Summer Planting

My goals for yesterday turned out to be too ambitious.  I’d hoped to finish planting all of our summer gardens but that didn’t happen.

I discovered that the roto-tiller tines needed to be replaced and that took me all morning.  I wish I’d taken care of that during one of those lazy slow winter days.  Lesson learned.

But even though we didn’t finish, all the gardens are prepped and bedded.  So far we’ve planted the winter squash, sweet corn, okra and watermelons. Today I should be able to finish putting in the beans, summer squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, eggplant, peppers and cantaloupes.  Seven large gardens in all.  It will feel good to have it done.

I left the house at about 6 a.m. and came back in around 8:30 p.m. The high temperature yesterday was 91.

I’d call that an honest day’s work.

20 comments on “Summer Planting

  1. Bob Braxton says:

    a “worker” works – a farmer’s work is never done

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      My to-do list has 112 items on it. This time of year it is hard to keep up. But I’m getting a good night’s sleep and I get to work my dream job.

      Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    That is one of the best feeling though with that type of work, is when your day is done, you can clearly see the task complete and a tangible result. In my office work it is often just a bunch of non-productive meetings or some other nonsensical tasks that do give you a sense of accomplishment just drain you.
    Amazing that you have 91 degrees. We have a windchill of 37F right now although it will be 90 on Sunday.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I know what you mean. I spent decades behind a desk. I worked just as many hours then as I do now, but I’d come home stressed out and tense. I much prefer finishing a long hot day of work with tired muscles and a peaceful mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna says:

    I know that feeling. I’m at home today and not out on our land, but I did plant seeds and weed a very overgrown strawberry bed yesterday. Just another strawberry bed and a herb bed to do, more seeds to plant and then the weeding begins, but overnight rain means no point in trying to do any of that – good job as the academic work needs some attention today 😀

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I saw that you’ve been very busy too. I’m trying to finish our planting, but still haven’t finished. Hopefully tomorrow. In the meantime the weeds and grass are growing like, well, like weeds.

      Fortunately my academic work is done and I won’t have any more writing to do until my manuscript comes back from the copy editor. I can barely keep up in the summer as it is.

      Good luck keeping your head above water!

      Like

  4. Sue says:

    Ha. I haven’t even planted my spring vegetables yet. My goodness–what a difference in our places. That’s what I love about blogging–you get to see what others are doing–and it’s all so varied and interesting.
    I wish I could get out. It’s rained for 4 straight days. The quack grass is having a field day(ha ha) with my vegetable garden border. I think it’s trying to reclaim that spot as its own.
    Hope you get planted!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy reading gardeners blogs from around the world. In the southern hemisphere it’s fall and they’re planting garlic. 🙂 In the deep south they’re already harvesting the summer veggies that we’re just now planting. And up where you are the spring veggies still aren’t in. It really is interesting to share our experiences. 🙂

      It’s been hot and dry here. We could really use some rain now. I feel like I’m planting in a desert the soil is so hot and dry.

      Like

  5. How exciting having everything planted and now for the wonder of watching it all grow. Fabulous!
    Here’s hoping you get to eat all of your own corn this year Bill.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, just a small comment about yesterday’s post comments and then on to today. Government subsidies have upset the balance between the actual cost of food and the real cost of food. Big Ag counts on the government where small market farmers can’t not. It’s an unfair advantage for big farmers.

    Yes, I started planting tomatoes and green peppers yesterday. I’ll be planting beans maybe today and well, of course, weeding. Weeds just never seem to stop. The garden time will really ramp up during the next month or two. May 15th draws ever so much closer which is the safe planting time. I suspect a few days earlier would be ok since the seeds take about a week to sprout and become plants. If old Jack Frost should come visiting the sprouting seeds will be protected. It’s a good time to alive, don’t you think?

    Have a great day in the market garden with summer planting.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I got a lot done today, but didn’t quite finish. I’ve made an executive decision to use another garden for early summer crops so now I’ll have to prep it. I hope that by this time tomorrow all the planting will be done. Meanwhile the weeds are growing like crazy and I haven’t cut the grass in a while. The farm is so overgrown it’s starting to look abandoned!

      You’re so right about the subsidies. They create an unfair advantage for industrial ag–an advantage they don’t need. Most of the programs were implemented during the Great Depression as emergency measures that never went away. So when industrial food looks cheap in the grocery store, we have to remember that we’ve already prepaid part of the cost with our taxes. It’s maddening.

      Like

  7. Buffy says:

    91 wow! We were in the low 70’s yesterday with a low of 50 last night. Cold and 6″ of rain this week. My garden is drowning and rotting! I need some warm sun shine!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Six inches of rain! I hate to think of what that would do to my freshly planted gardens. We need rain badly here, but that much would be disastrous.

      Sorry the weather is treating your garden badly. Hope it improves for you soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. avwalters says:

    As we edge up to “safe planting,” I have one eye on the forecast. Last night it dipped into the high thirties. I am prepping the garden beds, but don’t dare place plants outdoors yet. I was about to feel jealous of your accomplishment, but then I saw your temperatures. Oh my! At least we get to do the heavy lifting when the thermometer is sporting ranges in the fifties and sixties. Now I feel blessed. (Plus, yesterday Rick hooked up the well wiring. It’s just a hose, but now I don’t have to carry water from down the hill!)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yay for running water! I admire what y’all are doing there.

      I’d have trouble adjusting to your climate, but 50’s and 60’s would have felt nice the last two days. We were above 90 again today, but with a breeze it wasn’t as uncomfortable as yesterday.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I would call that an honest day’s work, too, Bill. In fact I would call it day and a half’s honest work. –Curt

    Like

Leave a Reply

