A Happy Ending, Twice

Yesterday afternoon I was clearing the fence line in a distant part of the pasture when I discovered a fawn tangled in the fence.

IMG_7104

The poor thing was panicked and crying for her mother, who was trotting around nervously nearby.  I expect it was my presence that had caused her to run into the fence.

After I calmed her down, I was able to untangle her and she seemed no worse for the wear.  She agreed to a selfie before dashing off into the woods to find her mother.

IMG_7105

Feeling pleased about the happy ending, I continued on weedeating along the fence line. I could hardly believe it when, about 100 yards away and on a different section of the fence, there she was again.

IMG_7108

I suppose it could have been a second fawn, which would also be remarkable.  In any event, I freed her (again), requested and obtained another selfie, and sent her on her way.

IMG_7109

IMG_7110

IMG_7111

Hopefully she’s learned to be careful around the fence.

42 comments on “A Happy Ending, Twice

  1. Aww, poor little thing. Such a cutiepie(s).
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joelwitwer says:

    Bill, this is fantastic!

    Like

  3. avwalters says:

    Damn, they are cute when they are little.

    Last evening, as the crew was installing the last of the high section rafters, we looked out over the valley. There, catching the last rays of sunshine in a clearing, stood a beautiful doe–in full summer color. Maybe it was another fence learning story, as she was standing only a stone’s throw from the new, improved garden fence. Then, she was gone (but not into the garden.)

    Like

  4. Glad to see this story had a happy ending, it must of felt pretty good saving that little animal twice with her mom near by.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It did feel good. I certainly didn’t expect to have it happen twice. I was worried she might have broken a leg. Glad it all ended well.

      Like

  5. daphnegould says:

    She is so cute. I have trouble sometimes with the squirrels getting caught in the bird netting around my trees. They want the fruit so much that sometimes they just won’t stop trying until they get caught. Getting them out is always hard. At least after they do it once they seem to learn. I’m sure having me help them out is very traumatic. I do hope your little fawn has learned.

    Like

  6. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Hope the little darling has learned to stay away from that fence! Another lovely story, Bill, and a wonderful example of how when we can do something good, we should do something good.

    Like

  7. nebraskadave says:

    And still Bill, a true homesteader, after the deer decimation last year has the heart to return a future garden muncher to her Mama. Dang, I’d probably do the same thing even after they ate all my strawberries. They are just being the best deer they know how to be. They’re living life the way they were designed to do before mankind invaded their territory. That’s what I try to keep in mind when animals eat my stuff. They were there first and I’m the one that’s invading their land. I just wish they weren’t so greedy and eat it all. 😦

    We have gentle rain here again so no gardening today or possibly tomorrow. It doesn’t look like any weather threats to my gardens but the flash flood warnings are out for the flood plain areas. My city has several rivers that come together and dump into the Missouri river so when heavy rains happen up river, it all comes together here. The Plate and Elhorn rivers can and do rise and fall three or four feet in a matter of minutes. I pray that you are getting the water You need in natural form without the help of drip watering. Nature’s water is the best.

    Have a great deer saving day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There are so many deer around here one more isn’t going to make any difference. Besides, she’s too young to be guilty of anything. 🙂

      We got another inch of rain a few days ago but with today’s 90 degree temps we’re drying out again. I’m irrigating as I type this. We’re off to a hot and dry start it seems

      Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    Where I most often see the learning curve in action here in town is with the squirrels. The babies have been out and about for about a month now, and you see people all over town hitting the brakes as yet another one makes the mad dash across the street, right in front of a car. The old ones know. They’ll come to a curb, stop, raise up on their haunches and look both ways — just like my mother told me to do!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Bill says:

      Squirrels do crazy things in the road. I’ve decided there’s no point in swerving or braking. When I swerve, they do too. So I just drive on and hope for the best.

      Like

  9. Farmgirl says:

    This sure brought a smile to my face this morning!

    Like

  10. You aren’t a Disney Princess until birds land on your finger Bill. But you are getting close my friend. 😉

    Like

  11. I can’t even imagine what the odds on that happening (twice!) would be!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s crazy. It seems very unlikely that two fawns would do the same thing so close together (I’ve never seen it happen before) but it also seems crazy that the fawn I released would run into the woods, then go across the pasture and (for a second time) try to crawl through the woven wire and get stuck.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Almost without fail the doe that lives in the woods nearby and grazes in the field, has twins. Very common, so it may well have been two … hope they stay safe.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our deer often have twins too, but singles are the norm. I see plenty of fawns this time of year, but I’ve never found one stuck in the fence like that. I almost couldn’t believe it when it happened twice!

      Like

  13. EllaDee says:

    Another day at the office and one of the perks of your job, rescuing damsels in distress who repay your kindness with selfies 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Clearing beneath the fence is a job I don’t look forward to. It’s hot and loud and not much fun. Being able to rescue a fawn (twice) certainly made it more fun. 🙂

      Like

  14. I’ve been avoiding working down in our canyon for a month in hopes that the fawns will get big enough to start following moms around. Great job, Bill. And photos. BTW, I can certainly understand why animals panic around weed whackers. I almost do. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We have to be careful around here this time of year. The moms will park them in some dangerous spots sometimes. I’m not sure my weed eater caused her to run into the fence, but it seems likely to me.

      Like

      • The noise alone would probably do it. I can’t put off the canyon much longer. Our grandkids are coming and I build trails through it for them… like Cody’s Bear Trail, and Ethan’s Hidden Spring Trail. 🙂 –Curt

        Liked by 1 person

  15. farmerkhaiti says:

    fawn selfies, nice!!!

    Like

  16. Proof that fawns will do anything to get in a selfie with you.

    Like

  17. barnraised says:

    Awww…wonderful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. hamertheframer says:

    Lovely! You’re a fortunate man to get so close to a quick wild spirit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

