Garden Friend

IMG_8179

Do you see my garden friend? He’s well hidden.

Here’s a closer view.

IMG_8180

I’m pleased to see he and his kin in the garden, but I don’t think he particularly enjoys my company.

IMG_8183

IMG_8181

23 comments on “Garden Friend

  1. Joanna says:

    He’s a cute little fella, not like the great big toad I unearthed while potato digging last week. We have lots of these little helpers too. Shows are gardens are good places to be for the helpful critters too

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s right. They wouldn’t have anything to eat in our gardens if we poisoned them. We have plenty of the big guys around here too, but I’ve been enjoying seeing these little ones in the fall gardens.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I haven’t seen any frogs or toads in my garden. On occasion I do see a garter snake but even those have become scarce since I cleared the lot for gardening. I saved a little garter snake yesterday while mowing my friend’s vacant lot for the grass to mulch Terra Nova Gardens. The little snake about 18 inches long was trucking out across the busy concrete street headed for certain doom to escape the dreaded mowing machine. Now I don’t like snakes of any fashion but I know these little fellas are bug and mice eaters so I grabbed it by the tail and turned him/her loose in the mowed part of the lot to live yet another day. Yea, nine bags of of uncontaminated grass/clover mix for mulch was a good day of mowing. I’m slowly getting the garden area back from the weeds and my method of reclamation this time will be for good. No more excessive weed problem. Of course I say that every year.

    Have a great garden creature day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Last year I discovered a snake eating a frog in one of our gardens. I encouraged him to start taking his meals elsewhere.

      I’ve had a serious fear of snakes most of my life. I wouldn’t even go into the snake house at the zoo, as an adult. The things just give me the creeps.

      But over the last 10 years I’ve become so accustomed to seeing snakes that they don’t bother me anymore. They do go work around here too, so I usually don’t bother them. The only exceptions I make are for copperhead moccasins and snakes around the chicken coop.

      Like

  3. He’s cute as a button! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’d want to be his friend, too. You’ve got a sharp eye, to have spotted him.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      He hopped as I was moving down the row. I had a devil of a time getting a picture of him in my hand. He kept jumping out of it before I could snap the shot. So finally I held him in place and took that picture. Then, I tried one last time and got the final picture. 🙂

      Like

  5. avwalters says:

    His big brother lives next to my front entry. He keeps trying to get in–and has succeeded once. Imagine our surprise to find him under the bed!

    Like

  6. daphnegould says:

    He is cute. I used to see a lot of toads and frogs in my last garden, but here I haven’t seen even one. I guess the city isn’t very hospitable to them.

    Like

  7. He’s quite small, isn’t he? 🙂 Very interesting markings on his back.

    Like

  8. I’m glad you spotted him, small as he is. Think of all the things we don’t see that are part of the life teeming around, under and over us.

    Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    Too cute. I like that frogs share your space, and ours. I think that they are willing and able to means we must be doing something right.

    Like

  10. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    I love toads! With it having been SO hot and dry for at least three weeks, no matter how many dishes of water I left spread around the yard, I was constantly pulling these little guys out of the pool skimmer and taking them back to the garden. They should be much happier now; as we’ve had about three inches of rain over the weekend… I know I am: )
    Constantly amazed by all the colour variation in toads. Around here, I’ve seen all the way from sand beige to almost black – and your little fella looks almost lichen green: ). That’s pretty sandy soil you’ve got there, hey Bill?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you got some rain. We’ve had a miserably dry end to the summer but lately we’ve gotten a little rain. Much needed but less than an inch altogether. We still need a lot more. Sandy soil is rare on this place. Most of our soil is red clay. But there is a little corner of the garden where I found this guy that is sandy.

      Like

  11. Isn’t he dinky! Despite a wildlife pond, frogs are a bit of a rarity in my garden – the frogspawn rarely makes it past the voracious dragonfly/damselfly larvae, and what survives gets hounded by a very persistent neighborhood cat. It’s a tough life out there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

