Accelerated Corn Day

Yesterday when I came in from checking a garden, Cherie was in the kitchen making tomato sauce. I interrupted her by saying, I’ve got some bad news, some good news and some probably unwelcome news. She raised her eyebrows.

The bad news was that raccoons had destroyed a lot of our sweet corn overnight.

IMG_7731

IMG_7729

The good news was that they hadn’t destroyed it all, and what was leftย was actually ready for harvest, a week earlier than I had anticipated.

IMG_7737

The probably unwelcome news was that we had to harvest the remaining corn immediately, as I didn’t think it would survive another night.

Corn Day is a once a year event on our farm. It’s the day we harvest the sweet corn, which must be processed and frozen that same day for best results. Corn Day can be an all-day affair, so we try to plan for it. This year we had it penciled in for next Thursday. The raccoons changed our plans.

So Cherie put aside the tomatoes and we took on the sweet corn instead.

IMG_7735

Two out of the last three years we lost all the sweet corn to the raccoons.

Under the circumstances, we’re pleased with how things turned out this year. We will be enjoying corn on the cob this winter after all.

IMG_7740

30 comments on “Accelerated Corn Day

  1. bobraxton says:

    sweet corn, sweet compost(ing)

    Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    So raccoons just did you a favor and let you know the corn is ready. Good thing, you learned the raccoon language and was listening this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. daphnegould says:

    I plant corn in succession so I get corn for about a month. I go out everyday and pick whatever is ready and cook it for dinner. If I get more than we can eat the extra is cut off the cob and frozen. I never miss when it starts though as my husband starts asking at the end of July. Every day I get the question “Is the corn ready yet?”. He loves his corn.

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Life’s little victories! That’s going to taste pretty good in the middle of winter. You did nearly give me a heart attack, though. I looked at the label on the corn and thought — what? It can’t be the 15th of August already! Eventually, I figured out that meant August, 2015. When every day is the same, weather-wise and work-wise, it’s easy to lose track!

    Like

  5. avwalters says:

    Oh Silver Queen! The taste of summer.

    Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Speaking of harvesting, my dad was a trapper, ‘way back when… But wait, didn’t I already tell you how delicious roasted raccoon is? (Similar to the flavour of pork – but better: ) http://www.gourmet.com/recipes/1950s/1950/10/roasted_raccoon.html
    Apparently we’re a little early for this conversation, as they’re supposed to hang for a bit; ) but just trust me on this, it is lovely meat and yes, this recipe did come from “Gourmet Magazine”.
    Bon appรฉtit!

    Liked by 2 people

    • bobraxton says:

      Rural NC “rabbit” trap (hollow) held / kept whatever let curiosity get the better: including opossum, squirrel and raccoon all of which Mama dutifully prepared and our family ate (not all at the same time). However, the more suburban cousins (raccoons) as highly likely to be infected with rabies.

      Like

    • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

      One piece I read mentioned there being a recipe in The Joy of Cooking and, sure enough, my 1975 version has a chapter on game. Roast Raccoon with Sweet Potato & Apple Dressing is on pg. 515.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never eaten raccoon, but I mentioned it to a friend who was visiting tonight and he said he had some this summer (for the first time) and it was delicious.

      Like

  7. Sue says:

    I had the coons destroy mine last year on the night before I was going to harvest it. All that work GONE, in the blink of an eye. He left about a dozen ears………which were fantastic.
    Hubby got him in a trap baited with a marshmallow the next night. Seems they like that better than corn.
    He was “relocated” to that great corn patch in the sky……………………………………..

    Like

    • Joanna says:

      We have a saying “promoted up the foodchain” It appeals to the scientists in us ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’ve got two traps out now, but no luck so far. Two years ago they left me exactly one ear in a huge garden. As you say, that’s a LOT of work down the drain. I tried everything I could think of that year and nothing worked. But baiting with marshmallow I haven’t tried (although I did use those quick market “honey buns,” unsuccessfully). Maybe I’ll give that a try.

      Like

  8. Joanna says:

    Glad you got some corn in anyway. We are finally starting to move into glut time, another half bucket of sugar snap peas. We only really have peas at this time of the year due to the cool nights we have been having, normally they would have been and gone in the heat. We have a heatwave at the moment and suddenly everything is shooting up that prefers the heat, including our sweetcorn but ours are in our greenhouse because otherwise we would lose ours to the wild boar.

    Like

  9. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yup, I mentioned my corn was gone a week ago before it even matured. They are still gleaning the rest. The first round was just strip the ear and eat a few bites before going on to the next ear. My source of wooden fencing dried up for some reason so the last three panels will have to be fabricated out of free pallets. I’m not paying $75 a panel for the last three that are way in the back mostly out of view any way. Those pesky raccoons can indeed do a lot of damage in just one night. I don’t really want to kill any wild animals just control them. They still haven’t touched my neighbor’s decorative corn yet. The ears are high as my head and the stalks are all of nine or ten feet. Maybe the raccoons just know it’s meant for decoration and not for eating. Smart little buggers aren’t they. So I just keep plugging along with the fence and hope for the best next year. Today is the beginning of another round of grass mowing which will net another 8 to 10 yard waste bags of mulch.

    Have a great sweet corn freezing day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah we’re fortunate that they didn’t discover the garden sooner and that the corn matured faster than expected. Two out of the previous three years (with last year being the exception) we were totally wiped out as you were this year. Very frustrating. We lost a lot of corn this year, but were still able to harvest plenty for ourselves. I quit trying to raise corn for market a few years ago.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Woody says:

    I beat the coons to the corn this year! I believe the dogs actually did their job for once.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

