A Day Spent with Seeds

This is the time of year on the farm when there just aren’t enough hours in the day, even though the sun is shining longer than at any other time of year. Nature is in overdrive, daring us to try to keep her pace.

Yesterday I never got to any of the long list of things I planned to do that day. After picking peas and broccoli for our deliveries, I ditched my plans and spent the rest of the day planting and replanting.

IMG_7010

It was a day spent with seeds.

Our beans are up nicely and now is the time to add more, so the maturity dates are staggered and we don’t end up with too many in at one time (or not enough in).  So I planted our October beans and more green beans.

Green bean seeds--our favorite, a flat bean called

Green bean seeds–our favorite, a flat bean called “Roma II”

The package says

The package says “dwarf horticultural beans” but here we call them October beans. I’m not sure why. These will be ready to harvest in August.

I decided to plow up the okra and start again.  By the time the seeds had finally begun to germinate (delayed by a month without rain), the competition from grass was too severe.  Rather than spend days trying to nurse spotty rows of okra, the situation called for a do-over.  That option is one of the great benefits of our long growing seasons. So I tilled the okra garden and replanted it.

Okra seeds

Okra seeds

Then I turned my attention to the cantaloupe garden.  It too got off to a rocky start and was in need of some TLC.  I planted more honeydew melons and pineapple melons, reseeded the gaps in the cantaloupe rows where the seeds hadn’t come up, then planted several more rows, to stagger their arrival later this summer. I’m looking forward to that first vine-ripened melon of the year.

Cantaloupe seed.  We plant Hale's Best--the best cantaloupe I've ever eaten.

Cantaloupe seed. We plant Hale’s Best–the best cantaloupe I’ve ever eaten.

I had hoped to rehab the watermelons and the summer squash, but ran of out time.  Just as I finished the cantaloupes, at supper time, we were given a nice soft shower.  It couldn’t have been timed better.

Now maybe today I’ll get to some of the things I had on yesterday’s list.

14 comments on “A Day Spent with Seeds

  1. Joanna says:

    That reminds me of last week when I planted pea seeds, just before I knew it was going to rain. I am so jealous of outdoor melons, even in the greenhouse ours are a bit hit and miss. Too short a season compared to yours

    Like

    • Bill says:

      One of the best things about our long growing seasons is the margin of error it gives me. I usually have at least one do-over every year.

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        I am experimenting with crops that can stand some frost, but it all depends on when the frosts come, if they come early we lose, but if they don’t we win 🙂

        Like

  2. avwalters says:

    Yes, it’s summer. Though you’re way ahead of us, I also had a day of seeds. We’re trying melons, cantaloupe and some fancy french ones. We don’t know if it will work–we do get some blistering heat mid-summer, so my fingers are crossed. It’s just a few plants though, a test to see what we can do here. Our beans are doing well–I’m teaching them to climb.

    Like

  3. bobraxton says:

    (YouTube): Suppertime – Jim Reeves

    Like

  4. daphnegould says:

    I love days planting seeds. They hold such promise.

    Like

  5. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m finished with the major part of planting but will continue to trickle plant the plant starts that were to be backup plants. I don’t have the heart to just ditch them into the compost pile. My giant pumpkins seeds sprouted this year so I’ll be planting them soon. The potential of having a really big pumpkin is in the seed but I’d be happy with a 100 pound pumpkin to haul home from Terra Nova Gardens and display in front of my house for fall decoration. So we’ll see how that turns out.

    I did have some nice looking strawberries but Bambi came last night and ate every single leaf off the strawberries and all the berries. Even the green berries were gone. I kind of figured that would happen and hope that the plants will survive. Next year they will be covered by chicken wire. It’s always something with gardening. That’s what keeps my attention and mind working. Yeah, and my beans need weeding as well.

    So have another wonderfully long day in the garden because market day is coming. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Oh dang. Sorry the deer got your strawberries. They bitten the tops out of some of my tomatoes lately but so far nothing major. They’re respecting the fences. But I go out every morning knowing that it’s possible we were wiped out overnight. They are the biggest problem we have, by far. Hoping they leave you alone from here on out.

      Like

  6. You really have some great pictures throughout your site. Would you mind if I used some of them on my blog(s) if I attribute you appropriately?

    Like

Leave a Reply

