Small Town Saturday

Yesterday Cherie and I attended a local author meet and greet sponsored by our library and hosted by our local history museum. We signed copies of our books, spent time with some people with whom we share interests, and generally enjoyed a pleasant, friendly, small-town day.

IMG_8856

Chatham has a population of about 1,500 people and it’s hard to meet a stranger there. The history museum is in the old train depot and yesterday was my first visit. I used to be passionate about local history, but that passion has faded in recent years, crowded out by newer passions. But now I’m feeling a desire to dig back in.

So I was pleased to get this.

IMG_8884

I didn’t even know it existed. The only history of our county that I had been aware of was written in 1929 and I’ve already read it twice. I’ve skimmed the new one already and it promises to be a treat.

Local memories and local history are often casualties of industrialism. They aren’t as easily preserved now as they were in a more stationary time. But those memories and histories deserve to be known and kept alive. In the coming year I hope to refresh and enlarge my memories and knowledge of this place and its people.

13 comments on “Small Town Saturday

  1. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    wood(s): William Pitt – Earl of Chatham

    Like

  2. Firstly Bill wishing you well with your own book sales.. and secondly isn’t it good to read something about your own particular part of the world you hadn’t known before..
    Wishing you a wonderful day and a prosperous week

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Sue. Yes I think there is some special value to looking deeply into the stories of the place where we’re planted, even if those stories don’t make it into history books.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. avwalters says:

    Welcome to the world of the book tour. May it always be so pleasant. I, too, am a history buff. The danger of these small town author days is that you’ll leave them, having purchased more books than you’ve sold!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Maybe I should think of Saturday as the first stop on my upcoming international tour. 🙂
      Most of the books there weren’t interesting to me, but the local historian has written several and I was tempted by all of them. I exercised some self control though and only bought this one. For now.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. EllaDee says:

    I have a growing collection of both old and new family and local history books and also subscribe to a family history newsletter from my Dad’s side of the family. It doesn’t help my moderation cause that we are acquainted with several family/local historians. I’m looking forward to having time to read some of them!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I remember that you enjoy local history. To me history really comes alive when you know the places and families well. Of course it’s much easier to accumulate history books than it is to read them all. 🙂

      Like

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    How nice of the library to host such a day. I’m thinking our own library should do the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

