Time Change

Turning the clocks back an hour doesn’t change anything on a farm. The roosters don’t start crowing an hour later and the pigs still want their breakfast at dawn. Nature is uninterested in how we humans choose to measure time.

But we humans, most of us at least, do pay attention to clocks. Although I don’t control when I wake up (not having used an alarm clock in 30 years), I do control when I go to bed, and that is determined by the clock. So for the last week I’ve been getting an hour a day less sleep. I’m still waking up at the usual time, but I’m going to bed an hour later. I’m sure I’m not alone in that.

The most significant effect of the time change for me, is the extra time I’ve had with books. Suppertime on White Flint Farm is 6:30. Whereas before the change I’d have to make sure to break off working in order to be at the table on time, now it’s dark an hour before supper. Time that I’ve been filling with books.

In the heart of the summer I have less than an hour a day for relaxation and reading. It’s light until after 9 and I usually go to bed at 10. But now I have several hours of pre-bedtime darkness–time I can spend reading.

As much as I love summer, when the days are long, hot and tiring, I look forward to the shorter darker days to come. It’s a good time of year for good books.

25 comments on “Time Change

  1. shoreacres says:

    Here’s my funny time change story. Each night, at 10 p.m., my kitty comes and asks for her treat. It’s our routine. She gets her treats and a pet, and then we go to bed. Since the time change, she shows up right on time: at 9 p.m. sharp! I tried to explain things to her, but no go. So, we’re slowly working our way back to 10 o’clock for treat time. We’re doing it ten minutes at a time. I can’t listen to her yowl in frustration for more than ten minutes at a time. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    Also good for you to have some time to rest a little.

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    I envy my son who lives in Mesa, AZ—no time changes for him. But it’s tough on me to remember—is he 2 or 3 hours behind me? Good thing he is an early riser—and doesn’t mind a phone call at 6 am. Ha!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah, I think Arizona has it right. But places like that do make it confusing. I used to have clients in Brazil. When the time changed I’d have to take that into account, as well as the time zones.

      Like

  4. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    Barbara Brown Taylor has a lot good to say about the dark.

    Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, time change doesn’t seem to bother me. It does get dark earlier but since I am awake when the sun comes up, it just gives me more time in the morning. This time of the year requires me to spend more time with cards and holiday letters. Many years ago I started sending a card and a one page both sides letter with pictures to all six grand kids, all the living Aunts, and a hand full of single friends. In all the count is about 17. So Thanksgiving, Christmas, Valentines Day, St. Patrick’s Day, and Easter, the cards and letters flow. Each letter has a special message just for the person it’s sent to so there’s some time involved to produce the cards and letters. The grand kids love it because there’s always a five dollar bill in the card for each holiday.

    As the garden and outside time winds down the focus turns to the inside things that have been piling up over the summer. Thanks like the garage door opener that needs a new safety eye, the issue with a toilet and needs a new one, the dripping washing machine that doesn’t turn all the water completely off, and well there’s always cleaning up the basement.

    By the time Christmas is over, it’s time to start seriously thinking about seed starts for the garden. Each year it seems like I start more seeds and buy less plants. Before I know it the Winter is over and it’s back to mowing grass and preparing the garden to plant. I always say that I’m going to keep better records. Maybe this will be the year I actually do it. πŸ™‚

    Have a great time change day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      It’s good that you’re keeping up the practice of letter writing. It’s a dying art. My sister sends cards with hand-written notes like that. Sure beats getting a text message. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. smcasson says:

    I’ve still got so much to do outside the time change is really annoying me. I have less than an hour after I get home from work of sunlight (not including dusk). Last night I split firewood until 7, and it was flat DARK then. I wouldn’t mind the time change, except I already get to work as early as they’ll let me. Sigh…

    Like

  7. What are you reading?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Right now I’m reading a very compelling book loaned to me by a friend: Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson, the story of his work representing people wrongfully facing capital punishment. Highly recommended. Before that I read a book my mother loaned me: The Man Who Moved a Mountain, a fascinating biography set in Appalachian Virginia in the first half of the last century. Before that I read The Art of the Commonplace: The Agrarian Essays of Wendell Berry. Tonight I’ll probably get started on David Lindley’s book Uncertainty: Einstein, Heisenberg, Bohr and the Struggle for the Soul of Science . It’s a good time of year for a book nerd. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

        “Just Mercy” – amazing – the writer is a great story-teller. I have read most, not quite finished reading it. Interruption to serve as care-taking spouse’s total joint (hip) replacement – less than two weeks ago (a Wednesday morning).

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Dearest Bill,
    Our felines have been waking us up very early, not yet adjusted… When it gets colder they love to sleep longer!
    But both of us are very much used to any time change as we’ve flown 1,500,000 miles as international mushroom consultants for years and had to adjust to quite some time changes! It above all is a mental thing.
    There are numerous people working shifts, they too have to adjust their sleeping schedule and eating etc.
    Yes, winter is for the cozy time indoors and for me very much a reading time too with folded legs, snuggled into my leather chair…
    Hope you are kidding by now!
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    I seem to have barely noticed our daylight savings and seasonal time change… except I’m no longer leaving the office in the dark and it’s easier to get out of bed in the mornings with the daylight. The change of northern hemisphere seasons has reaped a wonderful benefit for me…in the exchanges of new winter reading material information πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

