The Market and a Party

Yesterday began early for us, as market day Saturdays always do. It’s hard to believe August is over. Just two more months left for our primary farmers market.

One more month at the market in the books

One more month at the market in the books

In the afternoon we hosted some friends from town, who came to celebrate their daughter’s birthday.

IMG_8138

A good time was had by all. The birthday girl especially seemed to enjoy it.

IMG_8131

IMG_8137

Her Dad asked if she could intern on our farm in about 15 years.

24 comments on “The Market and a Party

  1. DM says:

    love the pictures! Can’t start them too early. I had my 18 month old grandson sitting with me on the lawnmower tractor this week, (not mowing) just to give him the feel. We drive around real slow and I let him sort of steer. I am now his favorite person second only to his mom and dad

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BeeHappee says:

    Cake and chickens, this is the best b-day party I had ever seen. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Just knowing there’s a place where people still wear seersucker is enough to make me smile. If the little girl’s dress isn’t seersucker, don’t tell me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, there’s no better place to have a birthday then on a working homestead. Where I saw cows, pigs, and chickens as chores in the morning and evening, city kids find them fascinating and wonderful to watch and feed. Normal life on a farm gives kids a perspective that just can’t be found in the city. I really feel blessed being exposed to both life styles.

    It was still muddy at Terra Nova Gardens yesterday but I did get some fence work done. Friday was put up tomatoes day. I canned 12 quarts of tomatoes. My tomatoes this year, because of all the rain, were not the pretty sliding tomatoes that most people like. They were all split and cracked. They were excellent for canning but not so good for the table. These tomatoes are destined for vegetable or vegetable beef soup. When the weather gets cold outside and gardening is done, I’ll process the tomatoes again into soup and can the soup. It should end up being enough for a couple years. No one else in the household will eat my garden food. Very sad to see their selective food tastes.

    The cucumbers are done here. They grew so fast this year that, with only being able to get to Terra Nova Gardens two or three times a week, they would grow to be monsters before I could harvest them. Most couldn’t be used. It was the first time I wished I had a pig to take care of the monster cukes. They went into the compost pile so I’ll have cukes growing out of the pile next spring. The green peppers were absolutely gorgeous this year. Perfect in every way. Wet weather must be good for green peppers. Green beans did really well this year and are still producing. I harvested a couple rounds and am letting the rest go to seed for the soup this winter.

    All the squash buds were eaten by deer so no squash or pumpkins this year.

    Have a great hosting birthdays for children day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Every gardening year has its hits and misses doesn’t it? We’ve certainly had our ups and downs this year too. I’ll stay positive and say I’m very glad you had such a great harvest of peppers. πŸ™‚
      And you’re certainly right about growing up on a farm. I was expected to work from when I was old enough to carry a bucket. But it was a great life. And we love being able to help children understand where their food comes from. This little girl is privileged to be part of a family that does urban gardening, so she isn’t going to be nature-deprived like so many city kids these days.

      Like

  5. Sue says:

    Why wait 15 years? She could be put to work in as little as 3 years!!
    What a precious birthday girl….and what a great way to celebrate.

    Like

  6. Buffy says:

    I agree! Put her to work now! My sweet garden helpers are age 3-5! The 4 and 5 year olds absolutely love it! They learn colors, counting, sorting by size! All preschool frameworks!(sorry the teacher in me). My 5 year old helper is a master at squashing squash big eggs! And she notices everything! Besides she picks low vegetables and I pick high ones! Start their love of gardening early!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well? Can she intern on your farm in 15 years??? ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  8. hamertheframer says:

    Great photos, especially the first one. You both look like kids too!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bobraxton says:

    :in about fifteen” is good

    Like

  10. Joanna says:

    Can’t wait for my grandkids to want to intern at our place πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Chooks and Chick in Chocolate! So very cute!! Business must be good if you’re booked so far in avance!; )

    Like

  12. Laurie Graves says:

    What a darling girl! Happy birthday to her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

