About to Drop

Here’s the trailer to the Organic Wesley video series. I’m pleased to be able to share this.

It feels awkward (and immodest) to repeat nice things people have said about you, but here are some endorsements the book has received.

“For a tradition whose central expression of faith is a meal, it is lamentable that many – if not most – of our churches rarely talk about our relationship with food. Our potlucks are filled with comfort food which has been prepared with little thought to where the ingredients came from, nor to the cost of our beloved dishes to ourselves, to the earth that God loves and the creatures with which we share it. Eating is a daily opportunity for us to grow in our discipleship to Christ: I believe Bill Guerrant may have written the most important book in Wesleyan studies for the next decade.”

– Sean Gladding, author of The Story of God, the Story of UsTEN: Words of Life for an Addicted, Compulsive, Cynical, Divided and Worn-out Culture; and Centurion

“In Organic Wesley, Bill Guerrant offers a finely crafted theological argument for rethinking the ways we eat. This book will be of benefit, not just to Methodists, but to all who seek follow holistically in the way of Jesus.”

– C. Christopher Smith, co-author of Slow Church, and founding editor of The Englewood Review of Books

Organic Wesley is a unique and deeply inspiring work that mixes the deep soil of a particular theologian and his plot of modern church history with the current conversation on sustainable agriculture, healthy eating and the reformation of food production in our times. This work is not just for Methodists and Wesleyans – it is like the treasure of some delicious root vegetable unearthed and prepared for all the tribes of the Church who are willing to feast on its wisdom. I am excited to see this book get a wide reading in a time when many Christians have forgotten the importance of both land and body. Bill has penned something that, in the tradition of Wendell Berry, only a farmer-theologian could write with such clarity. For many of us in the Christian food movement it is a reaffirmation that our prophetic work is rooted in historical Christian discipleship.”

– Jason Fowler, co-founder Sustainable Traditions

And from the Foreward, there is this:

“I am thrilled that Bill Guerrant wrote Organic Wesley. It is essential reading not only for those who admire John Wesley, but also for anyone who hungers for soul food.”

Matthew Sleeth, M.D.
Executive Director, Blessed Earth. Author of Serve God, Save the Planet and 24-6

Cool new stuff is happening every day now as the book and videos are about to launch. I’ll be sharing more soon, including a preview of the introductory video.
35 comments on “About to Drop

  1. Sue says:

    I am certainly excited to see this. Congratulations–it has to be a dream come true for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Sue. I couldn’t be more pleased with how this has gone so far. Earlier this year I wasn’t even sure it was going to happen. Now I’m just hoping some people read it and find it worthwhile.

      Like

  2. DM says:

    That is an awesome video clip! I am so glad you posted it. I can completely relate to that inner tension you’ve alluded to hear as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aggie says:

    Thanks for sharing the good news. You look comfortable on video.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Strangely perhaps, I felt comfortable in the ones shot outside, and uncomfortable in the ones shot indoors. One thing that helped with the trailer is that I didn’t have any notes. I don’t understand why I looked away from the camera so much. I wasn’t aware of that while doing it and I wouldn’t do that if talking to a person.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aggie says:

        That makes sense — outdoors is home. I didn’t notice you looking away, but would have thought of it as indicating you are a deep thinker, which is positive for me.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        That’s an interesting observation Bill (and a good thing to remember for the next time you’re forced in front of a camera?; )
        Only read your reviews so far, but now it’s time to watch the clip… Back soon!

        Like

      • Aggie says:

        I thought of you last night when we watched a documentary that touched on mind control by TV and mass media. The point was made that newscasters always look directly into the camera, and that it is a hypnotic technique.

        Like

  4. Buffy says:

    Way to go Bill!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Many thanks. The publisher has done a great job with production of the videos, artwork, the website, etc. Whether the content is ultimately deemed worthwhile remains to be seen.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Okay now, you’ve got to stop that, right this instant!!
        You need to learn to accept a compliment in the spirit it is intended with good grace. To do otherwise is an insult – totally unintended, I know, but an insult nonetheless – to those who honestly offer their praise for your effort and incredibly important work that you’re doing.
        Don’t worry, we can all tell that you’re a humble man; but there will be many compliments forthcoming, so just say thank you.
        Sorry, but it had to be said… End of sermon ; )

        Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        (Addendum to 12:43: By the way, I thought you should know that this was a “borrowed” lecture – the recycled words of a friend – as I too have the same problem accepting a compliment… ; )

        Like

  5. bobraxton says:

    we are the world – we are the people – … we can make a better day, start …

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    I saw your clip on Face Book. Will share it out. Wonderful and congratulations!!

