In the Woodpile

I discovered a snapping turtle in the woodpile.

IMG_7797

Seemed a strange place to find a snapping turtle.

18 comments on “In the Woodpile

  1. Joanna says:

    I just cannot imagine anywhere with turtles or tortoises living in the wild. I know they do …. now…. what was I thinking? That these sorts of creatures only lived in aquariums? Silly really 😀 Wild tortoises and turtles just never entered my head until a friend posted a picture of some in her garden in Bulgaria. It was at that point I realised they were originally wild animals and, apart from the ones that I had heard about on the Galapagos islands I never knew that, I only knew them as very long-lived pets.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We have box turtles (I grew up calling them terrapins) here and it’s common to find them in the woods (or sometimes in the garden enjoying low hanging tomatoes). We also have snapping turtles, but they live in our pond. This one was a long way from any pond. My guess is that she had been laying eggs somewhere (note the muddy rear end) and was making the long journey back to the pond.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Sue says:

    What a nice surprise! Always love seeing critters………

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I try to be careful in the woodpile, as it’s a popular place for copperhead moccasins to hang out. I certainly wasn’t expecting to see this kind of turtle in there.

      Like

  3. Was he trapped? If it is high up, seems to me someone physically put him there. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    How interesting… of a keep your distance kind. Peaceful co-existence is good, and it’s always nice to see a wild thing who doesn’t want to eat your plants.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I have no quarrel with turtles, but they do compete with us for food. They live in our pond and eat fish. I have a fisher friend who insists I should “get rid of the turtles” but so far there have been enough fish for them and us.

      Like

  5. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Around here, they like the gravel on the edge of the road for laying eggs (and it’s ‘way past the “best before” date; )
    So, with your extended seasons, do your local Snappers do a second clutch per year? Maybe checking out the Winter accommodations while she was on a walkabout?; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t know. I’ve found them laying eggs by the side of the driveway, crawling across the road at my barn and I once found a large one tangled up in one of our garden fences dead. She evidently had been laying eggs in our garden and got tangled in the fence on her way out. They have a surprising range.

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I don’t know a thing about snapping turtles, except that they’re best avoided. I’ve read about the power of their jaws, and that was impressive, but I wouldn’t even offer speculation on what this one might have been up to.

    We have red-eared sliders and other common turtles here, and they’re always fun to see — mostly in the spring, when they’re coming out of hibernation.

    Like

  7. Chris Gonso says:

    Looks like a painted turtle to me, Compadre. The females have long claws on their back feet to dig out a nest.

    Like

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Had to send you this piece from the Toronto Zoo… Very informative, with loads of photos: from hatchling to a couple of real lunkers, and two good comparison shots between Snappers and Painted Turtles. http://www.torontozoo.com/adoptapond/turtles.asp?tr=4

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

