The Final Paseo

We go for a walk every evening after supper. It’s a practice we adopted many years ago, after visiting my old college roommate in Spain and going along for a late evening stroll with the entire village. They call it a “paseo,” so we do too.

Our dog Ginny dearly loved our paseos. Even though she had a free run of the farm all day, she would become deliriously happy when it when was time to paseo.

Thursday evening we went on the final paseo we would share with Ginny.

IMG_7421

IMG_7422

And the day ended with a beautiful sunset.

IMG_7427

26 comments on “The Final Paseo

  1. BeeHappee says:

    That is very moving. . .
    We like paseo too. Walking with the whole village would be something.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanna says:

    Oh my! What a glorious send off. Bless you all and long may your paseo’s continue. When we go on our walks around the land, we are joined by one or both of our cats. Seems bizarre, I expect it from dogs, but cats!!!!

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Such touching reminders of your good friend. It must be especially hard not to have her with you in the evenings. But good for you, to have taken the photos and shared the memory.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Those are the only two pictures of took of Ginny that day and neither came out well. I’m glad I took them now, but I really wasn’t in the mood for photography at the time.

      Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, very touching and beautiful end to Ginny’s life experiences with you and Cherie. She will be missed at paseo time every day. May the beautiful sunsets remind you always of the great times with Ginny and bring a smile to your face.

    Have the best Ginny memory day that you can.

    Like

  5. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Oh, dog buddy! I had tears in my eyes as I read your post and looked at your pictures.

    Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    It was there, along the way
    ‘Twas there for you to see…
    You stopped you saw and took it in
    Then gave it back to me…

    Heartbreakingly beautiful
    Thank you for sharing
    Pax vobiscum my dear friends
    both you and dear Cherie

    Like

  7. Beautiful tribute – choked me up. I’m looking at our Magpie through the office window – she’s yowling with the chickens as they squawk about their eggs – and looking forward to many, many years of paseos ahead of us.

    Like

  8. associatedluke says:

    Touching and beautiful

    Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    Lovely tribute and good memories. My last dog made sure she had her walk and dinner before her time came. Thinking of it always makes me smile.

    Like

  10. Very poignant. My sympathy for your loss of a good friend.

    Like

  11. So sad and so beautiful Bill. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  12. ain't for city gals says:

    What a wonderful life Ginny had! I think I am kind of modeling my own life in this direction….

    Like

  13. FeyGirl says:

    What a sweet one… How loved she looks! And a perfect way to leave this plane.

    Like

Leave a Reply

