March Planting

With March slipping away I became impatient and a few days ago I went ahead and starting planting. I put out our kale and collards transplants.

IMG_6246

I held back the cabbage, broccoli and romaine lettuce and now I’m glad I did.  We’ve been hit by a major cold snap.  Last night the temps dropped into the low 20s.  Whether the plants were seriously damaged remains to be seen.

I’m hoping this is winter’s last gasp.

Ninety percent of our normal spring planting still hasn’t happened.  In a little over a month it will be time to start the summer crops.

IMG_6191

But it does no good to complain about it.  March is unpredictable and it’s gonna do what it’s gonna do.

14 comments on “March Planting

  1. Joanna says:

    Well if it is any consolation, despite the early disappearance of our snow, the most we have done is ploughed some ridges on our sloping land to see if it will reduced flooding later. We always have some heavy bursts of rain sometime in the year. It is raining now too.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I shouldn’t complain so much. It’s not like this is the first time weather has been unfavorable for planting in March. It’s just that this is not what I had hoped for back in the dark days of winter. I need to just learn to appreciate the additional down time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, with only a couple days of March left, Nebraska has only received 1/4 of an inch of moisture for the month. Our normal rain fall for March is 2.5 inches of rain. People in my neighborhood are already watering the grass in their yards. They all have received their first dose of fertilizer for the year and have to be sure the yard gets enough watch or it will burn the grass. Yeah, don’t get me started on the waste that goes into the multi billion dollar business of growing grass. Lawns is the largest crop grown in our country and it isn’t even edible because of all the chemicals put on it. It isn’t even worthy of mulch or compost. It’s strictly for cosmetic look good reasons. I’m not sure about my town but in some, vegetables can’t be grown in the front yard. Simple peer pressure of my neighborhood would be enough to prevent any one, including me, to give it a try. It’s sad for me to think about all the land wasted that could be used for growing food.

    Perhaps some potatoes can be planted soon. Onions and cabbage will be in the garden in a couple weeks. They will be the first to be planted. My onions and cabbage made it through the last frost last year. I did cover them with gallon glass jars for protection which apparently worked for the cabbage but the onions survived on their own. So not much planting is going on here yet. Cleaning and preparing is the main thrust.

    Have a great Spring planting day. May the Kale and Collards not only survive but have the sweetest taste ever because of the freeze.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Oh brother, our cultural obsession with lawns is another thing I’ve been known to rant about. It’s all fairly recent, having become popular in the U.S.in the mid-20th Century. Now of course it’s unquestioned that we’re supposed to grow, mow, fertilize and weed grass in our yards. It’s all kind of nutty.

      Our overwintered onions look great. The record cold didn’t seem to bother them at all. Next year I think I’ll plant even more of them. With overwintered veggies wet springs are a plus.

      Like

  3. Farmgirl says:

    I am so antsy too. I have greens and radishes planted in 5 gallon buckets in the greenhouse just so I might have something to take to next month’s market! May your planting window and warmth be soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Our market opens in a month and I’m not sure what we’ll have by then. Certainly not as much as I’d anticipated. But we’ll have it all eventually. I’m trying to be patient….

      Like

  4. Sue says:

    Hi Bill
    Sorry about the fickle weather. It’s so frustrating at this time of year.
    I know you seem to have a HUGE area, but have you ever tried the Agribon fabric?
    I only have an 85-90 growing period and if it weren’t for that stuff, I’d NEVER have anything.
    I buy a 250 long, 83 inch wide roll and use it one everything right down to getting corn to start.
    Might be worth a look into??
    Anyways, sorry to prattle on. It’s all about exchanging (tossing out) ideas.
    Have a wonderful day

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I did cover the raised beds (turning them into cold frames) but we don’t have any row covers. I’ve thought about getting them but our growing season is long enough that we really don’t need to stretch it. They would be helpful at times though so I’m not ruling it out…

      Like

  5. avwalters says:

    Lions and lambs, lambs and lions. What’re gonna do with March?

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Trying to make a deadline, I put a final coat of varnish on a boat today. I worked later than I like to, because the wind was blowing and I thought it would keep the fog at bay until the varnish dried enough to not turn milky with moisture. Will I escape? Will it be bright and shiny in the morning? No way to know — but I, too, was impatient to be done with it and move on.

    None of us needs to go to Vegas. We do enough gambling in life as it is!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks to my impatience, all those plants died. Had I waited a week, that wouldn’t have happened. Chalk it up as another lesson learned.

      Hoping your gamble worked out better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

