PIPE dream

Not a Pipe

For a while now, whenever I started fretting about something not going exactly right on the farm, or if I started to get anxious about the amount of work to be done, Cherie would gently say, “Remember, all we’re trying to do is grow our own food and pay our bills.”

Over time that become a sort of motto for us: Grow our Food, Pay our Bills.

The point being that our objectives here are modest. We’re not out to achieve anything grand. As long as we grow our own food and keep our bills paid, we’re successful.

Eventually two more things were added to the “mission statement”: Educate the Public, Enjoy Life. It evolved into the acronym GPEE, which we chose to pronounce “GEEP.” Whenever one of us said something that suggested we were worrying about something too much, the other would respond, “Geep.”

But lately Cherie has come up with a better acronym.  She rearranged the four elements of our mission statement/motto into:

Produce our own food
Inform the public
Pay our bills
Enjoy Life

PIPE

And we call living this way our PIPE dream.

38 comments on “PIPE dream

  1. Love that you added Educate the Public!
    Have a beautiful farm day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Mandy. I wouldn’t say it was something we set out to do, but we’ve come to realize that it is important to us and has been fundamental to what we’re doing here.

      Like

  2. Aggie says:

    As part of a couple who is attempting exactly what you describe (but not yet successful), I love your acronyms. Personally I like GEEP. because I can visualize the logo with the little bird and Lou and I making bird calls and laughing. Thanks for the smiles.

    Like

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    That is #1 a great plan, and #2 a great acronym. 🙂

    Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    compost:
    Public Educate Enjoy Life
    P E E L
    Educate the Public, Enjoy Life. It evolved into the acronym GPEE, which we chose to pronounce “GEEP.”

    Like

  5. BeeHappee says:

    As I was starting to read this post, I though it was about how Cherie got a new pipe for you. And I was right! 🙂

    It sounds like it is not just a PIPE dream, but a PIPE reality. Following your posts for a while, I could tell that “Educate the public” was one of your top goals. Thank you for that!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this … everyone should have such a pipe dream …

    Like

  7. farmerkhaiti says:

    You guys…..hahaha.

    Like

  8. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I like it. Pipe dream that is. We all have thoughts and dreams about what we want life to be. I’m in a season of life where the dreams of youth are long gone and the reality has hit that maybe they weren’t such good dreams to reach. Pipe dreams for me changed along the pathway of life and now I feel that I have reached the true pipe dream that was always there but I just couldn’t see it.

    You and Cherie have chosen a path that is difficult to follow at times but is, as BeeHappee says, your pipe dream becoming a reality. It has not been without sacrifice nor without struggles. Sometimes in the midst of deer eating the tomatoes, the focus can be lost, so to have an acronym to remind you of the purpose of it all is an awesome idea. You both are amazing people struggling through the quagmire of false information presented by government and big business. My admiration for you and Cherie increases every time you write about being recognized or invited to speak about your passions.

    Life is indeed about having enough to live comfortably but not too much to side track passions in life. A German philosopher one said, “if we are what we have, then who are we if what we have is taken.” Pipe dreams should be about what You and Cherie are doing. It’s not about stuff but stuff can be used to reach the truth as farmer markets open the doors to educate folks.

    Have a great pipe dream day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The loss of this year’s tomatoes is exactly one of the events that make it important to stay focused on our mission. Yes I’m very seriously annoyed at that and yes it cost us money and time. But we’re going to raise lots more food than we can possibly eat, we’ll be able to pay our bills, we’ll keep on working to educate others and we’ll enjoy life (as long as I don’t let things like tomato-eating deer steal my joy). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. avwalters says:

    I love the plan. It would ruin the acronym, but I endorse moving “Enjoy Life” to the number one spot. It’s like loving yourself enough to actually be able to love others–as you’re no good to them if you aren’t whole. (That’s why you put the mask on yourself first, in the airplane.) If you’re clearly enjoying yourself, others will see the example–and follow, not because it’s the right thing to do, but because it obviously looks like a damn good time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bill says:

      We didn’t even have “enjoy life” as part of it initially. That was just a given. But I don’t want us to lose sight of that component and I agree that it should be a priority. We’ve learned (and continue to learn daily) that the more sustainably we live, the more we enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. avwalters says:

    EPIP. Not so bad.

    Like

  11. ain't for city gals says:

    I think my husband and I are in the same exact place as you two…I would say we are not educating the public but I hope we have a small input with the 30 year olds (nieces and nephews) in our lives and all the little ones coming up…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As AV says in her comment, when people see you enjoying life by living simply, some will try it themselves. Educating by example. We learned that way (and are continuing to learn) and we like to think we teach that way too.

      Like

  12. I like GEEP too, because it reminds me of “cheep” which reminds me of chicks, symbols of spring, hope, and possibility (at least in my own mind). I get the humour of PIPE dream too, though.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Both are somewhat whimsical (I like the chicks image a lot), but I do like the contrast of our PIPE dream to a conventional pipe dream. 🙂

      Like

  13. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    “Ceci n’est pas une pipe”
    http://www.renemagritte.org/the-treachery-of-images.jsp
    To say that the image of a pipe is not actually a pipe; is as to say that your Pipe Dream is not actually a dream, but in fact become reality; )
    Excellent, mes chers!
    Whether tis by your intent
    or only happy accident;
    these posts do twist an’ turn my brain…
    it be encouraged to perform
    upon an e’er higher plane!
    Merci beaucoup!

    Liked by 2 people

    • avwalters says:

      And thank you Deb, for bringing in Art. Sadly, it is often forgotten by the wayside in the sustainable crowd but it does crystalize truth in ways that take much longer without it.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Mais non, de rien!
        Seriously, think nothing of it! (It was Bill’s reference to René Magritte’s “When is a PIPE, not a pipe?”, after all… ; )

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Bill says:

    De rien et merci. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Zambian Lady says:

    PIPE dream is good, especially when you work hard and it that dream comes to fruition – as I believe it is happening for you.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It is true that we put in our time to get to this point. I’ve learned so much over the last few years that I wish I’d known when I was younger. But I am very glad I we took the radical leap of faith.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    This has me thinking about how I can help my husband during the moments when he is feeling dragged down by our challenges…I think a good mission statement is needed. Thank you Bill and Cherie for the inspiration!

    Like

  17. EllaDee says:

    Me, thinking of the G.O. endless quest for quality tobacco (as well as the other endless quest to decrease his consumption) immediately jumped to the conclusion you were thinking of a new crop!
    Given our recent discussion on peacemaking and your upcoming Wild Goose talk – are they peace pipe dreams?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I grew up working on a tobacco farm and am surrounded by them now. I often think of adding new crops, but that won’t be one. 🙂

      We’re going to talk about sustainable living as a means of peacemaking. I’m convinced that is an attainable PIPE dream, not a pipe dream. 🙂

      Like

  18. I have a mission statement, as well; however, it’s much longer. Yours is pure genius – I actually like both of them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

