Battling Kids

I caught these two kids playing and thought it was cute.

IMG_6136

IMG_6137

IMG_6138

IMG_6139

IMG_6140

IMG_6144

8 comments on “Battling Kids

  1. rumpydog says:

    Such innocence! I can’t help but smile.

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Spring is the time for entertaining animal activity. Even the wild life babies can be entertaining to watch. The majestic migration of the crane is the main event for Nebraska. They hang around for a few weeks resting up for the last leg of their migration north. I’ve lived in Nebraska most of my life and never made the trip to see them. I understand it’s quite impressive to see thousands of cranes in one place resting for the departure. I’m not sure which crane makes that decision but one day they all just decide it’s time to leave and a sea of cranes take to the air and fly away. Fall migration has a little shorter stay with only a few days of resting before moving on.

    All the wild life is fascinating to watch this time of the year. I haven’t seen the baby turkeys yet but I think they start hatching out in April or May. Wild turkeys are very community oriented. They travel in community with several mothers guarding the little ones. They come and drink at my nature spring at times which is about 30 feet from the picnic table. If I’m real still when I see them coming they will let me watch but one of the mother hens will stand guard and watch my every move while the rest are drinking. It’s quite a wonderful event to watch.

    I’ve only had one deer step out of the woods. It looked like a yearling deer like the one that feeds with your goats. I just kept working in the garden and looking out of my peripheral vision. He/she wandered around unimpressed by my presence there and finally wandered back into the woods never to be seen again.

    Have a great baby goat entertaining activity day. Better that any reality show on TV, don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’d rather watch nature than any television show. We’ve been without TV for years now and I don’t miss it a bit.

      I’ve never seen a crane in nature, but we have lots of wildlife here these days. In addition to all the usual geese, turkeys, rabbits etc. I saw a large fox yesterday, and we hear the coyotes yipping and howling frequently. Friends who were visiting last week saw a large bobcat in our driveway/road when they were leaving. And deer are an everyday sight.

      I think that as we humans continue to pave over habitat, the wildlife is getting crowded into smaller areas. Like our farm and like Terra Nova.

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        We don’t miss TV either and the cranes returned here to Latvia last week. They will be around here for a while, but we still haven’t sighted any storks yet

        Like

  3. Great sequence. I love how the little one is just standing there, lowering his head for the butt, but otherwise just being. It’s the bigger one dancing around and doing the butting. Metaphor for larger conflicts perhaps?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      They were both rearing up and butting, I just didn’t catch the smaller one doing it. Notice in the first picture that he’s reared back a little.

      But is is funny how the smaller one held his ground, seemingly unimpressed.
      Of course they were just playing so there was no real force behind the butts. When the grownups do it, it’s a different story. Surely there is a metaphor in that.

      Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    but .. but

    Like

Leave a Reply

