Transitioning to Fall

It’s getting dark a little earlier every evening. Even though it still feels like summer, fall is on the way.

We’re still harvesting from our summer gardens of course. ย These days we’re awash in (among other things) tomatoes and watermelons. They’re featured in our meals now, fulfilling a wish I’ve had since they left us last year. And now the okra is starting to arrive and the purple hull peas aren’t far behind. There is plenty of summer goodness left in this year yet.

IMG_7728

But we’re also preparing to transition to fall. Yesterday I planted beets. I have broccoli, cabbage, Chinese cabbage, kale and collards seedlings started. We’ll have three large gardens devoted exclusively to fall crops this year and yesterday I spent a lot of time prepping the soil. We’ll start direct seeding next week.

We’re fortunate to have three distinct growing seasons here. This spring when we were starting to tire of lettuce and asparagus, we began to look forward to cucumbers and tomatoes. Now we start thinking about cauliflower and collard greens.

I hope summer lingers and we can continue to enjoy our hot weather foods for another couple of months. But when fall arrives to take its place, we’ll be ready.

23 comments on “Transitioning to Fall

  1. shoreacres says:

    Once again, it’s interesting to see what you still have, while we’ve moved into the summer doldrums. Everything but watermelon, okra, and purple hulls is pretty much finished locally. I’m still getting zuchinni and some other things from “my” farmers, because they’re three hours north. It makes a difference.

    I could grump about the heat, but it wouldn’t do either of us any good, so I won’t. Except I think I just did.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Today was a market day. I picked tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplant, squash, peppers, green beans and October beans. We also took acorn squash and watermelons that I’d already picked. We’re fortunate to still be getting lots of great food. But we didn’t sell all the October beans, so as soon as I step away from the computer screen, we’ll be shelling beans. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    And my kids are asking every day: When is Halloween? How many more days? I am not quite ready for Halloween, but enjoying cooler nights. Best of luck with fall gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna says:

    I planted some seeds for autumn here in Latvia too. It is not common to do much gardening after September here, but that is partly because of the uncertainty of the onset of winter. I am determined to find some crops that can last into early November. The problem is that those type of plants are slow growers and sometimes in the heat of summer they suffer. Hope your’s grow well

    Like

    • Bill says:

      After October there is risk here too. Some years the gardens survive all winter. I’ve picked broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts and kale in February. But other times, like last year, a long hard freeze kills them off early. We had basically nothing left after October last year. Maybe this year winter will be kind to us both. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. avwalters says:

    I’m skipping the fall planting this year–better to finish the house. We have some re-thinking to do on the garden in terms of our soils and I need to get a handle on the timing of the first frosts, before I get attached to a new bunch of plants.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That makes good sense to me. I hope you’re snug and warm in your new house by winter. I’m glad the recent windstorm spared you. I’m sure you must have been very nervous on the drive home.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. daphnegould says:

    Most of my fall garden is in already. I have a few more things to plant, not many. But my seasons are shorter than yours. And my fall features a lot of shade from the neighbors’ trees as the sun gets lower. I’m trying not to think about fall approaching as so many of the summer harvests have just started. I still haven’t gotten my first melon though it won’t be too long now.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Here we aim to have the fall crops start arriving in early October. If the winter is mild some will overwinter. Sometimes, like last year, they’re done in by an early hard freeze. We’ve had a good spring and summer, and hopefully fall will be kind to us too.

      Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m continuing to harvest cucumbers by the bucket. Most have gone past the usable stage. If I miss a day in the garden which is quite often the cucumbers balloon up to big huge yellow melon size cukes. I wish I had a pig to feed. The amazing thing with them is that even the very large once are still sweet and juicy. Maybe I’ll try to peel them and take out the seeds and give pickling a try. We continue to get night temperatures in the lower 60s which doesn’t allow the to ripen very fast. They are just dribbling in a a slow pace. I harvest about 8 or 10 from 26 plants this morning. That’s after a couple days between harvests. All the garden plants look good but the harvest is in slow motion this year. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad. The taste is still incredible but maturity is not a fast as in past years.

    Have a great August harvest/planting day.

    Like

  7. smcasson says:

    I almost missed the little dude in your picture!

    Like

  8. Sue says:

    We haven’t had our first tomato yet—and I’m sure looking forward to it. BLT’s for supper on that first night. I’m stocking up on the bacon. Don’t care what the doctor says–tee hee!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve been eating multiple tomato sandwiches every day. I just lather on some mayonnaise (Duke’s of course) on a thick slice of homemade white bread, then lay a fat slice of tomato on it. Mmmm good. The taste of summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    The approach of Fall or Autumn as it is here is always bittersweet for me. It’s my favourite season and I welcome the cooler nights but love the early mornings and late evenings of summer where there is light. And I too look forward to the different tastes of the seasons. Right now I’m enjoying avocado season particularly the small variety I’m so fond of while waiting for potato season in December!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If forced to pick a favorite season, I’d probably pick fall. But there are things about them all that I enjoy. Although I like the cooler temps of fall, I miss the extra hours of summer sunlight.

      As for the tastes of the seasons, we’re enthusiastic advocates of seasonal eating. And we love practicing what we preach. Every season has its taste–and they’re all great! But alas, no avacados here. My wife loves them and often says she’s sorry they don’t grow here. Enjoy the taste of your season!

      Like

  10. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Love your little buddy there, Bill: )
    During the hot, Cicada-singing days of Summer they like to burrow into the nice, cool soil of the pots in my plant nursery. Also keeps them away from my idiot Lab, the frog-catching dog; who, for some reason, just can’t seem to get the difference into his head and that Toads are NOT Frogs, lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

