Nature Smiling

IMG_8022

IMG_8169

IMG_8174

12 comments on “Nature Smiling

  1. Joanna says:

    I agree, even Agnese who sounds like she is moaning got in on the act 😀 and as for Tommy Tomato!

    http://thejourneytosomewhere.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    And their smiles seem so natural and unforced!

    Like

  3. Aggie says:

    Got me smiling. 🙂

    Like

  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Lovely photos, Bill; thank you for sharing your morning: ) and, of course, I’ve a couple of questions [qu’elle surprise; ]
    – Morning Glories: Do you happen to recognise the plant growing directly behind your Foreground FocalFlower? (Sort of looks like fingers outstretched)
    – In September: no question, just an observation – That it’s sad When the Sunnies Start to Bend…
    – Over the Fence: Cinquefoil and Foxtail Grass?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The plant with the morning glories is an okra plant. I planted that happy strip of sunflowers a few weeks later than the rest of them, which accounts for them looking so much better. But a few days after taking this picture a hail storm came along and beat all the petals off the flowers. I don’t know that the flower in the third picture is, but it’s blooming all over the place here these days.

      Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yes, there is some natural beauty in even in the weed infested areas of my garden. My daughter works for a national drug store company and at the end of the year they will sell off the unsold garden seeds at a deep discount. This year is was a nickel a package. I bought 160 packs of vegetable and flower seeds for about eight dollars. I don’t need much to supplement my seed supply for next year. A friend of mine gave me two crowns of rhubarb. Since I’m not a real fan of rhubarb, I figured that’s plenty. My neighbor that has a garden at Terra Nova Gardens has asparagus that will be harvested next spring so the garden is starting to look more and more like a garden. I got another small section tamed and weed free yesterday. Yes, I labored on Labor day but then went to a cookout to compensate for it. I’ve been told that the secret to gardening is work a little often. It really is amazing how much can be accomplished in just one hour. I still have a good two months before I’ll shut down work in the garden for the year. The gardening will end about the end of October but structural work can still go on until after Thanksgiving.

    Have a great natural habitat day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I didn’t mow as much this year as I have in the past, and if something came up in the gardens but wasn’t bothering the crop plants, I usually left it alone. I reckoned that would be better for the pollinators and would save me a lot of time and fuel. But now I’m questioning that strategy, as it let of weeds go to seed and we’ve had a heck of a time lately with the grasshoppers. It’s always something…

      Like

  6. df says:

    Morning glories always make me smile, and you’re right, these blooms are nature’s way of smiling it seems. We’re having our own morning glory moment too, they are such cheerful blooms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