    Like

  7. Bravo Bill! Great video clip! And such wonderful reviews. Well deserved I’m sure as I eagerly await the arrival of my copy. And what an honor to be compared to Wendell Berry!
    It’s just so cool to see and hear you after following the blog.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well the book may have some merit, but as you’ll soon see it doesn’t deserve being compared to Wendell Berry. 🙂 I very much appreciate your willingness to read it and all your kind words. It’s been a new experience for me and now my hope is that at least a few people will find it worthwhile.

      Like

  8. avwalters says:

    The trailer is great. The endorsements are a great start. (I need to read the book, though it seems that you underestimate it. You have already captured the Christian audience but I think that the sustainable audience may also be interested.)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks much AV. I’d sure like to hope that anyone interested in the sustainable food movement would find the book interesting, but the reality is that the emphasis on Wesley (a fairly obscure figure outside a certain tribe of Christianity) will probably significantly limit the audience. But it is what it is. I’m encouraged by positive reactions from some well known (but non-Wesleyan) folks in that tiny slice of the food movement that is sometimes called “the Christian food movement.”

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Taking care of our bodies is a common theme in many religions (if not all). I think you limit yourself by assuming that people won’t get the point if they’re not “Christian”.
        Pretty much a Universal tenant (? – not quite the right word/spelling, but close right?) Anyway, it’s just like The Golden Rule, all good men (human beings) believe the same things – regardless of their language or religion. This, I firmly believe.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Actually one of the arguments I make in the book is that Christians seem less likely to get the point than non-Christians. The ethic, which is universal in appeal and broadly accepted in secular culture, seems to have lost any association with Christian tradition. I’m trying to make the case that instead of being suspicious of the movement/ethic, Christians should embrace it.

        Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Funny, this (eating good, fresh food out of the garden) would never have occurred to me to be something to be suspicious of… But then again, maybe it’s because there are so many people now who’ve grown up in the city, and don’t know where their food comes from?

        Like

  9. Selka says:

    Congratulations! And life’s too short for awkward immodesty. Revel and enjoy!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Selka. That’s what I intend to do! It took me 55 years to write a book and it may be the only one I ever write. If someone I admire gives it a favorable review, I’m going to share that. But to spare my readers the burden of having to read too much about this book, I won’t bother them with the negative reviews. 🙂

      Like

  10. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, It must be satisfying to see the work on the book and video series completed. I watched the video clip and the first video of the series. That first video chapter was really good. When purchasing the book will the video access come with it or is that an extra cost? The book and video combination is a great marriage of print and media. It will be indeed interesting to see how the food we eat can be intertwined with the spiritual. I’m really glad to that things are coming together for you with this endeavor.

    Have a great organic Wesley food movement day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The videos will be sold separately. They haven’t announced a price for them yet and I don’t have any say on that. They will be DVDs intended primarily as group study resources.

      I was a little dubious about the video idea, but now having seen the first 5 I honestly think they may convey the message as well as or better than the book!

      Like

  11. associatedluke says:

    Great seeing you in HD!!! Wonderful video. Looking forward to more!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Luke. I’ll be honest–it’s been a little weird watching myself on video like that. I’m trying to afford myself the same generosity and charity I would give to anyone else in that situation. 🙂

      Like

  12. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Watched the vid; great job at getting your point across! I do see what you meant about talking to the camera – but I’m sure it will come more naturally, with practice. Next time, just think of us: all the people you communicate with here on the blog; all of the happy faces you see every week at the Market… We are all right there with you. Bravo!!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If you watched the Chapter 1 video you’ll notice that I kept looking down. That’s because my notes were on the ground next to my feet! In later videos I didn’t do that. 🙂

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        No, sorry, I’ve only watched the trailer, so far… But I can see how having your notes on the ground might be a little awkward; )

        Like

  13. EllaDee says:

    I’ve watched the clip, and the first video, and you look natural, like a very approachable professional . Not so as the message is Delivered artificially but personally, like we’d stopped to have a chat. Shared naturally I think is the best way to describe it. I like that you explained how the food movement worked with you and Cherie’s lives. Good work 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks EllaDee. 🙂 I appreciate you taking the time to watch them. I felt comfortable on most of them and it’s easy for me to talk about these subjects. A couple were challenging and I didn’t do as well. We shot them all in just 2 days and I didn’t use a teleprompter, so under the circumstances I’d say they came out pretty good. The production is done now and I’ve had the chance to see all ten videos. I was skeptical going in, but I think they do a pretty nice job of summarizing the book and would be a good not only for group studies, but just for people interested in the subject but not interested in reading a book about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

