Worth It

I spent much of yesterday pulling weeds in the heat and humidity. It seems impossible to keep up this time of year and I could easily bemoan that, as I so often do.

But even as weeds and wildlife overrun some of our crops, we’re bringing in abundant harvests that keep our tables full at the market and our coffers stocked generously for the winter. And we’re eating like homesteader royalty.

Last night Cherie made a vegetarian cabbage lasagna, using the last of this years cabbage along with the squash and zucchini that’s coming in now. It was amazing. And it wasn’t really a special treat. Fortunately for us it was just a typical everyday kind of meal, the kind that happens when you grow your own food.

So no doubt today will find me again sweating in gardens, doing my best to defeat all the forces that want to claim the gardens for themselves. And when I take my meal breaks, I’ll be reminded of why it’s worth the effort.

21 comments on “Worth It

  1. Joanna says:

    The food is definitely the best part 😀 Waiting for our first tomatoes to turn now and then the tomato glut will begin. Yay! Our courgettes (zucchini) are just starting now, they seem to be a bit slow at the moment, but I know that will change very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! Such a treasure you eat your own grown produce!
    Have a wonderful and happy day Bill. It’s freezing here today.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  3. Woody says:

    We’ve had so much rain that it was nearly impossible to get into the garden for weeding. Sinking up to my ankles is not good for spirits or soil. The last two and a half days have been rain free but oppressively hot. The mornings are prime for some work till the horsefly start to bite. Very early this year for them to run me out of the patch.

    Finally starting to get a steady run of tomato and green beans. Our beet crop was excellent as are most of the greens. Bumper crop of peaches this year!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s always something, isn’t it? We’ve had showers every day lately, which causes the weeds to grow extra fast and prevents me from cultivating with the tractor. But we just do the best we can and keep on getting after it. We’ve having a great squash/zucchini year and the tomatoes that we saved from the deer are starting to arrive. For us it’s always a win-some lose-some situation, but the winners end up keeping us well fed. Hoping the rest of the summer treats you well.

      Like

  4. Sue says:

    Amen!!

    (’nuff said!!)
    😀

    Like

  5. avwalters says:

    Yesterday’s stew included our first harvest from the garden–zucchini and hot yellow wax peppers. We’re pretty far north, so it comes late. I only hope that our long days make up for the short season–because there are a lot of plants out there and the race is on! Congrats on good eating and the bounty of the earth.

    Like

  6. ain't for city gals says:

    We only grow a small amount of our own food but this year we made a commitment to eat strictly from the farmers market except milk…we have our own venison and we buy two sheep a year. The meals I make are incredible …if I have to say so myself!! I going to try that cabbage lasagna …sounds yummy!…though I will probably add a bit of ground venison.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      What you’re doing is great! That’s what we’d do if we weren’t growing our own food (and what we’ll probably do if and when we take our year off someday). The vegetarian cabbage lasagna was new. Cherie (who is vegetarian) has been making me cabbage lasagna with venison for a while now and it is amazingly good. She decided to try to make a version we could both eat and it too was a hit (although I prefer it with venison).

      Like

  7. daphnegould says:

    I guess that is the advantage of having a small garden. I can (sometimes) keep up with the weeding. I feel in control of it right now, but next week might be another matter. And your cabbage lasagna sounds delicious. I’d heard of a zucchini lasagna before, but never a cabbage one.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We had an abundance of cabbage and Cherie found it while trying to figure out what to do with it all. As for the weeds, I’m becoming persuaded that I’m trying to grow too many large gardens. I want to start converting to more raised beds, in part because they’re so much easier to weed.

      Like

  8. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, welcome back home. It’s good to get away once in a while but for me there’s no place like home. Wow, you had a great view from your campsite. I was at Terra Nova Gardens at 5:45am pulling weeds and mulching. I’ve lost control in certain areas and am in the mode of reclamation. The bind weed has gone rogue and covered entire sections of the wooden fence. Unbelievable growth has made it difficult to keep up. It’s a bit embarrassing but I’m hoping to move forward with a couple hours work every day and have it back under control soon. The rain cycle was just too much this year. Now we are into the heat cycle with the heat index 110. It’s brutal and the plants need water every day to keep from wilting. At least the deer are leaving most of the plants alone. Too hot to come out of the woods, I guess. I’m glad to see your garden producing enough to keep your section of the market full.

    Have a great worth it day on the homestead.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Weeds have completely overrun my sweet potato garden and most of my cantaloupe garden. I see now how I could have prevented that so hopefully I’ll learn from the mistake and do better next year. I don’t know if the sweet potatoes are going to grow under all that mess or not–but I do know that they won’t grow as well as they would’ve if I’d kept the weeds under control until they vined out. Ditto the cantaloupes. Oh well, live and learn.

      My days are longer than ever now that I have to do deer patrol at dusk. That too is a hard lesson learned but hopefully it will pay dividends in the future.

      Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    Sounds like a good day in the office to me. No middleman 🙂

    Like

  10. With all the advantages of the Internet, unfortunately there’s still no way to use it to send us portions of that vegetarian cabbage lasagna. Too bad.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s easier to travel with you to New Zealand via your photographs than it is for me to share the taste of that dish. But either way, not a substitute for the real thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

