Symbiosis

Komatsuna

Komatsuna

Spinach

Spinach

Kale

Kale

Chinese cabbage

Chinese cabbage

We like having spider-friendly gardens.

16 comments on “Symbiosis

  1. shoreacres says:

    You’ve got some really cool spiders — much different than the ones I see most often. I know very little about spiders, but I’m wondering if they eat little critters (like aphids, but not necessarily those) that like to munch on your plants.

    Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    Great pictures, Bill, somehow each spider is the exact copy of its plant. That one sitting on bumpy Chinese cabbage is all bumpy. Very neat!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    after breeding them to be much larger, you could have Guard-spiders against the deer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, spiders give me the willies. Sheeesh, they rate right up there with snakes. I hate snakes. I know that they both are bug hunters and are good for gardens. As long as they stay outside and not in living spaces of the yard, I leave them alone and tolerate them, but if they are found inside the house …. they’re dead. I don’t scream and run away like my daughter but still I am not a spider friendly kind of person. For some reason this year has produced big spiders much above the normal. A huge web can be spun overnight in my front patio area just for my convenience to run into while walking to my daughter’s car in the morning to take Bradley to school. The thought just doesn’t cross my mind in the morning routine to look for spider webs as I walk to the car. Short memory syndrome I guess so almost every morning I’m hitting a web. It’s not a simple thing to get fresh spider web out of a beard. 😒

    Have a great spider in the garden day.

    P.S. Made it through the second chapter about Wesley’s life. It wasn’t all filled with smooth sailing. It’s interesting to read about the background and history of such a giant in the spiritual movement. This is a must read again book when the Winter winds are whistling outside and snow is knee deep to an elephant. Thanks for all your time and effort to produce a great book such as this.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m a spider fan, but I do get annoyed when I walk unknowingly into a web and get it on my face. Spiders are good to have in the garden. In the house? No so much.

      Thanks for your kind words about the book Dave. I’m very pleased that you’re enjoying it.

      Like

  5. Linda says:

    Lovely photos, Bill! I live in Montreal, Canada and don’t get to see spiders very often, at least not the large ones that are common in some other areas. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Linda. It seems to be a good year for spiders in the gardens. Or maybe I just happened to notice them more yesterday. We do grow some pretty impressive ones here!

      Like

  6. A lovely crop of spiders, Bill!
    Shoreacres – These are all varieties of Wolf spiders, and actively hunt for their food which would include aphids, other small insects and larvae.
    BeeHappee – take a closer look at that bumpy one on the chinese cabbage and you’ll see it is actually carrying its spiderlings on its back.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Karen. Glad you enjoyed seeing them. As I mentioned above, it seems we’re having a good year for them. I especially like the picture of Mama and her babies. 🙂

      Like

      • smcasson says:

        That is a good picture! Nice one. We see lots of brown recluses here, and LOADS of wolf spiders. I walked back to the house a few weeks ago by flashlight. Back when we were in a drought, and I remarked about the dewdrops reflections already. Isn’t it too dry? Yeah, it was; they were all spider eyes 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • nebraskadave says:

        smcasson, Ooooo, spider eyes. Creepy.

        Like

Leave a Reply

