November

IMG_8648

So now it’s November.

Time to crank up our wood furnace. Time to bushhog the fields. Time to disconnect hoses from spigots and put heaters in the livestock waterers. Time to break out that long list of wintertime projects we’ve been accumulating. Time to start new writing projects.

Welcome back November. We’ve been expecting you.

19 comments on “November

  1. smcasson says:

    Wood furnace? Care to explain? We heat with wood (for a short time only since our house just sold 😀 ) via an outdoor wood boiler (not really a boiler- no pressure or boiling) with hot water pipes supplying heat to our domestic water heater and a coil in our furnace’s air stream. Free firewood equals free heat baby! We have a Tennessee Outdoor Furnace 600HE.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s what we have too. We have a Central Classic. We keep our house as toasty as we like all winter. All it costs is my labor and chainsaw maintenance. I had planned to fire it up today, but we’re having a warm spell so I’m going to push it back a few more days.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Funny you’d mention that. I didn’t even know what it was until a few days ago. Our library has been promoting it, encouraging writers to come work there and giving them free coffee. When we were checking out some books last week I read the poster and finally realized what it meant. I’m not sure I’m capable of writing a novel. If so, I’m sure I couldn’t write one in November. Maybe January. But I think if I could write anything worthwhile, I’d have to try to write like Thomas Wolfe, and that would be bad manners.

      I’m not yet sure what I’m going to try to write this winter. Still trying to figure that out.

      Like

      • I just read on Carrie’s blog today that authors are allowed to have bad manners, Bill. Or at least their characters are. 🙂

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Yeah but Wolfe wrote so honestly that he was ostracized in his hometown and famously couldn’t go home again. The advice to “write about what you know” should come with the proviso that you’d better be very skilled at disguising your characters unless you don’t mind hurt feelings. But seriously, that’s just an excuse I use. I admire folks who can spin a tale and make it enjoyable to read. Not sure I have that in me. I write like a lawyer–I present the evidence and argue for a conclusion. Few people would want to take a book like that with them to the beach.

        Like

      • avwalters says:

        The thing about NaNoWriMo is the liberty and the undoing of you that the pressure to write 1700 words a day wreaks. You find, soon enough, that you cannot write like your favorite author. Perhaps, on a good day you might be able to capture somebody’s style. But the relentless, day-in and day-out of it pushes you past mimicry. By the end of the first week the only voice shining through is your own.I’ve written two novels –both started with the push of NaNoWriMo. I never finish in a month, but I get far enough that there is no turning back.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue says:

    It is good to be back inside after all the busyness of garden time, isn’t it!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our gardens aren’t done yet, but they’re a lot easier to handle this time of year. It’s dark so early now that I’m inside much more than in the summer. Time to settle into a different routine.

      Like

  3. A farmer’s work is never done!

    Like

  4. Ah, yes. November … It is what it is!

    Like

  5. Marianna says:

    I read an article today in the current issue of Yankee about Beatrice Trum Hunter. I thought of you as I read. She’s been writing books about natural eating since the 40s. Fascinating lady. If you have a chance well worth looking her up.

    Like

  6. The garage is holding two pallets of wood pellets but so far we’ve only turned on the pellet stove twice, hoses are disconnected, outside furniture is stores, leaves have not been moved, but the inside projects are up and running. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You have to get started on winterizing a little sooner than we do. But it’s that time of year here too. We’ve had great weather lately so I haven’t had to fire up the stove yet, and the gardens are loving it. I’d better enjoy it while I can.

      Like

Leave a Reply

