A Morning

The morning began with a rainbow.

IMG_6428

I fed the pigs.

IMG_6430

And noticed that Wendy’s kids ought to be weaned.

IMG_6432

A muddy morning seemed like a good opportunity to carry some scrap metal in for recycling.

IMG_6433

Then I spent some time in the woods, searching in vain for morels, known here as “hickory chickens.”

IMG_6453

I’ve been looking for them every April I’ve been here.  And I’ve still never found one.

IMG_6451

Even though I came home empty-handed once again, the quiet time in the woods was nice.  That kind of foraging causes me to go slow and pay attention to my surroundings and the things at my feet.

IMG_6452

IMG_6457

IMG_6456

I should do that more often.

35 comments on “A Morning

  1. What a lovely morning, well apart from you not finding morels.
    Have a super weekend Bill.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    A perfect morning.

    I never had much luck with morels…..even though they have been “pointed out” to me right at my very own feet! I guess some folks just see them easier than others. Well, it’s a great time in the woods—and that’s always nice—even if you come back empty handed.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I wonder if I’m not patient enough. But, as you say, some people just have the gift for spotting them. We went out searching again last evening with no luck. When I got him I had an email from a nearby friend with pictures of the ones she had found that evening. She found them growing under the hedge in her front yard!

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I was astonished to hear that a friend in Austin found morels in some woods near to there. I had no idea they grew in Texas. Maybe next year I’ll go searching, too!

    Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Sounds perfect to me

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It really was a nice morning for a walk in the woods. I didn’t find any mushrooms, but amazingly I somehow managed to avoid finding any ticks either. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joanna says:

        Always a good thing. We have our tick sweeper – our cat! She seems to pick them all up for us. Must find something to put on her coat that doesn’t make her sick in the meantime

        Liked by 1 person

  5. valbjerke says:

    Picture eight – looks a lot like fiddleheads. You might ask around – they make good eating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Morels are supposed to grow under old Apple trees and near violets. I’ve only ever found a few of these treasures, but you’ve inspired me to go walking today. Thanks!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never found them in any of the places they’re supposed to be. But I have friends who have found them in all sorts of unlikely places. One friend found some yesterday growing in her hedges in the front yard. I’m not ready to give up yet.

      Like

  7. Bill, yes, a walk in the woods is a great way to relax. Some times non productive time during the busiest time is the best time. I know this time of the year is a real busy time for market growers. The never ending chores that go with raising animals and the always present tasks to be done in the gardens will fill a schedule to over flowing. It’s great that you spend a few minutes just moseying through the woods with the thought in mind to find a few mushrooms but if the goal of finding mushrooms is not accomplished, it’s ok and it was a nice relaxing walk through the woods.

    You have such wonderful woods on your property. Flowing water and flora galore to keep the attention of even the most casual observer. The woods on Terra Nova Gardens is on a steep bank that basically holds the bank together. It’s not very favorable for walking but it makes for a great back drop for garden pictures. And, well, it a great place for wild turkeys to roost. Even those big Tom wild turkeys can fly up to very top of the trees to roost for the night. I haven’t seen too many around this year. My relax time is sitting at the picnic table at Terra Nova Gardens and waving at neighbors passing by as I contemplate what needs to be done at the garden. So far I’m staying ahead of the weeds this year. Yea!!

    Have a great morning rainbow/woods walking day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been very rainy here, and the gardens are so muddy that there isn’t much gardening to do. But I treat mushroom foraging like fishing or hunting. It’s food production in my book, just as productive as hoeing a row would be. Of course that’s only true if you actually find mushrooms.

      The weeds are starting to get the best of me in the asparagus patch. I need to ramp up my efforts there. Otherwise, I’m ahead of them too. For now.

      Like

  8. avwalters says:

    I’m with valbjerke, Go for the fiddleheads. They may not be morels, but you’d go home with something tasty in your basket.
    Here the area is famous for morels. I’ve seen “false morels” on our property–and it’s reputed to be a great morel hunting location, but this will be the first year I’ll be able to look. We shall see.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never eaten fiddleheads and I haven’t learned what to pick and what not to pick. That’s something I need to remedy soon!

      Hope you discover lots of morels on your place!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Looks like it’s too late by a few days now… But have you ever tried harvesting some fiddleheads?

    Like

  10. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Don’t know if they’ll help, or not; but perhaps you can recognise some of the leaf-litter they’re growing in, in these photos? http://flickrhivemind.net/Tags/joshchamot,morels/Interesting
    One article I read mentioned their liking stands of Aspen… I found one growing in the doorway of the drive shed one year, but never before or since… Either way, good luck!
    P.S. Found this blog post you may find useful. https://midmented.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/ending-morel-season-2013-with-350-morels-found/

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve looked in all the recommended places, without luck. I have a friend who collects lots of them every year and he insists that there isn’t any rhyme or reason to where they grow. I plan to keep plugging away until I find some.

      Like

  11. barnraised says:

    What a day 🙂

    Like

  12. Laura says:

    Sounds like a perfect morning!

    Like

  13. Hard to beat for a morning, Bill. Just imagine, you could have spent it in an office tied up in legalese. 🙂

    I go searching for morels each year on our property and in the National Forest behind our house with the same results. 🙂 I know they are around because I see morel buyers parked along the road each time I go to town. –Curt

    Like

  14. EllaDee says:

    There’s got to be something that keeps you searching;, continuing hope and a pleasant exercise are good outcomes too. A rainbow start to the day is always good, and I love that scrap metal can be turned into cash. I laughed at your observation about Wendy’s kids. Yep!

    Like

  15. “Hickory chickens”!! Fun name! I’ve never heard them called that.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      For a million dollars I couldn’t have told you they were called morels. I only heard them called hickory chickens or hickory chicks. I have no idea how they came to be called that. They don’t seem to have any affinity for hickory nut trees.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

