October 4

Yesterday was the feast day of St. Francis of Assisi, perhaps history’s best known animal lover.

St Francis

It was also Cherie’s birthday. She’s White Flint Farm’s version of St. Francis.

18833_1305833573877_1471669602_30834456_4572075_n

SAMSUNG

14 comments on “October 4

  1. shoreacres says:

    Give Cheri my birthday greetings! I love the photo of her with the chicken. That’s my favorite breed — I think they’re so attractive.So is the love you and Cheri have for your animals, and St. Francis wasn’t too bad, either.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Linda. Will do. Cherie is a great friend of animals and an admirer of St. Francis. It is appropriate that her birthday be on his feast day.

      Like

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    Happy birthday to Cherie! May her year be filled with creatures great and small.

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    I was sorry to hear about your market and goat issues yesterday. It’s definitely a daily adventure when living on a homestead. There’s hardly every a dull moment when domestic animals are involved. Rain still prevails? Even though the actual hurricane didn’t hit the coast the huge amounts of rain can certainly cause problems. My prayers are directed to all those that live along the coastal areas that are being hit with rain from hurricane Joaquin. Prayerfully, you are safe from flooding. I bet the pond is full to the brim.

    Ha, I laugh now at my curiosity from this last week. Many of the church marquees were touting animal blessing services on Saturday and Sunday. I wondered what that was all about but now I totally understand. Your pictures of Cherie with the homestead animals were great. It must be very difficult when she has to give up animals like yesterday. I suspect it’s why you get to do it when she’s not around.

    Done with chapter three on nourishing food. I wondered at what could possibly be bad food in the 17 and 18 hundreds. There were no genetically altered seeds or animals grown with hormones or any of the chemicals used to grow food that exist today. As much as I can glean out of the book so far it was the overeating gluttony and excessive eating of meat that Wesley was talking about. I looked for the bo that George Cheyne wrote but wow is it ever expensive on Amazon. I found it interesting that Cheyne reommends living on 8 oz of meat and 12 oz of vegetables a day. I also found the statistics about obese pastors interesting. I have noticed in my city that a number of the Methodist churches have designated areas on their properties for community gardens. I makes sense now that I know the history of the Methodist denomination.

    Have a great blessing the animals day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We actually had a sunny afternoon today! The rain was very good for us, but now we need to start drying out some!

      Yes, churches traditionally do the blessing of the animals on St. Francis’ feast day. It is appropriate that Cherie’s birthday also falls on that day.

      Glad to know you’re still finding the book interesting. You’re right about the food. As I say in another chapter, in Wesley’s time all food was organic food. Poor food choices were rare by comparison to today. Interestingly, Cheyne was a vegetarian and while he advised limiting the quantity of meat eaten, he preferred a diet of no meat at all. You’ll read soon how Wesley addressed that issue.

      Like

  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    It’s obvious that Chérie is also full of the same healing love as St. Francis: ) Wishing her a belated Happy Birthday and hoping she had (at least; ) as many ups as downs yesterday…

    Like

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Two “laptops’ in that first Cherie picture. 🙂
    Best birthday greetings to the beautiful lady!

    Like

  6. bobraxton says:

    Cherie happy birthday (Sunday)

    Like

  7. Love the pics! Happy, Happy Birthday to Cherie!
    I was just thinking about St. Francis yesterday – must have been in sync with the feast day without realizing it. M and I are huge fans of St. Francis – we had a wonderful time in Assisi when we took our two week motorcycle trip around Italy a few years back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

