Book News

There have been some exciting (to me at least) developments regarding my forthcoming book.

First, the cover design has been finalized.

OW-coverspread-TS 03

The other exciting news is that the book will include a Foreward by Matthew Sleeth. For those who don’t know of him, Dr. Sleeth is a prominent leader in the creation care movement, author of Serve God, Save the Planet, The Gospel According to the Earth and 24-6, and founder of the Blessed Earth organization. I’m honored that he will be contributing to the book.

We still don’t have an official release date but I’ll share it when we do.

27 comments on “Book News

  1. DM says:

    That is exciting! Love the cover.

    Like

  2. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Very exciting! And a lovely cover. I look forward to ordering a copy when the book comes out. Is your last name French? I ask because I am a Franco American—my family name is Meunier—and Maine has a large population of Franco-Americans.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, my surname is from my Huguenot ancestors who came to Virginia in 1700. It was Gueran then. Our family was originally from what is now known as the Charente.

      Like

      • Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

        You know, that’s what I had guessed. I did know that French Huguenots had settled in Virginia. Most of the French who settled in Maine were Catholics. Fortunately, nowadays, those distinctions don’t really matter.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Very exciting news! Cover looks beautiful, and nice to have Dr. Sleeth write the foreward. Looking forward to see the finished book. I did not know you were a graduate of Asbury.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I graduated with a Masters in Theological Studies last spring. This book derives from my thesis.

      I was excited to learn that Dr. Sleeth was writing the foreward. I take no credit for that. The publisher made it happen and it was a surprise to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bobraxton says:

    book ’em

    Like

  5. Farmgirl says:

    So excited for you!

    Like

  6. Woohoo! That is exciting! I am really enjoying going through this process with you. Love the cover.

    Like

  7. avwalters says:

    Hmmm, I always wondered about the “method” in methodists. Maybe that’s it. Congratulations.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      “Methodist” was originally a derisive term given to Wesley and his friends when they were at Oxford. As is often the case, it stuck and was eventually adopted. But, as I mention in the book, Wesley sometimes attributed the origin of the term “Methodists” to ancient Roman physicians who taught that “all diseases might be cured by a specific method of diet and exercise.”

      Like

  8. Librarian and general book lover says great retro cover. Looks like a classic already. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. 🙂 I like the retro cover too. I can’t take any credit for it though. The book may or may not have any merit, but at least it will have an attractive cover. 🙂

      Like

  9. smcasson says:

    Cool stuff Bill. It’s gotta be an exciting project to get a book to print.

    Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    It looks like a real book, doggone it! The cover is perfect — classic, in fact. It’s the sort of book I’d see on a table and pick up without thought of the subject matter, just to hold it. That’s good marketing, too. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Linda. I’m very pleased with the cover. It is so much better than the lame idea that I suggested and that they wisely ignored. As I said above, even if the book isn’t very good, at least it has a nice cover. 🙂

      Like

  11. rhondajean says:

    Congratulations on reaching the end stages of your book, Bill. I like the cover and the name a lot.

    This is from another blog I read – an English one that I thought you might find interesting: http://spitalfieldslife.com/2015/07/29/the-huguenots-of-rochester/

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Rhonda. It’s been an interesting journey–one that would be familiar to you!

      Huguenots have an interesting history. My family escaped into Holland, then from there went to England. Eventually they were part of a settlement in Virginia.

      Like

  12. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    I’m excited that you are nearing the end of your book project Bill. How exciting to have something tangible to see after all the hard work! Do you have a general idea of the release date?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I just learned today that it will be released in mid September–much earlier than I had anticipated! I’ll be blogging about it soon. The videos won’t be ready until later but the publisher has decided to go ahead with the book now.

      Like

  13. I know your book is already out but I’m playing catch up on your blog. Love the cover and I thank you for introducing me to Dr. Sleeth / Blessed Earth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

