New Lights

I don’t get many new things these days, and I like it that way. But in the last couple of weeks I did get a couple of new things and I’m very pleased with them.

IMG_8485

Cherie bought me this high-powered flashlight. Since early summer I’ve been trudging out into the darkness nearly every night with a flashlight and a shotgun, to chase the deer out of the gardens. Sometimes I wore my headlamp instead, but either way the deer usually heard and saw me coming long before I could see them. But with this new flashlight I can light up the most distant garden on this part of our farm from the back deck of our house, which is especially helpful on moonless nights. It’s amazing. It has three settings: the high-powered beam, a normal beam, and a stobelight effect. It has a telescoping body that allows you to narrow the beam or spread it wide. Highly recommended for homesteaders who need to see in the dark sometimes.

As cool as the flashlight is, this may be even cooler.

IMG_8486

A couple of weeks ago we had a pre-order for the Saturday market that came in late. So I had to go pick it in the pre-dawn dark. At the market I mentioned to our customer (one of our most loyal) that I’d picked their order in the dark, while holding a flashlight between my knees. The next week he gave me the Powercap.

This thing is awesome. It has high-intensity lights under the bill of the cap. It’s like a headlamp, only better. I wear it whenever I’m doing my nighttime chores now. It throws out a powerful light, keeps your hands free, and of course is always shining in the direction you’re looking. I’ve only had it a couple of weeks but it’s already become indispensable. If you need to light up an area hundreds of yards away, get the flashlight. If you only need to see what’s right in front of you, get this cap.

IMG_8487

I hope this post has been enlightening.

28 comments on “New Lights

  1. smcasson says:

    My dad got me a LED high-powered flashlight a few years ago. At the time, I thought it was a little cool, but not terribly practical. Since moving to some acreage, it has proven very useful. I use it to find my way under the lean-to shed at night, by putting it on one of the higher settings and sitting it on end to light the whole area via the ceiling of the shed. Of course, you can pick out animal eyes as far away as you want, too. Mine runs on rechargeable AA batteries (8 of em!)
    The hat looks neat. I have seen them but never tried em. If I got one, I know I would have to buy two, since my 4-year old would steal mine 🙂 He loves helping Dad with chores, and has already stolen my headlamp… haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Sitting the flashlight on end and using it to light a shed is a great idea! I’m going to try that in our shed too!

      The cap is something I never would have bought for myself. But it’s one of the best gifts I’ve ever gotten. If anything happens to this one, I’ll definitely get another one!

      Like

  2. Both lights look great … we need a GOOD flashlight here and the cap would be great when I have to run out at night because I forgot to turn off the water on the garden 😦 The dog is always leaving landmines in the yard and I seem to step in one of two very often at night.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The hat is perfect for lighting a path when you have to go do chores at night. It’s dark here now and once I finish responding to the comments I’ll go out to shut up the chicken coop and check on the bees and goats. By wearing the hat I won’t have to carry a flashlight and I can keep both hands free.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    That hat reminds me of my grandfather’s miner’s cap. The principle is exactly the same, although the technology has advanced somewhat. (OK. A lot.)

    As for LED, it’s transformed quick emergency lighting. I have an LED lantern with four removable sections. Each has six lights. It’s wonderful for power outages, because you can leave the lantern in a central location, but carry off a section to another room. I can’t remember how many batteries it takes — I think eight D cell — but a friend used one for more than a week after she lost power in the June floods, and it still was going strong.

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    When we left California, a friend gave me a “bag of swag” which included one of those caps. Your post reminded me, and now I’ll put it to good use for working on the house. We don’t yet have wiring complete. Not that we give it much thought, there are ample windows. But if you work late, sometimes the shorter days catch up with you and that hat would be just the ticket.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think you’ll really like it. When our customer handed it to me, inwardly I groaned. A camo ball cap isn’t really my style. When he explained what it was I sorta thought, “Well that’s neat. Might be useful sometimes.” But now that I’ve used it, it’s quickly become indispensable. Much better than the headlamp I’ve been using.

      Liked by 1 person

      • smcasson says:

        Well I did check their website… There’s other styles, even a beanie! (At night nobody will see you wearing a camo ball cap though! Haha)

        Like

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    Wicked cool! And I think one of the benefits of not getting many new things is that when you do get something new, you really appreciate it.

