Cause when you’re a pig, that’s what you do.

I give them a bowl of fresh water and this is what they do.

IMG_6318

It’s not like they don’t have wallows.

IMG_6257

IMG_6285

So I dump it out and put fresh water in.

And, of course.

IMG_6406

28 comments on “Cause when you’re a pig, that’s what you do.

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    LOL, they’re as bad as Lab puppies!
    LOVE that butterscotch clay… Do you have many Potteries nearby?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      “Butterscotch clay” sounds so much nicer than “red mud.” 🙂

      I’m not aware of any potteries, though they probably exist. But I do sometimes bake some of that clay into bricks. Unfortunately gardens do not grow well in bricks.

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    LOL!!
    Such happy looking creatures! You are doing a marvelous job with them.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They are a happy lot. And troublemakers too. These seven have done more damage to the pasture in a few weeks than our last five did their whole lives! It’s funny how different the personalities of pigs can be.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Sounds like this bunch need something to keep them busy. Have you been following FarmGal’s porcine make-work regimen of “piggy plows”?

        Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Cute. 🙂 I have a couple just like these, only with two legs.

    Like

  4. Lovely!
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I don’t think I’ll ever have too much of looking at your pigs. They make me smile, every time.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think I could increase the popularity of my blog if I just posted pictures of pigs or baby goats every day. 🙂

      Every single time I go to their pasture I’m tempted to take more pictures of them. Pigs just always seem to be happy and they show it.

      The make me smile every time I see them too.

      Like

  6. avwalters says:

    Smaller bowl. The pigs are confused. You think trough, they think wading pool. (You know, it’s nice to rinse off a bit after a good wallow.)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If I use a smaller bowl they immediately flip it over, spill out all the water and roll in the mud. I have to use a larger one so it’s too heavy for them to flip easily. I have a large trough we normally use, but these little ones aren’t big enough to drink out of it yet. But once I start using it, it doesn’t take them long to start climbing over in it.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bill, Ha, yeah, pigs only know how to be pigs. They never think about what they do …. kind of like me when I was a kid and curiosity continually got me in trouble. Why did I throw my belt down the outside toilet hole. ?? Why did I put my Dad’s watch down the rat hole. ?? Why did I think it would be fun to jump into the barrel of used motor oil. ?? It’s really true, in my case anyway, when asked the question “Why did you do that?”, the answer was “I don’t know.” Living in the now just might have some repercussions to it. Pigs very much live in the now moment and don’t think about maybe a drink in the near future would have dirt and mud in the water. It’s a wonder that my parents ever survived my childhood. Every day was an interesting adventure for me and them as well. Hmmm, kind of like today. Some things don’t change in a boy’s life when they become an old man. Curiosity still rules …. some times with repercussions. 🙂

    Have a great pig raising day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Jumping into a barrel of used motor oil?? I hate to think what your punishment for that was. 🙂

      Children usually seem indestructible. But, as you say, it’s a wonder sometimes that parents survive. 🙂

      Like

  8. You just have to love pigs. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  9. bobraxton says:

    everybody: “out of the pool”

    Like

  10. Cindi says:

    As Deb wrote above, they’re as bad as labradors! Great photos.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They do love water. They’ll take a quick drink then climb in. Makes it very hard to keep their water clean, but they don’t seem to mind. 🙂

      Like

  11. EllaDee says:

    I love the expressions of bliss on their dear little porcine faces 🙂

    Like

  12. Our pigs did this too. Funny how many think they can fit in one tub.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Once they graduate to their big water trough, it will be funny to see them all trying to squeeze in there. No doubt, there will be pictures….

      Like

  13. pattisj says:

    It’s the same way with the birdbath–no pigs here–but pigeons and Mallard Ducks do the same thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

