One Month In

It’s now been about a month since my book Organic Wesley was published and the reaction has been generally positive. I’m pleased that churches around the country are using it for congregational group studies, I’m hearing from people who have enjoyed it, and I even have my very first Amazon review.

Biblical scholar and professor Brian Russell interviewed me about the book on his blog (HERE).

I’ve been especially pleased at some of things Wesleyan scholar Howard Snyder has had to say about it. He tweeted: “Bill Guerrant’s Organic Wesley is now essential Wesleyan reading.” On Facebook he described it as “must reading.” I’m not gonna lie. That gives me a sense of accomplishment.

The videos are available now (streaming) and the DVDs should be available very soon (HERE).

I wondered if anyone would want to publish this book and then I wondered if anyone would want to read it. It feels good to know that folks are reading it and it’s especially satisfying to know that some are finding merit in it.

22 comments on “One Month In

  1. Congratulations on the book, Bill. That’s a great accomplishment to produce something like that. And of course … nice that people read it, too! Hope it continues to go well for you.

    Be well~

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I have to say your book has made me monitor more closely what I will be eating. It has made me more aware of just how bad the food is around us and just how bad our American eating habits are. It has made me want to eat more of what I grow and try to find better food sources. I learned a lot about Wesley that I didn’t know. I didn’t really know anything about how spiritually connected to health and food that he was. I would recommend your book to anyone that is the least bit interested in better food and better health. May God bless all your efforts.

    Have a great book selling day.

    Like

  3. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    an aside:
    The New York Times
    “If people over 80 will eat anything, yet people under 25 are riddled with allergies,
    something unhealthy is going on — and it’s going on most conspicuously in
    the most aggressive, competitive, unequal, individualistic, anxiety-ridden
    and narcissistic societies, where enlightenment about food has been offset by
    the sort of compulsive anxiety about it that can give rise to
    imagined intolerances and allergies.” Read on The New York Times Opinion Section.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I agree that something unhealthy is going on. But it would be wrong to dismiss it as “imagined intolerances and allergies.” The increases in food allergies we’re seeing are occurring among pets as well as among humans. Anyone who has experienced a pet with a food allergy will know that the pet isn’t imagining it.

      Like

  4. Congratulations on the book! I’madding it to my wishlist at Amazon…I’ve already spent my allotted book fund for this month 😦 Best of luck with sales.

    Like

  5. I’ve found the book quite interesting, Bill. I read a bit each morning during my non-fiction hour and I am now about a quarter of the way through. Today I was reading about America’s obesity epidemic. Scary. Last night I saw one of the fast food ads. They are still promoting huge, calorie laden hamburgers to entice people into their restaurants. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you’re enjoying it Curt. Overconsumption and a lack of dietary discipline (and plain old good sense) are wrecking our nation’s health. The problem is much worse here in our part of the world than in yours. I’m hoping we’ll come to our collective senses soon.

      Like

  6. freethnkr1965 says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  7. Joanna says:

    Congratulations indeed

    Like

  8. That’s great Bill – congrats! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    it’s a great accomplishment. I too have added Organic Wesley to my Wish List now I see the Kindle version is available via Amazon.com.au 🙂

    Like

  10. I’m almost finished with the book and really enjoying it. I’m not Methodist, a Wesleyan or even particularly religious but I think the book makes very important points about treating yourself, each other, the earth, animals, etc… with respect. We should all think about the wonder of creation regardless of our religious affiliation (or lack thereof – big bang, etc) and honor it as it is nothing short of miraculous – no matter how you slice it.
    Congratulations on the good reviews and interview – well deserved!
    Sort of related, but there’s an interesting free film on vimeo called Back to Eden https://vimeo.com/28055108 I think you might enjoy. I’d heard mention of this guy in my permaculture circles, but just recently stumbled on his video. He is from my neck of the woods.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I have seen that video. Impressive. I know some folks who tried it in their hoop house with great success.

      My original manuscript didn’t presume the reader would be Wesleyan or even a theist. It was intended to be a comparison of the principles of the food movement and the teachings of Wesley, primarily to prove their consonance but also to raise the question of why those teachings aren’t more widely known these days. The publisher urged me to make turn it into a resource that would appeal to churches and group studies. The final chapter didn’t even exist in the original. I think it was good advice and will broaden the appeal of the book, and I’m pleased we made the changes, but I know it was at the expense of making it “denominational” and perhaps offputting to some. I’m glad that you enjoyed the book. For readers of this blog my arguments aren’t anything new of course. This morning I met a pastor in NC for coffee. She had read the book, was complimentary of it and wants to use it in connection with work she’s doing counseling pastors on food issues. That kind of thing makes me happy that it’s out there, even if the audience is limited.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

