Bianca and Kids

Our goat Bianca is shy. She’ll run over to me and quickly check to see if I have a treat for her, then dash away as if she’s afraid of me. She’ll eat out of my hand if I offer her something, but she won’t linger for any ear-scratching.

Her mother behaved the same way. While most of the goats beg for attention, she would keep her distance, coming to get any treat I offered, but then quickly retreating out of reach. I have no idea why she did that. But she must have passed it on to her daughters Bianca and Jade, because they both act that way too.

And now Bianca’s pretty kids won’t let me touch them. Because Mom keeps her distance from me, so do they.

Bianca and kids, keeping their distance.

Bianca and kids, keeping their distance.

We’ve had goats change their attitudes toward us dramatically over their lifetime. Some of our tamest goats were once shy and skittish.

I’m giving Bianca’s kids (both does) to a neighbor who is building up his herd, so I won’t get a chance to tame them myself.  But that’s OK, as we still have work to do with Bianca.

13 comments on “Bianca and Kids

  1. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    She who runs away lives to run another day?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      An instinct that probably serves goats well in nature. But I’ve never given this one any reason to fear me, and most of her fellow goats crowd around me for attention.

      Like

      • Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

        The flight instinct is probably just strong in Bianca, even though she has never had to live in fear. Just as some people suffer from anxiety, so, I expect, do some goats.

        Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, glad to see you are back to normal programing. Yesterday was certainly eye opening and disappointing for sure. No wonder our country is in financial trouble. They spend millions of dollars like I spend dollars. How long can the American people continue to be taxed on an ever increasing level. Some say that if we add up all the taxes that we pay directly and those that are hidden in the products we buy, half of our income is to pay taxes. It’s hard to imagine that for 137 years our country had no Income tax. It was established in 1913. My state of Nebraska had no state tax up until 1968. In the span of 100 years we have gone from no taxes to being taxed at every turn. It’s sad to see our country that was so strong and vibrant drowning in debt.

    Just as we can see traits in children that come from parents, so it is apparently with animals as well. I’m glad to see that your goats are doing well. After the rough start last spring, the survivors seem to be growing into some fine looking goats. Is there a big demand for goats in your area? I don’t really know of anyone here in Nebraska that has goats. There’s hardly any thing other than cattle and hogs. On occasion one might find a small herd of sheep but goats are not some thing in demand here. There not unheard of but just not some thing that would be a profitable business. May all the goats that you sell bring a good and sizable income to White Flint Farm.

    Have a great goat taming day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There is a lot of demand for goats in the U.S. In fact, the U.S. imports goat because domestic supply can’t meet demand. There’s not much money to be made but on farms like ours we aim to have multiple small income streams (as opposed to a single cash crop) in the hope that they add up to enough.

      Like

  3. Sue says:

    Perhaps they are like people—some are outgoing, others shy and introverted.
    Have a great day

    Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    strong family resemblance

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    That can happen with human parents and children, too. My mother tended to be fearful of the world, and some of that passed on to me, until I had enough experiences of my own to conclude that fearfulness wasn’t always a necessary response.

    It may be best for the kids to go on to another home, where they won’t have Bianca to model shy behavior for them. And maybe she’ll change over time. It would be nice if she did — but even so, she’s still smart enough to come for those treats.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They do imitate their mothers. We’ve had shy kids of very tame mothers and vice versa, but most of the time they learn their behavior from their mothers. Bianca’s mother was a tough nut to crack, but one day she risked coming over for a treat and after that she was always friendly and tame. I’ve never had a goat stay this way her entire life, so likely Bianca won’t either.

      Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    As I was browsing through goat rental stories, I thought of your herd. Did you see that many airports and other places now rent goats to get their grasses cleaned off? They had them here at Ohare, most recent at Portland: http://www.usatoday.com/story/todayinthesky/2015/04/20/portland-airport-goats/26073683/

    Like

Leave a Reply

