Growing Up Confused

The confused deer who is living in the pasture with our goats has grown up into a handsome buck.

IMG_7517

IMG_7527

If only I could convince all his fellow deer to move out of our gardens and into the pasture with him.

20 comments on “Growing Up Confused

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Well now, that’s a good reason for him to pass on his genes, isn’t it?
    And he certainly is a splendid fellow! Let’s just hope that the ladies think so too; )

    Like

  2. smcasson says:

    Wow, that’s funny! He is good looking, albeit a little skinny.

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    I guess if you think about it–how would he know he’s not a goat. I’m sure he doesn’t have a mirror handy. I always wondered if my neighbor’s horse knew he was different , sitting in a field full of donkeys……

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    That first photo is a classic. Cross-species bonding can be such a delightful surprise – not to mention occasionally inexplicable.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie likes that picture a lot too. That’s our goat Jade, who I always thought had the features of a deer. When side by side with the real thing, not so much.

      Like

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Wow, beautiful deer and great pictures. I would not be so sure it is not him who is feasting on the gardens at night. 🙂

    Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yeah, I was wondering what ever happened to the deer that thought he was a goat. He’s still hanging around with the goats. That’s a great picture of the two species together.

    I haven’t seen so much evidence of deer in my garden now that the tomatoes and cucumbers are head high. That’s good by me. Another rain shower came through this morning about 4:30am. Just enough to keep me from fence post planting. I’ll have to give it another try tomorrow. I’m very close to being done with the wooden fence. Four panels and three more posts. Yeah, a project completed this year would be great. Then the deer problem would be solved. One animal issue down and many more to go. Always a challenge some where with gardening, isn’t there.

    Have a great day in the market garden (while we still can).

    Like

  7. associatedluke says:

    HA! I have horns… you have horns… we must be us!

    Like

  8. barnraised says:

    Great photos. This is so neat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

