More Book News

Last week I was surprised to learn that the publisher has moved my book’s release date up from December to September. It is now available for preorder HEREΒ and it will drop in early to mid-September. Of course we’ll have copies at the farmers market and anyone who wants a copy can also order one directly from me.

OW-coverspread-TS 03

The book covers themes that will be familiar to readers of this blog, but examining them through the lens of the teachings of John Wesley. There are chapters on the rise of industrial agriculture and the countervailing contemporary food movement, the importance of a diet of nutritious food, overconsumption and the obesity epidemic, the treatment of farm animals, organic vs. chemical-based agriculture, local food economies vs. globalization, critiques of the food movement, a call for recognition of a Wesleyan food ethic and a chapter on practical ways to implement the ethic in one’s life.

There will be a corresponding series of ten video lessons, filmed on our farm and narrated by me.Β The publisher has decided to go ahead and release the book even though the videos won’t be available until later this year.

I’m confident the book will be interesting to anyone with an interest in both John Wesley and food ethics. My hope is that it will be interesting to people who have an interest in either.

Of course I realize it is a somewhat arcane subject and I don’t expect to reach a wide audience. Still, it feels good to know this is finally coming to fruition.

40 comments on “More Book News

    • Bill says:

      I’m pleased that it’s coming out much sooner than I had expected. I actually have some more exciting news, but I’m holding onto it for now. More news next week. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  1. This is wonderful news!

    Like

  2. Cynthia says:

    Cant wait to read it. I’m sure it is excellent and those topics are all central concerns of mine . Great news!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m anxious to see what people think of it. I’m on my own worst critic (at least I hope that’s true) so I’m seeing the flaws in it very clearly. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. congrats! ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Excellent news, Bill!!
    Far better to start building momentum with “back to school” than just before the Christmas-time crunch. Any idea how many in the first printing? (Or do they even bother with such things any more?): At any rate, here’s hoping you sell out by Christmas, so break a leg [or a pencil, whichever suits you better; ]
    Oh, and about the videos… It’s always better to read the book first: }

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Deb. I have no idea how many they’re printing. My guess is that they’ll roll out a fairly small number to see how it does, but that’s just a guess. This is all new to me.

      Like

  5. avwalters says:

    You may surprise yourself; the world is hungry for this perspective. I could not wish a runaway bestseller on a more deserving manuscript.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Thanks AV. I agree that the world is hungry for this perspective (and I say exactly that in the book and videos), but I’m not sure this book is exactly what they’re hungry for. The emphasis on Wesley may make it uninteresting or unattractive to those outside of that particular faith tradition. I hope not, but as much as I’d like to reach a broad audience with this message, realistically I don’t expect that. On the other hand, there are many millions of people in Wesleyan traditions. I’d be very pleased if it at least reached a lot of them. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. BeeHappee says:

    Congratulations, Bill. Sounds like a very meaningful and historically important book.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Bee. I honestly think it’s breaking some new ground, but having rewritten it for a lay audience, I don’t expect it will be received as scholarship. And whether I was able to make it interesting to a lay audience remains to be seen. I think I still write like a lawyer most of the time. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Rachel says:

    This looks like it will be a fascinating read!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Rachel. If I saw this book in a bookstore I’d want to read it. But I am a particular kind of nerd and there probably aren’t a lot of us. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Look forward to reading it. Is it better for you if It is ordered directly from you?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I get a small percentage of the price, and that percentage is higher on books I sell directly. But I don’t want anyone to think I’m trying to sell them something. That’s not what this blog is about.

      Some folks have told me that they want a personalized/signed copy (it feels really weird to even type that). The way to get one is to order through me. Otherwise, just get it in whatever way is most convenient: through the publishers site, amazon, book stores or the local library.

      Like

      • Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

        Bill, that is what I thought. I will order one directly from you, and of course I want it signed πŸ˜‰ It is important to me support writers, artists, farmers, etc… Our budget is as big as a minute, as I like to say, but we do what we can.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. smcasson says:

    Very cool news. Congratulations!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. I’m very pleased with how things have gone so far and this publisher has been enthusiastic and encouraging. They’re promoting the book and getting the word out. Whether readers will find any merit in it (or whether there will be any readers) remains to be seen. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. EllaDee says:

    Excellent news πŸ™‚ Given the distance and postage, I’m hoping there’ll be an e-version and I can buy the pair… yours & Cherie’s. If not, I still want copies!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks EllaDee. πŸ™‚ There will be an e-version. I’m not sure when it will be available, but I’ll post when it is. Cherie hopes to have her e-version available soon.

      Like

  11. Great news – congratulations!

    Like

  12. What an amazing accomplishment Bill! Congratulations. I look forward to the book and the videos.

    Like

  13. How can we order directly from you Bill?

    Like

  14. I should have read the comments first – I already placed my order with the publisher – shoot! I would have loved to have ordered directly through you and get a signed copy. But all the same – I’m thrilled for you and am eagerly awaiting receipt of my copy. Don’t be shy about promoting it on your blog!!
    I had never heard of Wesley before I started reading your blog and I certainly never read anything the Pope wrote – so I am glad you opened my eyes to a whole new perspective on the food movement.
    May your book reach far and wide because as a writer I think you have the ability to open many eyes. Your writing style is even-handed and fair – it doesn’t overwhelm or “guilt out” the reader. You educate without intimidating and you pique one’s curiosity to want to know more. That has been my experience with your blog and I was already in the “food movement”.
    OK – done gushing. Yep – I’m a fan of the Guerrant family of writers…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      My goodness, thanks for your very kind words. I can only hope that the book comes close to being worthy of such compliments. I am very pleased that the publisher did the video project too, although I had reservations about it initially. I think they will keep people engaged who might otherwise find the book stuffy and dull at times. We’ll see. I tried to be even-handed in the book, but I still expect that if it is read, it will be controversial. On some points I felt it was important to be provocative. Everybody should be able to find something in it that they dislike. My hope is that it will generate conversation and some helpful reflection.

      Writing the book is a big deal for me and it has consumed a lot of my time over the last two years. But I’ve rarely blogged about it. I enjoy the community here and I don’t want people to be put off by what might be perceived as me trying to sell a product. Comments like yours (and others here) do make me feel good. Many thanks. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Great news, Bill! You must be so excited. It’s a terrific accomplishment.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Jackie. This time last year I was waiting to hear back from publishers and not sure if the manuscript would ever see the light of day. It does feel good to be so close to the end of the journey.

      Like

  16. barnraised says:

    Congratulations!!!

    Like

  17. Bill – Your book looks wonderful and the topics are completely relevant to foodies & Christian foodies alike. Can’t wait to get my hands on it and promote it a little for you, as well. By the way, I have a food blog, too, but it’s been dormant for a while secondary to some life issues. I’m in the process of getting all my sites back up and get my crazy life back on track. This may be a great way to revive the ole blog πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

