unpredicted feelings.” Thanks, I think.

Someone whose name is a bit too off-color for me to share offered this complimentary comment, “Hi there to all, the contents present at this site are really awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.”

Erwin also enjoys the blog, writing, “Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post plus the rest of the site is also very good.” Thanks Erwin. I’m blushing.

Finally, xnxx left this generous comment, “Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue about this paragraph here at this website, I have read all that,
so at this time me also commenting at this place.”

I’m always grateful for those who take the time to leave a comment.

 

24 comments on “Commentary

  1. Thanks for the much needed morning chuckle … :))

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m so jealous. I just spent five mnutes in my spam folder, and it’s clear that you have higher quality spam than I do. Sigh. That’s ok — I do have a nice, clean spam folder now. Maybe something better will move in!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I hadn’t looked in there in a while, but was delighted at the quality I found. Here’s a nice once that arrived this afternoon: “I am no longer sure the place you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more. Thank you for excellent info I used to be looking for this information for my mission.”

      Like

  3. Awesome – such moving comments!

    Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, spam, yes, it’s interesting to me that the media world used this word for unwanted emails or comments. Even to this day Spam can be found on the grocery store shelf. Spam was all the left over unwanted parts of the animals processed into a food source. Media has produced some very bold speaking their mind anonymous commenters. I’m of the mindset that if I don’t have something nice to say then don’t say anything at all. Rudeness in the media has really become a problem. I’m sure that you showed us some of the funny good spams. Most of my blog spams are nothing more than advertisements but then as you know my blog is not nearly as active as yours. My normal everyday life would not be interesting to read about so I have to save up activities for a month to have enough to write about.

    Have a great happy spam day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      For a while when I was a young boy my father was raising us as a single parent. He was working a couple of jobs and didn’t have much time to cook, even if he knew how. We ate Spam quite a bit, but he told us it was “roast duck.” So that’s what we always called it. To this day when I think of Spam, I think “roast duck.” I haven’t had any in probably 40-50 years and I don’t plan to be having any soon. 🙂

      Interestingly, I had a Korean-American family business as clients once and they told me that in Korea Spam in extremely popular. It was introduced by American soldiers during the Korean War and became very popular in the Korean diet. Even today it is used in lots of Korean recipes–even “upscale” ones.

      Liked by 1 person

      • smcasson says:

        Roast duck is killing me. Laughing out loud. I was gonna comment earlier today (but didn’t have time) about Hawaiian upscale restaurants offering Spam on the menu. Or so I’ve heard. Never been there, don’t really feel a need to…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, oh, yeah, and by the way. I think the folks that are regular commenters on this blog are best I’ve run across on all the blogs that I read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. avwalters says:

    It’s been a while since I perused my spam folder–I remember now–such flair, such ambiguity. It’s lovely to be the recipient of superfluity. I once had a friend (since passed) who wrote spam haiku. (Yes, oddly enough, referring to the canned meat.)

    Like

  7. EllaDee says:

    Your spam comments are much better than those I receive… maybe because you more appreciate and nurture their talent.
    But your regular commenters and you are the real talent. Excellent spam stories 🙂 Once, many years ago it was a staple for camping… I’d be happy to never eat it again.

    Like

  8. J. Rex Enoch says:

    I love your blog! Tuned in because of the name since I am a big Wendell Berry fan, and his emphasis on “Practicing Resurrection” speaks to me. I am a retired College Professor (Sociology and International Development) who spent much of my retirement in recent years working for Heifer International. Appreciate your daily comments and stories from your current life. I read them “religiously” every day and look forward to getting a copy of your book. Thanks for enriching my life. Rex Enoch

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks for your kind words. It’s always great to discover another Wendell Berry fan and I’m really pleased that you enjoy the blog.

      We’re big fans of Hiefer International. Wonderful work!

      Like

  9. Joanna says:

    To think I nearly missed this post due to travelling home. I have had a few spam comments in my time and some of them have thrown me for a while. Some sound very nice and complimentary in reasonable English but very generic. I copied and pasted those sorts only to find the same comment all over the blogosphere. It is at this point I realised I am not quite so special as those commenters seemed to imply. Good job I knew that already and wasn’t devastated 😀 Thank goodness you get so many great commenters. Your blog is one of the few that I take the time to read the comments on most days.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Here’s one that arrived today:

      “You are so awesome! I don’t think I’ve truly read a single thing like this before. So good to discover someone with some unique thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that is required on the internet, someone with a
      bit of originality!”

      So there you go. This web site is something that is required on the internet. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

