Approaching the Finish Line

My Organic Wesley book and video projects are coming along nicely. With the book, we’re in an advanced stage of the copy editing. Seeing the manuscript start to look like an actual book is gratifying, and, strangely, a bit unsettling. And a few days ago I saw the rough cuts of the videos for the first time. Despite my misgivings, they actually came out pretty well.

The publisher hasn’t given me a release date and of course there is still a lot to be done. In addition to finishing the book’s editing process and doing the final production on the videos, a cover design hasn’t been done yet, and if there is going to be a foreward, that still needs to be worked out. But the finish line is fast approaching. And then comes the ultimate question–will anyone read it?

Some will, I’m sure. But of course I know there aren’t a huge number of people likely to have an interest in both John Wesley and the food movement. Among those who do, my hope is that they’ll find merit in the work.

We’ll see.

14 comments on “Approaching the Finish Line

  1. Exciting times.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  2. Bob Braxton says:

    my paternal great-grandfather (1854-1920) got the “John Wesley” name.

    Like

  3. DM says:

    That is exciting!!! At this point, is the rest of the editing/ cover design, etc. in someone elses’s hands or are there still things you have to do?.I’m guessing you may be writing the forward? Who is your publisher, if you don’t mind me asking? I have a book manuscript myself that is just about ready to submit for publication and did just a little looking on line for someone to print it…technology has changed so much since the last one i had done in 2006

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Lately my role has been just to respond to questions from the copy editors. I’ve offered a suggestion for the cover design, but I think the publisher (Seedbed Publishing) has the final say on things like that. Seedbed is a Wesleyan publishing house, perfect for this book (and they’ve been very supportive and encouraging). If you’re thinking of self publishing, take a look at Amazon’s Create Space. Cherie used it for the cookbook she just published and found it to be user friendly and very economical. There are probably plenty of other options too. Self-publishing is much easier now.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aggie says:

    With fond memories of a devout Methodist childhood, I am happy to hear of this topic and this book. Best wishes for your success.

    Like

  5. rhondajean says:

    I understand your apprehension, Bill. I wish you all the best with the book.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Rhonda. I want it to be good enough to keep open the possibility of writing another one someday. There are several veteran authors who are readers of the blog (including you of course). That fact makes me smile.

      Like

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    God grant me the serenity…
    To do what I can
    Know what I can’t
    And the strength to cut the rest loose; )

    You’ll do fine – as Mom always said – as long as you’ve done your best, that’s all that matters…

    Like

  7. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Best wishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

