Look Up

I spend many hours of each day staring down at the ground this time of year. That’s where the weeds are. That’s where the bugs are. That’s where the gardens are.

There’s a lot to be seen looking down.

But it’s good to stop and look up sometimes too.

IMG_7238

24 comments on “Look Up

  1. Joanna says:

    I know that feeling and a friend of mine reminded me of that when I was living in Colorado and saw only browned off vegetation after the parched summers. It was always then refreshing to look up.

    Like

  2. Bob Braxton says:

    where
    the weeds are
    someone waits for me

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, such an analogy of life are in the words you wrote. I know that I get so enthralled with the weeds and bugs of life, I forget to look up and rejoice. I’m getting better at not letting the distractions of life ruin my enjoyment of life. What a great homestead you have. Your pictures always make me just a little bit envious. I’m still battling with the …. deer. They nibbled my pumpkins down to the ground so no pumpkins from me this year. My fellow gardener that gardens at Terra Nova Gardens had a plan for his pumpkins that seems to be working. The derelict property to the south of Terra Nova Gardens grows up in head high weeds with thick intertwined foliage. He cleared out round circles in the midst of this mess and planted pumpkins. Apparently the thick weeds and matted foliage keeps the deer and other animals away from the plants because they are thriving wonderfully well.

    Have a great looking up day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Two days ago I went out to our winter squash garden to discover that deer had eaten and destroyed almost all of our butternut and spaghetti squash. That was a sickening punch in the gut. The night before they polished off my late tomato crop. I don’t think we can be viable under these conditions. As you know, they’ve already ruined our early tomatoes. I estimate we lost 90% of them. Pretty discouraging. Today the game warden came out to see the damage. He said it was as bad as any he’s seen and issued me a out of season kill permit. I hate to do but I’ve tried every nonlethal option I can think of.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    We’ve moved into what I like to call the sunset season. A combination of rising heat and humidity means we develop wonderful clouds, and if all goes well, we get wonderful building clouds in the afternoon and lovely color at sunset.

    I really like the shape of this cloud, and the way it seems to follow the curve of the trees.

    Like

  5. smcasson says:

    Great picture and a better message. It’s apropos for me today – I was gettin’ a little stressed out last night… Thanks Bill.

    Like

  6. Laura says:

    Beautiful! Would be a shame to not take the time to notice it

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Absolutely. There are times of the year when I look at the sky a lot. And there are times when I seem to spend all day staring down. It’s good to look up occasionally on those kind of days.

      Like

  7. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Yes, yes! I tend to look down, too, because I am interested in small things. But, oh, the sky.

    Like

  8. BeeHappee says:

    Bill, you reminded me when I wrote the Remember to look up: https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com/2015/04/04/remember-to-look-up/ šŸ™‚
    I keep reminding myself more often to look around, look through, and look up. The wider the perspective, the happier.
    That is a great picture. Even when you cannot literately look up, you can still “look up”.
    Are you guys in VA going to the Food Freedom fest in August in Shenandoah Valley?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They’re beautiful Bee–your poem and the cathedral.

      We can’t get away to go to it, but it’s a good cause and would be fun. We’re going to the Wild Goose Festival this weekend and that is our only weekend away from the farm all year usually.

      Like

      • BeeHappee says:

        I looked up the Wild Goose Festival, looks like fun and a hippie place. You can even get tattoos. šŸ™‚ Have fun guys. We are going to check out goulash festival and eat bottomless goulash.
        And I remember people warning you about that beautiful deer you were raising with your goats.

        Like

  9. daphnegould says:

    What a lovely photo. When I look up I see the neighbors’ houses. Sometimes I can see a pretty sunset between them. Not the sun itself, but the pretty clouds. I’m always amazed at how well my mind can filter out the houses in those moments.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We have plenty of wide open spaces now, but for many years our views at home were like yours. And I used to see pretty sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico on most nights of the year. But that was because I saw them from my office and I was working late. As Cherie likes to see, we have to bloom where we’re planted.

      Like

  10. Sue says:

    Terrific clouds.
    How often we forget to look all around. We become too focused….though with your line of work, I imagine that’s important.
    Hubby and I saw the most amazing sky one morning in a parking lot in Iowa—it had stormed the night before (and would storm again later, as it does in Iowa!), but the brilliant pinks and purples were unlike any I had ever seen. Of the half dozen people in that lot, I doubt even one noticed. There was a lot of staring at phones. So sad!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve seen things like that too–some amazing gift of nature and no one seems to pay any attention to it.

      It is important of course to pay attention to what we’re doing and to be focused on it. But it’s also good to relax and take in the totality of our surroundings. I feel like I’ve been staring at the ground too much lately, but that’s because there is so much important work to do down there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

