Organic Wesley

So, have I mentioned that I wrote a book?

Organic Wesley releases this week. Getting to this point has been quite an experience and I’ll confess to being pleased with how it’s all turned out.

I’ll also admit to being pleased that the book has been endorsed by Wesley scholar Howard Snyder, author of The Radical Wesley, Salvation Means Creation Healed and many other books.

“If we are Jesus followers, we know that Christian discipleship involves every area of our life, without exception. Certainly this includes food and concern for healthy bodies and healthy land. Bill Guerrant in Organic Wesley shows that Wesley in the 1700’s understood this very well – and that Wesley’s insights can help us be better and more healthy Christian disciples today. This new study is both inspiring and healing.”

Howard A. Snyder – Visiting Director, Manchester Wesley Research Centre, Manchester, England

My sincere hope is that this book will convincingly connect Wesleyan teachings and thought to the guiding principles of the contemporary food movement–a preference for nutritious food, moderation in consumption, humane treatment of farm animals, a preference for organic/naturally produced food, and a preference for food that is locally produced. More importantly, my hope is that it will be helpful to people who are looking for guidance on how to make ethical food choices.

Production of the video series is now complete, way ahead of schedule I think. They should be available soon as well. Having now reviewed them all, I think they do a pretty good job of making this information accessible and digestible, without having to read the book.

The book has its own webpage now (HERE), which includes a blog of sorts. I haven’t gotten started yet, but I’ll be posting there occasionally, for any who are interested.

22 comments on “Organic Wesley

  1. Joanna says:

    Getting exciting! Many congratulations on the fulfilment of transforming a piece of academic writing to an accessible book. A worthy accomplishment indeed

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Joanna. I would’ve been delighted to see it published as an academic resource, and trying to convert it was a headache at times, but I’m pleased with how it’s all worked out. I couldn’t be happier with the support the publisher is giving it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Thanks AV. I know you’ve already enjoyed the feeling, but I’m looking forward to holding a copy in my hands. It will be the culmination of a lot of time in books and at the keyboard. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • avwalters says:

        Well, it’s not like having a kid (even though I’ve not done that), but it does add gravitas to all that work. But I warn–do not open and read it. There is a terrible temptation to do so and, invariably, you’ll find an error. (How could that be we edited oh so many times!)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue says:

    You wrote a book? You’ve never mentioned that.
    Ha.
    πŸ˜€
    Bill, I thoroughly enjoyed the preview chapter–and know this book will be on my wishlist . I’m a smart old broad–my son always “sneaks” a peek at my Amazon wish list. Amazing how I always get EXACTLY what I want for Christmas and birthdays. LOL!
    I know I’ve mentioned this before, but —- congrats!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Sue. I’m so glad you enjoyed the preview chapter. It’s stuffed so full of data and stats that I thought it might turn some people off before they get to the meat of the book. But that stuff is essential background I think.

      I like your method. No unwanted gifts. Nice. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I really like the idea of not only a book to read but a study of Wesley’s thoughts on the subject of food in a spiritual context. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a study on a mix between food and spiritual aspects together. I, for one, have never thought about the two together except for those church pot lucks which are totally not the best food for good health. I always thought it interesting that the Bible teaches for us not to be gluttonous and yet the pot lucks pretty much promote it. The church that I attend provides coffee on Sunday morning but along with the coffee there’s donuts and pastries. Gluttony has not only been over looked as a sin but is promoted as part of a successful life. My goodness, just go to a buffet and watch folks pack away the food. I used to be one of those people that would make sure I got my money’s worth at a buffet. I’m still not where I should be with food but I’m working on it. I’ve always had different (my family always called them weird) eating habits that were a bit on the organic side. I just couldn’t get anyone else in the family interested in eating better so I backed off for many years. The grandson that lives with me is a fruitarian. Yeah, I just made that word up. He could very easily live on fruit alone. Grapes, berries, cherries, lemons, oranges, and almost every other kind of fruit are on his menu every day. He has a big plate of fruit for breakfast every day. Of course there’s the breakfast food of Corn Pops, Rice checks, Krave double chocolate, or Fruity Pebbles that go along with it. He also loves corn on the cob, potatoes, raw carrots, and snap peas. It’s a fairly health diet for a 10 year old kid. I limit the sweets to only one portion a day. That’s usually a scoop of ice cream before brushing the teeth and heading off to bed. So let me know when I can get a signed copy of the book.

    Have a great Organic Wesley food day.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bill says:

      That’s quite a good diet for a 10 year old. Good for him!

      Even though these days we’ve nearly completely separated food from faith, issues related to food and food choices have (until recently) been central parts of religious practice and ethics. You’re right about gluttony. Remember the 7 Deadly Sins? There was a time when school children knew them by heart. Gluttony was one of them of course. In the book I cite a researcher from Purdue who has studied the relationship between poor food choices and church attendance. His conclusion is that whereas gluttony was once considered a sin, now it is an “accepted vice,” and that churches are a breeding ground for the problem. People who attend church regularly are far more likely to be obese than those who don’t, and believe it or not pastors are even more likely to be obese than their congregations. You can’t look at pastors and church-goers in America and tell that gluttony is a vice. If there is any moral objection to overeating, it’s obvious that the objection is being disregarded.

      I should have the book by the end of the week. I’ll post when I do for anyone who wants to order a copy from me. I’ll be very interested to know what you think of it.

      Like

    • Hi Nebraska Dave – Not sure if you’re aware or not but Fruitarianism is a real diet. It’s a subset of veganism with one of the most famous proponents being Steve Jobs from Apple, Inc.

      Like

  4. beeholdn says:

    Bravo! Well done, Bill. So awesome and inspiring! I look forward to reading and sharing your book πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Congratulations Bill! I’m eager to get my copy.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Laura. Some of the folks who read this blog are (like you) great writers. I don’t put myself in that category. But I’ll be very satisfied if the book is persuasive. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    I do not see the book on Amazon yet. Will it be there? I will ask my library to get it. Congratulations, Bill.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Bee. Yes, the book will be on Amazon. I’m not sure why it isn’t there yet. I was told it will be available there once the book is available, which should be any day now. I’m a big fan of libraries and I really like the thought of having written a book that finds a home in a library. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Congratulations, Bill! Looking forward to reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