    Like

  6. ain't for city gals says:

    My husband is like that…he doesn’t buy much but when he does it is exactly what he wants. They are making so many useful things now that are much better than the older ones so sometimes it is worth the upgrade.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m that way too, but I often don’t research as carefully as I should before buying. And I’m not good at shopping for the best price either. I’m getting better and trying to search out quality used items before buying anything new. These new LED lights definitely help out around here!

      Like

  7. Joanna says:

    Now there’s an idea! 🙂 Christmas sorted

    Like

  8. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I am amazed at the amount of light those LED lights can produce. They are definitely more efficient than the old bulb flashlights. I have a smaller and cheaper version of your light but still it throws out an amazing amount of light for those early day loading up of tools to trudge off to Terra Nova Gardens during the summer months. I like to get to the garden just as the dawn of day comes. That would be about 5:30 at the peak of the summer months. For me there’s nothing more pleasurable than being in the garden as the day wakes up.

    Your indications of what Wesley would think about the Food Movement have given me some things to think about in my own life. Why do I want to eat fresh and local food? Is it to be an elitist or for self pleasure? I hope not but it does make me think. I found it interesting that Wesley tied the spiritual with nourishing food to the point of being a sin if one didn’t abstain from eating bad food. His philosophy of giving up tea to give the money to the poor for many years was over ridden by instruction by his physician to go back to drinking tea for health reasons. Wesley’s thoughts about not sacrificing nutritious food for one’s self to give money to the poor was a refreshing viewpoint. We have had many discussions about organic local food being too expensive for the poor. Even if it was the case (which it isn’t) it still would be a good thing because wouldn’t it be better to eat less food if it was more nutritious?

    Have a good bright lights day. I think Wesley would have approved of LED lights. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yep they really are amazing in comparison to the flashlights I’ve always used before. Especially good for aging eyes like mine. 🙂

      Wesley was insistent about giving to the poor. There was a lot of poverty and suffering in his day and he was adamant that Christians should not spend money needlessly on themselves while others were going without food, shelter and clothing. He gave away nearly everything he earned. But isn’t it interesting that he ever compromised on the necessity of first providing the essentials of life for oneself and ones family–and that included first and foremost nutritious food. That fact drives home how important the point was for him. Of course as I say in the book, there aren’t many people who can honestly say that they’re eating badly in order to have more money to give to the poor.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. EllaDee says:

    Very cool lights. I think the cap makes a lot of sense.
    The G.O. has several torches in handy places, and he loves them all. Handy if you’re driving at night and have to stop – one to see with & one to act as a beacon, handy for walking into the back yard at night so you don’t step on anything especially a snake, handy in the kitchen and bedroom in case of a black outs. He can justify each of them. His favourite is a wind up torch -no batteries- under the driver’s seat of his ute.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I was taken a little aback until I realized that what you are calling a “torch” is what we call a “flashlight.” It would seem impractical (and dangerous) to keep a lot of torches on hand, if by “torches” you meant the kind that came to my mind. 🙂 We keep the windup kind in our vehicles and in our emergency kit too. They’re good to have on hand.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. A friend runs with one of those caps. Very cool.

    Like

  11. Nice flashlight! I might have to put one of those on the Christmas list for you-know-who. The cap is pretty cool too – I have been using the Cyclops Micro Mini LED Hat Clip Light (got a great deal on them from Sierra Trading) but I think that hat would be better if the batteries are replaceable.
    Thanks for helping me with my Christmas shopping – I like to get done early…

    Like

  12. Headlamps are a must of backpacking, Bill. I don’t know how we ever did evening chores without them. As for powerful lights, I finally broke down and bought one when the bears begin prowling though our property. Speaking of bears, Peggy and I went out to gather some apples from an old orchard on Monday that had long since returned to the wilds. Bear scat, or bear poop if you insist, was everywhere, big, thick piles every few feet. There must have been an army of bears. And the scat was fresh, some of it with whole apples. –Curt

    Like

  13. Dearest Bill,
    Thanks for visiting my humble blog and reading about the Most Dangerous Mushroom, the Death Cap. Yes, my husband wrote the so-called ‘Mushroom Bible’, Modern Mushroom Growing by P.J.C. Vedder and he does not even trust eating most species collected in the wild. Too many mistakes are made annually. Not worth the risk.
    These lights are super. We got the Surefire 6P LED Single Output LED Flashlight and that works great, also for traveling.
    Enjoy the fall season!
    Mariette

    Like

Leave a Reply

