Back From the Goose

Both tired and recharged, we’re back from the Wild Goose Festival, facing a very busy week on the farm. I was already behind when we left, and nature did not wait for me to return. Four days away in the heart of the summer has left me plenty of work to do.

And I’m happy to have it to do. I’m off to a slow start this morning, but after I finish my coffee I’m ready to pitch into it.

IMG_7271

Our presentation was well-attended and well-received. I take that as further evidence that people are hungry for the message we’re trying to spread.

The view from our campsite

The view from our campsite

A misty morning on the French Broad River

A misty morning on the French Broad River

IMG_7273

IMG_7266

It was a inspiring weekend, leaving me lots upon which to reflect, now that we have returned to the place that is our place.

13 comments on “Back From the Goose

  1. shoreacres says:

    I never even thought about the connection, but while you were off camping, I was posting about camping. My title (“Camping Out By the River Called Time”) could even have used your photo.

    The irony is that neither of us needs camp these days to get into the great outdoors, although for you it certainly provided some other benefits. I’m looking forward to hearing about it.

    Here’s a little story to amuse you, and confirm one of your oft-made points. Since early May, I’ve been eating home-grown strawberries, fresh from a farm. Now, their season is over, and I really wanted some strawberries for a fruit salad. So, I picked up some Driscoll’s strawberries from the grocery.

    When I began cleaning them, I did what any reasonable person would do, and popped one in my mouth. “What?” I thought. I tried another. It wasn’t right. Once I had them all cleaned and sugared, I tried them again. I swear to you they tasted like chemicals. I don’t know what the deal was, but I’ve never tasted a strawberry like that in my life. They tasted so much like chemicals, I was afraid to eat any more. They got tossed, and I sliced a cantaloupe.

    See? Get the real thing into the mouths of people, and they’ll begin to understand the difference between organic and factory food.

    I am going to pick up a carton of Driscoll’s organic strawberries, just out of curiosity. If my hunch is right, they should taste fine. If they don’t? Well, maybe my taster is out of whack. But I don’t think it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • BeeHappee says:

      Last weekend kids and I were picking last tiny sweet strawberries in the fields and they were popping them into their mouths, berries still very hot in the midday sun, they kept shouting, more more, and my girl said: These are the best berries I ever had. I was spoiled as a kid, eating only our own grown, and when in my 20s came to USA and tried some of the store strawberries, my parents and I looked at each other, and said, how can they sell this Styrofoam as strawberries. I often wondered that perhaps it takes more work and effort to “take out” all the flavor out of food than to just the food be.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’m looking forward to reading your post Linda, as soon as I get caught up.

      Strawberries are one of the worst chemical offenders. As much as I like them, I advise people not to eat them unless you can verify that they were raised organically. And if you know what good freshly picked strawberries taste like (as you do), then you know what at poor substitute the industrial berries are.

      I think you spot on about the value of just getting people to try good food. I often tell folks that if none of the other reasons for eating good food resonate with you, taste alone is enough to make the case.

      Like

  2. Ann Wood says:

    I love the pictured Wendell Berry statement especially the way it ends…’what we need is here”! Each time I read that truth it sinks soul deep and rest within. Bill and Cherie, so thankful for your journey thus far connecting life lived fully centered on sustainable food with God’s original provision as a foundation and with man faithfully tending this earth bound nursery. God bless the rest of your summer…in every way! Love you guys…love wins!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks for your kind words Ann. I hope y’all are being blessed by summer as well. We had a large enthusiastic audience for our talk Sunday morning. People are hungry for this message. What we need is here. 🙂

      Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Best of luck, Bill, hope crazy stormy weather we are having does not reach you.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Bee. It was a little stormy last night, but nothing too damaging. But it was hot and very humid, which is typical of summer in Virginia.

      Like

  4. barnraised says:

    What fun. Looks like a gorgeous place! And welcome back!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It is a beautiful location and we were fortunate to have a great spot right on the river, thanks to friends of ours who arrived a day earlier and held it for us. It was a good time, but it does feel good to be home and back into our routine.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. EllaDee says:

    It’s nice to be away, see new places and people but all roads lead home where the comfort… and our work and lives are. I did love the photo of the river you Instagrammed. Camping and festivals are back to the basics fun but the real world has its pleasures as well.

    Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Welcome home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

