Get off the gate

It’s OK to sit on the gate for a while, but at some point you have to take wing, move on and get to work.

IMG_7345

18 comments on “Get off the gate

  1. smcasson says:

    I had a neighbor tell me that one time he had a wild turkey tom roost on his chicken run gate. It was late when he went to shut the coop door, and he picked that sucker up, set him on the fence, and went in and shut his coop door. Poultry don’t like moving after bedding down. Seems unbelievable but he swears it was true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ain’t that the truth! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    🙂 Yeah, that bejeweled scarecrow would make me jump of the fence real fast.

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    Work Work—there’s bugs to catch! Ha!!

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Reminds me of the mugwumps — the politicians of a bygone era who’d sit with their mugs on one side of the fence, and their wumps on the other.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m sure you meant no offense, but I don’t think our chickens would take kindly to being compared to politicians, of any era. 🙂

      Like

  6. Bill, thanks for stopping by my personal blog. It’s always good to hear from a fellow blogger. Is that one of your chickens sitting there on the fence? Barnyard antics are fun to watch. Interaction of different species can be entertaining as well. Taking the time to sit and enjoy nature’s entertainment is almost a lost art. You seem to have re captured that enjoyment with goats, pigs, chickens, and baby deer. The country life just seems to fit you and Cherie. I know this year with the deer devastation makes for a disappointing frustrating time but even with all that there were some victories and harvests.

    I got a couple more fence posts planted today. Only three more posts to go. Tomorrow I’ll be putting the panels on the posts. It looks like I’m going to come up three short. I had enough but two years ago my front fence had a van accident that wiped out four panels. I had to completely rebuild that section of fence so now I’m down three panels. Hopefully my free source of fence panels will come through and I will be able to get the fence finished. I haven’t seen much deer activity in the garden lately so maybe they have moved on to greener pastures, so to speak.

    Have a great moving on day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah that’s one of our hens, moving on from a little break sitting on the gate.
      I shouldn’t have made my deer post sound so pitiful. We are losing a lot of production to them this year, but we’re still harvesting enough to meet our modest GEEP goal (I think). We’ll be picking for market today and I expect we’ll have plenty to take. And besides, mistakes are opportunities to learn. I spent most of the day yesterday working on deer protection. But that doesn’t leave much time for farming.

      Like

  7. ain't for city gals says:

    That is what I love about the book The Power of Now…..the main concept is it is ok to stay on the gate but if you want something different figure it out and do something to get you there. Kind of like one of your earlier post as in DO SOMETHING. On your last post I am always suggesting to my husband to work smarter….you have to as the years become less numerous. My husband always says he builds houses that will be standing after 100 years….a few years ago I suggested we could do 50 years….

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy work and find good work fulfilling. I probably need to spend more time sitting on the gate. Right now I want to find ways to work smarter so I’m not wasting the work I do. 🙂 In farming you can learn from your mistakes but you usually have to wait a year to try it again. There are only so many opportunities to try again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

