Nature’s Bounty

It’s been many years since we bought any meat. In fact, I don’t intend to ever buy any again.

While I don’t eat much meat, I do eat it a few times a week. And all of it comes from this farm (enabling me to call myself a “farmitarian”).

Because we raise pigs and chickens, I’m able to enjoy pasture-raised pork. And any time we end up with too many roosters they become meals for me.

But even without chickens and pigs on the farm, I could have all the meat and fish I could ever want or need, just from the deer and fish living wild here.

Venison is the only red meat I eat now, and there is a seemingly endless supply of that residing on this farm. And there are also a lifetime’s supply of delicious and nutritious meals swimming around in our pond.

Yesterday afternoon, for example, an hour at the pond turned into a couple of fish suppers. That’s less time than it would have taken me to drive to town, buy a couple of fillets (of unknown and dubious quality) and return home.

I like knowing that as long as I have a rifle and a fishing pole, I should never need to buy meat again.

12 comments on “Nature’s Bounty

  1. Sue says:

    The best feeling on earth is providing for oneself. You are a very lucky family.
    I eat meat once a week–just to shut my doctor up…..but to me, a huge plate of veggies is the best meal on earth. (Or a giant salad)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m with you on the veggies. I’ll have some sausage with my breakfast most mornings, but this time of year the gardens are producing so much delicious goodness it seems a shame to use part of the plate for meat (although I did have freshly-caught fish with supper tonight).

      Like

  2. and it’s organically fed, chemical free venison to boot! At least some of the veg the deer have been munching from your fields is getting back into your diet.
    I imagine venison will become a staple for us once we move out to the farm.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      And free-range and naturally raised. I’m convinced that venison is superior to beef for many reasons, both practical and ethical. I’ve heard people say they don’t like it, but I now prefer it to beef. If you’re living on a farm and you eat meat, in my opinion it would be crazy not to harvest some of the deer.

      Like

  3. smcasson says:

    Good point about the fish. And the venison too. I only thought of the farm animals at the outset of your post.
    At the risk of being too controversial, I have a different view of luck. “The harder I work, the luckier I get” – golfer Jerry Barber (probably)
    Anyway, Bill and Cherie work(ed) hard to be able to be so lucky. I feel like luck ain’t much of it.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s true we’ve worked hard, but we’ve had plenty of good fortune along the way too.

      My son once made an interesting observation about the difference between hunting and fishing. When we hunt deer, we’re predators stalking a gentle herbivore, but when we’re fishing we’re capturing vicious predators. He therefore argued that fishing was morally superior to hunting. 🙂

      Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    Meat is in on our menu but in lesser quantity and better quality. I’m pleased you are able to be a farmitarian. I admire that choice to eschew other meat sources. I wish it was an option more available to more people, or even just considered by more in acknowledgement of its validity and value & source of the commodity… such as meat has become.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Obviously it won’t be possible for most people to raise or hunt their own meat. But in that case I urge them to buy only from ethical farmers they know and trust. I sincerely believe that we should never eat meat sold in grocery stores.

      Like

  5. avwalters says:

    Self-reliant and sustainable. It’s a really tremendous feeling.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes it is. And we continue to learn that being self-reliant isn’t as difficult as we’re led to believe. There are powerful forces out there who are determined to see us all utterly dependent upon them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It sure is good to be able to grow your own food in every way. Not an option for us, but we keep making more connections with local sources.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Farmers like us could not exist if it were not for people like you. We encourage people to grow as much of their own food as they can, but we’re very grateful for the people who come to ethical local farms for what they can’t grow themselves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

