The Right Way

If you look the right way, you can see that the whole world is a garden.

Frances Hodgson Burnett

20 comments on “The Right Way

  1. shoreacres says:

    Are you saying vision’s more than eyesight? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff says:

    Excellent quote – it applies to much more than just gardens, though.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Depending on how you look at it, I suppose it’s possible to see the world as something other than a garden. But I do like thinking of it as a garden.

      Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Wonderful quote!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I liked it too. I came across it somewhere and made a note of it. But I’m not quite sure where I saw it. Regardless, it resonates with me. 🙂

      Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, such a short quote that’s filled with so much to contemplate. The more I work in the garden the more I have just that philosophy. In the beginning of mankind, that was the intent but of course we all know that the course of life was changed with a big event. I have found that most of the plants that I thought were weeds and needed to be eradicated from row crops are actually edible and are filled with nutrition. Granted I’m still not going to eat them unless I’m pretty hungry but it is fascinating how all of nature works together to survive. Both animal and plants survive together. The global planet garden all works together to keep things in balance. Too bad mankind can’t do the same.

    Have a great day in the garden.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I saw a definition of “weed” recently that I liked. It said a weed is a plant in a place you don’t want it.

      It’s interesting to me that just as our ancestors knew the best use for every kind of tree, they also knew the uses of plants (i.e. weeds). Many of the “weeds” we battle were once considered part of our food supply. People made use of whatever grew around them, because they didn’t have the option of going down to Walmart for bag or corn chips or a can of pineapple chunks.

      I like the image of the world as a garden. Seems true to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. avwalters says:

    There is as much of a filtering lens in the viewer as there is projection in the thing viewed.

    Like

  6. Joanna says:

    I have not long since re-read that book 🙂

    Like

  7. Hard to think of the earth as not being a garden. Otherwise, it would be a lifeless planet. –Curt

    Like

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Wow Bill, I remember my Grandmother saying that “People call any plant growing where it’s not wanted a weed, but that doesn’t make it so…” For as long as I can remember, our family always harvested wild edibles like Asparagus, Wild Leeks(Ramps), Fiddleheads, Lamb’s Quarters, Pickled Crab(Apple)s, Puffballs and Butter Mushrooms (Venison, Rabbit, Duck and Partridge; )
    But, since I started using them to make impressions in my pottery, I have learned so much more about the plants that grow here because I wanted the purchaser of the piece to know, not only the name of what they were holding in their hands, but also what it would have been used for and, in many cases, the reasons our ancestors brought them here.
    While doing this research, I found pfaf.org: an amazing resource packed with a broad range info on thousands of useful plants… The Garden’s incredible gifts; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, gifts! There are so many amazing and wonderful gifts that we’ve lost our appreciation for. But those are gifts that we enjoy when we live harmoniously with the rest of nature, and sadly we have chosen to treat the rest of nature as something to be exploited and used up. I love what you’re doing with your pottery. A nice tribute to the plants.

      Like

Leave a Reply

