Just Mercy

Recently a friend loaned me her copy of Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson, insisting that I would enjoy it. Even though the book is a NYT bestseller, I hadn’t heard of it. These days I don’t want to spend my precious reading time with books about law and lawyers. I had enough of those things in my past.

But now that I’ve finished the book I’m very glad she loaned it to me. It’s one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time.

A compelling page-turner, Just Mercy tells the story of Bryan Stevenson’s work representing wrongfully convicted death row inmates and others subjected to unjust sentences. This book will almost certainly change how a reader thinks about our criminal justice system. Highly recommended.

Just Mercy is an inspiring story. Although I know some who read this book will take away from it a reinforced belief that our society is hopelessly bigoted and unfair, to me it is a story of redemption, and proof that a few dedicated people devoted to an ideal can change a corrupt and unjust system. That’s the kind of story we all need to hear more of, in my opinion. And we need to take it to heart.

When we see things that aren’t as they should be(and we all do), we shouldn’t just accept them as “just the way things are.”  Instead we should do what Bryan Stevenson and his colleagues have done–roll up our sleeves and try to change them.

6 comments on “Just Mercy

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I think that’s just what you and Cherie are doing. You two are doing your part in educating who ever will listen about food choices and how the main stream food sources have been corrupted and polluted. Your voice may be small but from what I’ve read in this blog over the last year and a half or so, it’s having an effect. You two are doing something that won’t make you wealthy by any means but it’s important to open eyes of those that haven’t a clue about what has happened in the food industry.

    I watched Gabe Brown’s video about soil life on the ATTRA website. Much of the information I knew but the fungi in the soil being symbiotic with roots to expand the nutrient table in the soil was fascinating to me. The companion growing of a cover crop with row crops was totally radical for me as well. Now all I have to do is scale it down to a raised bed in my garden. I have enough limestone rocks to build at least two more raised beds in the sweet corn fortress and hopefully, I’ll get to work on that next week. We had a rain storm blow through yesterday with over a half inch of rain and 35 to 40 MPH winds. It sure blew the leaves off the trees so Fall color is mostly on the ground now. It sure doesn’t seem like it should only be a little over than a month until official Winter and Christmas is here.

    Have a great book reading day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      We’re having another very warm sunny day here. I’ve got spring time weeds coming up and the garlic and onions seem to think it’s spring too.

      ATTRA is a goldmine of information. Glad you’re finding it helpful.

      Like

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with Nebraska Dave’s comments about what you and Cherie do for the food movement. My hat is off to you and people like Bryan Stevenson who do the selfless work of promoting change.

    Like

  3. Dearest Bill,
    Indeed, most people kind of sheepishly accept any changes as being ‘normal’ but that’s a kind of cowardly attitude! If we all try to do our share, more books could be written like the above!
    Happy weekend to you.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

Leave a Reply

