Our Choices

It is not our abilities that show what we truly are.  It is our choices.
— J.K. Rowling

h/t Lady Fi

11 comments on “Our Choices

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, that is so true. Over the course of my life time, I have witnessed acquaintances that have had talents and abilities way beyond mine but have so wasted them through bad choices. It’s very sad to see choices of addiction or striving for the wrong goals destroy a productive life. After living many decades and looking back on my journey through life, I have come to the conclusion that the most important decision in life (other than being a Christian) is choosing a spouse. That life long partner can be the best choice ever or the worst choice ever. Way more thought and reasoning should go into choosing a life long partner. I can’t say that I made the best choices in that area and if I had it to do over, I might marry the same but it would be with a lot more wisdom and thought.

    I’ve come to discover the smallest decisions can have huge impacts in life down the road. If I had not on a whim decided to go away to an automotive mechanic trade school in St. Louis after college, I would have never been able to introduce my sister to her future husband. If I had not followed up on an ad in the newspaper about an opening for a job at a well known telecommunication company, a 41 year career wouldn’t have happened. I just wanted $15 a week more money and never realized it would be a life time career.

    So, yeah, decisions in life big and small all guide and direct where we end up at life’s end. It took awhile but I finally made it to where I’m supposed to be in life. 🙂

    Have a great choices day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Dave, I appreciate that even if I dash off a one-line post for the day, you leave a thoughtful comment. I share your view of things. I haven’t made the best of every opportunity I’ve been given, but I’ve been fortunate to make some good choices notwithstanding my limited abilities. I’ve known people with superior abilities who made poor choices and ended up in places their abilities couldn’t help them. I’ve made some choices for reasons that in hindsight weren’t the best, but those choices set courses for my life. With other choices I would not have met the woman who would become my wife, and therefore our children would not exist. And I’ve made some choices I’d like to unmake too. Fortunately, those were few.

      I can say along with you, “It took awhile, but I finally made it to where I’m supposed to be in life.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bobraxton says:

    a choice without follow through is ineffective. book of James “faith without works is dead” – at a recent family gathering sisters (I have five, all younger than the first three – boys) reported that our Mama (who just died) would wake her in the morning by singing “Work – for the night is coming”

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Deepest sympathies Bob. So sorry for your loss.

      That song brings back special memories for me. I worked on my Grandfather’s farm every summer. As we were having our pre-dawn breakfast before heading to the tobacco field, the radio was always playing the local AM station. That song played early every morning.

      Like

  3. Joanna says:

    I would also add that it is also by how we deal with our failures, because they are inevitable. Too many seem doomed to repeat their mistakes and some choose to learn from them. I suppose that is also about choices 😀 Oh I do contradict myself sometimes and get into a ramble

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I agree. Our choices aren’t always objectively the best, but they do show who we are. I like to say that I learn from my mistakes, and that I’ve therefore learned a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    I recall hearing a fellow speak on CBC Radio One; a Canadian, who, if I remember correctly, was an Ayurvedic Priest (sorry, it was many years ago, and a little foggy) who(whom?) had studied many religions…
    At any rate, he had said [and I’m most definitely paraphrasing here] that having the ability to make our own decisions, whether right or wrong, were the “punishment” for being thrown out of The Garden… And, that the Snake, Lucifer, Judas and all the others on whom we lay the blame for wrong-doing {“The Devil made me do it!”} are actually acting on God’s behalf – and constantly testing our will, on whether or not we “Do the right thing”, “Love one another…”, “Do unto others…” And all Religions [that he’d studied] have a version of this Rule.
    How I truly wish I could remember the fellow’s name…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Interesting.

      The Genesis story about the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil is puzzling (as so many Bible stories are). Why would God want humans not to be able to distinguish good from evil? Why would having that knowledge (which is exactly what we usually think of as what God has in some sense revealed to humans) warrant punishment and expulsion from paradise?

      There are lots of theories as to the origin of the story.

      Please share the man’s name if you ever recall it and I’ll see if I can find a podcast of the interview.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Yes, I shall certainly share the information, should I recall it: )
        (Truth be told, I’d love to hear it again myself; )
        But, speaking strictly for myself, having to remain in the Garden would have been an incredibly boring way to go through life… (And why would God have given us the intelligence to make decisions, if we weren’t intended to? )
        More Points to Ponder; )

        Liked by 1 person

    • bobraxton says:

      for Deb: perhaps, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin and Karl Rahner

      Like

Leave a Reply

