Practicing Resurrection

Yesterday Seedbed published a blog post by me, recommending that folks practice resurrection by planting gardens.

I took my own advice and planted broccoli, cabbage and arugula.

IMG_6315

Thanks to the warm dry weather (finally!) we’ve been making good progress in our spring planting. ย We still haven’t planted peas or potatoes, but three spring gardens are now done.

So far we’ve planted lettuce (4 varieties), 9 varieties of Asian greens/veggies, Swiss chard, radishes, turnips, turnip greens, spinach, 4 varieties of beets, 2 types of kale, collards, broccoli, two varieties of cabbage and arugula. And the asparagus is starting to emerge.

Spring garden goodness is on the way. ย Welcome gardens of 2015.

18 comments on “Practicing Resurrection

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I did get some spuds in the ground last Friday. The rule of the thumb here in Nebraska is to have potatoes planted by Good Friday. I’m planting in layers so the first of perhaps four layers has been planted. It looked like it would have worked last year but I didn’t take care of the seed and it rotted before the second and third layer could be planted. I should get a true test of whether planting potatoes in layers will work or not this year. This idea stems from articles that have been written about potatoes being grown by continuing to hill up the plants in planter boxes that reach waist high. Hardly any of the people I’ve talked with had any success with this method except one. She planted in layers as the plants continued to grow up out of the soil. I thought I’d give that method a go and see what happens. That’s really all that I have in the ground so far.

    This week looks like a wet week so maybe after the rain stops this week I can get started with planting the onions and cabbage outside. I just repotted my green peppers and replanted my tomatoes. The seeds from the first planting must have been bad because not a single one sprouted. So I’m well on the way to harvest. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great planting day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hey Dave. It’s 10 o’clock as I type this and I’ve just come in from finishing up planting our peas (by tractor light). Everything is in now (ahead of tomorrow’s rain) except for potatoes. Looks like we’ll be pretty late getting them in this year, but that’s OK.

      I’ve considered experimenting with different ways to plant potatoes, but for now I’m going to just stick with our old tried-and-true method. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    I got onions in – then it snowed ๐Ÿ˜€

    Do you have any problems with flea beetles? We do and we have to put fleece over many of our plants to stop them getting decimated whilst young.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They are a problem for us. I had to give up on one particularly attractive Asian green (Maruba Santoh) in the spring because of them. But it grows beautifully in the fall, so no great loss.

      They hit our eggplant hard, but we’ve found that the plants survive it, recover and do just fine. We’ve never used row covers and never lost an eggplant crop to flea beetles. Hopefully that will continue to be true for us.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. smfarm says:

    It’s great to be back in the garden, isn’t it? Our peas are up, along with kale, lettuce, spinach, radishes and turnips we planted a week or so ago. My asparagus hasn’t started to come up yet and we are anxiously awaiting that.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our asparagus is late coming in this year too. We’ve had a few spears come up, but very few. I’m sorta relieved to hear from someone else that theirs isn’t up yet either. Hopefully we’ll both have plenty of it soon. I’m ready for some freshly picked asparagus!

      Like

  4. Farmgirl says:

    Welcome, indeed! And may they all be successful!

    Like

  5. Nice start! I’ve got onions in flats, and that’s about it. I should be planting spuds this week, like Dave. Gotta get on it. My ground is still pretty wet for working, so can’t plant much out yet, but should be doing a lot more in terms of seed trays. Should…I keep saying that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Potatoes are usually one of our first crops in, but this year they’re going to be the last of the spring crops to get planted.

      Things dried out here over the last few warm and windy days. But the rain is set to return tomorrow. May push back our potato planting for a while.

      Like

  6. avwalters says:

    Ah, this beats my 100 peat pots of seeds in bondage. But I can enjoy real spring, vicariously through your posts.

    Like

  7. Read your blog in seedbed and thought, yes, being a farmer requires a lot of faith. ๐Ÿ™‚ โ€“Curt

    Like

  8. Sue says:

    Oh, I am SO jealous.
    It snowed like crazy yesterday morning. Today is much better, but wow—to be able to plant.
    Lucky lucky you!!!
    And thank you for sharing photos. I NEED to see that spring is here—somewhere.
    Have a wonderful week

    Like

  9. The season is here! Getting more and more in our garden too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

