Pigs Smiling

One way to make a pig smile on a hot day:

IMG_8116

This one prefers being sunk up to her belly in mud.

IMG_8104

We couldn't resist selfies

We couldn’t resist selfies

Life on the range.

IMG_7912

IMG_7900

Fun with the hose. Another way to get a pig to smile (and laugh).

IMG_7966

IMG_7967

IMG_7972

IMG_7973

IMG_7974

IMG_7975

IMG_7940

Another big smile

Out here on the farm, we’re easily amused.

22 comments on “Pigs Smiling

  1. Sue says:

    Now that, dear man, is the way to start my day—with a smile! Wonderful!
    I just love me a happy pig!
    πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Joanna says:

    You guys are having way too much fun πŸ˜€ Keep up the good work

    Like

  3. smcasson says:

    That pig in the trough looks mighty contented…
    Do pigs shake off like dogs?? Looks like it in the bottom pic. Haha

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Oh yeah. They enjoy shaking their wet muddy bodies when I’m around. I almost always leave a little muddy these days. I took some pictures of them shaking off, but didn’t include them here. Maybe later…

      Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    oink

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    The giggles and grins are great, but I really like the two photos under the caption “Life on the Range.” Thanks for the great start to the day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I took more like those, but didn’t include them. I enjoy seeing them running across the field, or rooting around in the mud. Definitely the pig good life.

      Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, pigs are about as carefree as it gets on a homestead. It doesn’t take much to make them content and happy. We could learn a few lessons from them. It shouldn’t take a lot of stuff to make us happy. When do the pigs go to freezer camp? They look like they are growing really well. I’m always amazed at how fast animals grow. A human takes many many years to reach maturity but with animals most are fully grown in a year and some (chickens) are mature in just few months. I suppose because the life span of animals and birds they have to mature faster.

    I received my report from the EPA on my second property about the testing for lead contamination. Above 400 PPM requires soil replacement. I was expecting that to be required because the lead contamination website indicated all the properties surrounding mine were above that requirement and had to go through the process of soil replacement. However, the report stated that no where on my property did the soil test above the 400 PPM. Yea, I didn’t want to go through the hassle of replanting the grass even though the city will do it all for free. It was fund set up by the city to clean up the area of the city that was contaminated about 80 years ago from a battery factory that spewed lead into the air which settled on the surrounding land. I’m not sure why mine tested so low, but I’m glad it did.

    Have a great day at making pigs smile.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you got good test results. Hoping you’re producing good food there soon.

      This bunch of pigs has grown very well. I taped them today and I estimate they range from 260 to 320 right now. I’m taking 3 of them in on Monday. I’ll let the others go over 400. At the rate they’re growing that shouldn’t take much longer. These are Tamworths, not in confinement, given no growth hormones or antibiotics, and fed a GMO-free feed. Obviously you don’t have to use factory practices to grow a pigs well, if you treat them well.

      Like

  7. All your smiling pig pics are great — but I particularly like the first one! So contented in his/her bath… Thanks for the smile this morning!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah I really like that one too. She crawled over in the tub, laid down on her side, rested her snout on the lip of the tub, closed her eyes and produced a big smile. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. You know you are a farmer (or should be one) if you find pig pics waaaay cuter than puppy pics!

    Like

  9. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Heck, I’d be smiling too, if I were under a hose on a day like today! *When I originally wrote (but never sent) this it was still yesterday w/ 98% humidity and low 30’sC [high 80’sF] temps.
    Even so, there’s nothing like a good scratch to make a Happy Piggy (and nothing else that feels like scratching a happy piggy; )
    So tell me, can you tell who’s who by the markings on their snout?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been really hot and muggy here too. But it looks like things are set to cool off next week.

      We only have 7 of them so it’s easy for me to tell them apart and I know who’s who. I’ve never paid any attention to the markings on their snouts, but I can see how might be a way to identify them.

      Like

  10. What a great post … that top photo is making me laugh … it’s precious

    Like

Leave a Reply

