It’s Getting Busy Around Here

Summer is always a busy time on the farm–the busiest time of the year. But the to-do list is at it’s most daunting when we begin to transition to the next season.

And now is the time to transition to fall. So now, while still tending to the summer gardens and going to two markets a week, we’re also prepping our fall gardens and preparing to plant most of them this week. Now is also the time to mow the pastures to encourage the fall cool-season grasses to grow. And it’s about time to take some pigs to the processor.

So we’ve got plenty to do.

But I was able to scratch one major item off my list–yesterday I sent in the final edits to my book and on Monday it transitions to “manufacture,” which I assume means printing. It feels good to have seen that project through to completion.

And now it’s time to move into a new season. Hopefully today I’ll get started on planting.

14 comments on “It’s Getting Busy Around Here

  1. I’m so excited for you Bill, especially in regards to your book! ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Oh, that does sound busy. I’m waiting for a few things to finish up and then I’m done for the year.
    I’m torn on being envious of your long season. I’ll miss the fresh vegetables, but wow-that’s a lot of work.
    Enjoy!

    Like

    • Sue says:

      Oh, and I forgot to add–congrats on the book. What an accomplishment!
      πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Here in our growing zone, it feels like we’re just getting started (even though lots of gardeners don’t take advantage of all the great fall crops we can grow). I’ll be planting collards, kale and broccoli tomorrow. I started some lettuce and radicchio today. Going to be doing a lot of planting over the next couple of weeks!

      Like

  3. Exciting about the next step on the book!

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Well, as Dorothy Parker once said, “I hate writing. I love having written.” I suspect you know something about that, too. It’s a different sort of harvest, but a harvest, nonetheless. What’s that old song they sing around the publishing houses? “Bringing in the Leaves”?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bill says:

      There was a time last winter when I concluded that the manuscript stunk. I didn’t have a signed contract from the publisher yet, and wasn’t sure I was going to get one. So I sat down and starting writing a different book, tossing out all the Wesley and food movement stuff, and just writing what I hoped would be a practical guide to making good food choices (with stories from here thrown in). I was about 80 pages into it when the publisher presented me with a contract and a proposal to do the video series. They were enthusiastic and I changed my mind about the book. πŸ™‚

      I dislike writing when I feel I’m under an obligation to write, or facing a deadline. But I don’t mind writing if I’m not under any pressure, and if I don’t have to worry too much about the quality of it.

      Like

  5. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    This weekend was a stressful one for personal reasons, and today I am looking at my “to do list” and feeling completely overwhelmed. While we don’t have the production level or market stresses (no thank you!) that you have, we still have young children and full time work. Sometimes I question our plan and wish we could care a little less about our unethical industrial food system. But the work of managing our summer harvest (and fall plantings), will be enjoyed for many months. Or so I tell myself. πŸ˜‰
    You will make it through the season, just like you have before. Thanks for the inspiration and reminder it can be done.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If you’ve seen the movie The Matrix, you probably remember the scene where the traitor is eating the steak at the restaurant in the matrix. I won’t say more about it in case you haven’t seen it and think you might someday. Cherie and I sometimes think of that scene and how tempting it can be sometimes to go back into the matrix, even though we’ve seen it and know the steak isn’t real. But I find that those days are very rare now. It’s a journey and I tell people to proceed at a pace that will cause you to continue, rather than at a pace that will cause you to be discouraged. Not that I always take my own advice, of course. πŸ™‚

      Hoping things settle down for you. This time of year it’s nearly impossible to keep up. We’re both here full-time and we’re struggling to keep all the balls in the air. With all you have to do in addition to homesteading, I know it must seem overwhelming at times.

      I planted kale and collards in the morning and mowed pastures all afternoon. Tomorrow is a market day so preparing for that will take up most of the day. Leaves me wondering when I’ll find time to get the rest of the fall gardens in. But it always gets done.

      Like

      • Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

        The Matrix! Yes, sometimes it’s tempting to pretend…

        Thank you for taking time to share your wisdom Bill, it always helps.

        …proceed at a pace that will cause you to continue…

        I think I already reached that conclusion (I recently decided to let a few of my plans go), but hearing it in words from someone else is always a relief.

        Be sure to take advantage of your own wisdom Bill. : )

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

