Eating Without a Friend

Before you eat or drink anything, carefully consider with whom you eat or drink, rather than what you eat or drink, because eating without a friend is the life of the lion or the wolf.

Epicurus

h/t When Love Comes to Town

I would substitute “as well as” for “rather than,” but either way the point is made.

13 comments on “Eating Without a Friend

  1. bobraxton says:

    Mark 2:13-17

    Like

  2. ain't for city gals says:

    I like both…eating with friends and by myself.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah me too. We usually do lunch and breakfast on our own, but always have supper together. We have potlucks with friends at least once a month. Those are the best.

      Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I think I’ve mentioned here before about eating. I have had to teach many friends how to eat slowly and have conversation. Eating should be as much a social thing as it is a sustenance thing. A big bite, two chomps, and a slug of soda pop to wash it down is not eating. I do eat quite a bit alone but even then it takes awhile as the process of eating is not just gulping it down to stay alive. The whole process of cooking, eating, and cleanup is part of what I call slow life. Life should not be about fast pace and one minute goals. I gave up goals long ago and replaced them with plans.

    That’s not to say that I put in some long days. Today was up by 5am and at Terra Nova Gardens by 5:30am. Weeded all the raised beds. Took my neighbor to run some errands, had lunch with him, mowed an empty lot for the six bags of grass clippings for mulch, and watered all the non automated plants on my patio. However, my motto still stands. Work a little, rest a lot, and drink a lot. It hasn’t failed me yet. It’s the same with eating. Eat a little, talk a lot, and drink a lot. The key to a good life is good food and staying hydrated with good water.

    Have a great day eating with a friend.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Slow life indeed. The notion of taking the time to prepare a meal and enjoy it leisurely, preferably with friends or family, has become almost radical. It is no longer the norm. But there is resistance, represented by (among others) the “slow food” movement. Interesting that something traditional and the social norm for millennia, should now be countercultural.

      I spent a long day out in the gardens too. A good place to be. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Someone sent me the link to this documentary called Final Straw, and I thought of you. I wonder if you’d heard about it already. I haven’t seen the film, but it seems quite interesting.

    “A warm cast of natural farmers, chefs, and teachers together illuminate a brilliant yet maddeningly simple path to sustainability and well being for people and the environment, centered around the philosophies of Masanobu Fukuoka’s seminal book One Straw Revolution.” http://www.finalstraw.org/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    In Epicurus’ day it was most likely wise to keep a close eye upon those with whom one was not on “Friend”ly terms… ; )

    Like

  6. … And eat with a “gentile” occasionally. One of the rules that Jesus fellow broke all the time was eating with people of other faiths. It seems like a good parallel. Breaking bread and sharing the surplus with people outside our community naturally leads to a discussion of the how and why the things on the table came to be and are special. I often eat at my desk in an open cubicle at work and get questions daily about what I am eating. My neighbor is now eating salads and more locally grown produce two or three times a week instead of burgers. “Hide it under a bushel? No. I’m gonna let it shine” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

