Privileged Moments

“I recently spent the evening with friends on this enchanting bayou. The entire experience was a reminder that time is fleeting, that people enter and depart one’s life as inconspicuously as the bayou ebbs and flows against the shore. Normally, I’m one of those people who is unaware of life while I’m living it. Does this unawareness mean that I am not completely alive in the moment, and thus missing some part of the experience?

Or does it mean the opposite – that I am unaware of it precisely because I exist fully in the moment?

I can never tell because sometimes when I am aware of how privileged a moment is, it becomes tinged with sadness because I know that it will end. And other times I am unaware of a perfect moment until I am looking back on it and wondering if I savored it enough while it was happening.

I suppose, like anything else in life, awareness is bittersweet. As the evening unfolded, friends told me that they were moving away. I was made aware that this may be the last time I ever saw them, so I was able to appreciate the moment. Yet, I knew the evening was finite, so my appreciation was shrouded in regret.

Everything is finite. Except maybe sometimes it’s not.”

Stacy Allbritton

These beautiful sentences are taken from a post featuring equally beautiful photos from Louisiana’s Bayou DeSiard. Go check it out HERE.

16 comments on “Privileged Moments

  1. Thanks for the recommendation, Bill. I went over, read Stacy’s blog, and hit the follow button. –Curt

    Like

  2. avwalters says:

    I guess that the short answer to this conundrum is that, if you can remember a perfect moment in looking back, at some level, you appreciated it enough to have it there to look back to.

    Like

  3. Wow, this is exactly the way I feel, except she perfectly put it into words. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  4. ain't for city gals says:

    oh my….I have perfect moments and there is never any regrets. I don’t believe things are finite….they go on and on in our hearts and the hearts of those we love. The one perfect moment I remember the most is when my husband and I were camping….we were sitting around the fire and I thought to myself if this were to be my last night on earth I would have no regrets….that was 20 years ago and I remember it like it was yesterday.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t have it so bad now, but back when I was commuting I always felt that the perfect moments on the farm were tinged with sadness and regret, because I knew they wouldn’t last. It’s a blessing if you don’t feel that kind of regret at the loss of the perfect moments. I used to wish I could bottle them, then open the bottle when I was feeling a lot of stress.

      I do have some memories like yours. A couple stick out in my mind. In both cases I remember feeling a great sense of satisfaction and a complete absence of stress. Stress was a constant companion in my old life.

      Like

      • Stacy says:

        I wish I could bottle them up and carry them along, too, Bill. Like a deposit in a bank – something to withdraw when you most need it. Perhaps that’s what memories are. xo

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Stacy says:

    Thank you, Bill, for re-posting my words. I’m quite flattered, to be honest with you. I always question myself, my words, if I have adequately expressed the thoughts that are bouncing around (and colliding with each other) in my head. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

