Play Time

It looks like we're fixing to need a bigger trough.

It looks like we’re fixing to need a bigger trough.

I helped the pigs have a little fun yesterday.

IMG_6844

IMG_6845

I reckon this is the porcine equivalent of city kids playing in the spray from a fire hydrant.

***

Last night, like the other animals on White Flint, we slept outside.  Under a cool beautiful  star-filled sky we enjoyed the nightsounds, the lightning bugs and a good night’s rest.

After a cup of coffee (and a few minutes of my obligatory internet time) I’ll go back out to begin the new days work, assuring that I will sleep well again tonight. Under the stars.

29 comments on “Play Time

  1. Sue says:

    What incredible timing on this post. I was just wondering this morning if anyone ever saw lightning bugs anymore or not. I haven’t seen them in a couple of years. Thought maybe all the pesticide/herbicide spraying going on in the world had maybe finished them off. Glad to hear otherwise!

    I just LOVE those happy faces on your pigs. What a joy to see well cared for animals.
    Have a wonderful week

    Like

    • shoreacres says:

      There are plenty of lightning bugs here in Texas, too. In fact, they’ve been thicker this year than the past few years. I suspect the drought cut back their numbers for a time, but the drought is gone.

      Like

      • nebraskadave says:

        Boy is it ever gone. I suspect this is not what you had in mind when hoping the drought would end. Many thoughts and prayers headed to Texas for all the flood victims.

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        The river flooding in the hill country is truly terrible. Houston’s shut down this morning after up to 11″ of rain, but that’s bayou and street flooding, and by tonight most of it will have subsided. Well, at least the streets and freeway underpasses will be clear, apart from the still flooded-out cars driven by people who can’t quite believe driving into three feet of flowing water isn’t a good idea.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Seems to be a good year for lightning bugs here too.

        Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Sue. We do have happy pigs. 🙂

      It seems to me the lightning bugs are early this year. They’ve already been here a few weeks. Seems like we have more than usual this year too. They’re definitely one of the joys of summer.

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    I do wish it was practical to keep outdoor pigs here, they do look so happy.

    Do you not have nighttime biting bugs over there? We sleep in our caravan (trailer), mainly to stop the mosquitoes from biting, but there is always at least one that buzzes around about five minutes after dropping off.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The only specifically nighttime biting bug I can think of are mosquitoes. We sometimes have them but we haven’t seen any yet this year. We had no problem with them last night.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy pigs will have the best tasting pork. I am envious of you Bill, I am just counting down the days when I retire so I can raise our own hogs and be more like you 🙂

    Like

  4. BeeHappee says:

    Oh, good times, sleeping under the stars. Lightening bugs already out by you guys? My kids had been bugging me about them every day: when are they coming, when are they coming? 🙂

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    By any chance, have you read this?

    There’s nothing like outdoor sleeping. Not many people do it around here in the summer, thanks to mosquitos and humidity, but I have wonderful memories of sleeping porches, and cots pulled outdoors. Some of my native Texas friends from the Panhandle have memories of beds actually moved under trees for the summer. When it rained, they just pulled the bedding off and carried it indoors until the weather straightened out.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I had not read that, but Cherie may have as she was telling me recently that it used to be the norm to sleep a few hours, then wake up for a couple of hours before going back to sleep. Fascinating.

      We used to sometimes sleep on a pallet on the porch when I was growing up. Last night we had sleeping bags on an air mattress. I’ve slept in a tent lots of nights as an adult, but this was the first time in a very long time I’ve slept in the open at night. The sky was beautiful. The half moon had it bright as day out until it went down around midnight, freeing the starlight. I hadn’t heard the coyotes in a while, but they were loud and clear last night. Heard an owl too, along with whipporwills of course. And there were lots of lightning bugs.

      Like

  6. Rebecca says:

    My favorite is when the pigs bury their snouts in the mud and blow bubbles like rude kids with a straw and a glass of soda. No lightning bugs here, yet. The air is still thick with the scent of locusts blossoms and the mulberry trees have little green mulberries. I’ll pay special attention this year, thanks to you, but I think the ripe mulberries and the lightning bugs coincide.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m smiling thinking of the pigs doing that (ours do it too of course). 🙂
      It’s a good year for lightning bugs here. Hope you have yours soon.

      Like

  7. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    No lightening bugs yet in Maine, and it’s still too cool to sleep outside. In northern Maine, they actually got a few inches of snow the other day. Sleep tight!

    Like

  8. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, sleeping outdoors in the vastness of space is the most amazing thing for me. Bugs and mosquitoes don’t seem to like the taste of me. Yes, if they are thick enough, I can get a few bites but nothing serious. Not so far back in time and definitely in my generation, people didn’t have air conditioning especially on the farm. It was not uncommon to sleep outside or on a screened in porch to avoid the house heat from the day. I’m in the Spring mode with windows open at night even during rain (especially during rain) if the rain behaves itself and doesn’t blow in through the window. There’s nothing like the smell of fresh air and a bit of a breeze through the window. The nights and mornings must have been glorious for the early pioneers. Watching dawn break over the horizon is the best part of the day for me. It doesn’t get any better than waking up with Folger’s in my cup. 🙂

    Pigs are …. well …. pigs. Their philosophy in life is to be the best pig they can be. They seem to always find a way to celebrate life by having piggy fun. They really live in the moment whether it be busting out of confinement or having a water spray time. And of course they are driven by the thought of food always on their mind and they do know how to enjoy food, don’t they. Life seems to just be one big adventure for them. Hmmmm, maybe I should pay attention to how they live more and bust out of my confinement, run through water sprays, and enjoy eating. 😉

    Have a great out doors day after an outdoors sleeping night.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Last night I came in for a drink of water just before going to bed and our AC was running (we keep it set on 81). It was much cooler outside than in the house. As you say, that’s why folks used to like to sleep on the porch in the summer. I’m sure most folks who find that crazy these days (but not most readers of this blog of course). 🙂

      Like

  9. avwalters says:

    I cannot imagine sleeping outdoors–without a tent and protection from the bugs. We have blackflies. We have mosquitoes. Now, with climate change, we have Lyme-disease-carrying ticks. We have all manner of flying insects who’d like nothing better than to take a chomp of us. Right now, we’re so eager to be sleeping indoors, in a home of our own, that it will be a while before we long for a night under the stars.

    In Two Rock, we used to play with the emus and the hose. Like your pigs, they loved nothing better than to cavort in the spray.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Ticks are terrible here. It’s been bad the last few years and this year seems worse. We’re eaten up with them, thanks to the deer population explosion. But they’re not a risk on the porch at night. We get them from working outside during the day. Mosquitoes might be a problem but we don’t seem to have any right now.

      Hoping y’all are able to move in soon. I know you must be anxious to be finished.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pigs know how to have fun! As a kid, I slept outside under the stars every night during the summer. I must have done it for ten years. –Curt

    Like

  11. EllaDee says:

    Bliss, both the pigs and water, and sleeping outside. Thinking of both and summer, even though not remotely do-able makes my day a little brighter 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When summer rolls around again down there, maybe you can have a night outside at Taylor’s Arm. 🙂 In the meantime, I smile thinking of brightening your day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

