Babies

We have lots of new babies on the farm.

Chicks in the brooder coop

Chicks in the brooder coop

IMG_6196

Bianca and her new kids. Note their deer friend in the background.

IMG_6219

IMG_6186

New piglets

IMG_6209

Oh yeah!  One of the best things about spring.

Oh yeah! One of the best things about spring.

New life on the farm makes me happy.

29 comments on “Babies

  1. ladyfi says:

    WHat adorable shots!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BeeHappee says:

    Oh Bill, now you are really tempting me… I love the piggies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      They are cute, and funny. But they can be exasperating too. My plan was to keep them in the stall until they are tame, but evidently they didn’t like that plan. I still haven’t figured out how they escaped. The good news is that they came back on their own.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue says:

    I just laughed when I saw the piglet pics. You can’t help but smile at those faces. Adorable!!
    And yum—asparagus.
    I’d love some fresh. I’m eating on a batch I picked up at the store. It’s more travelled than most people I know! Can’t wait for the local stuff!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Even when asparagus is in season here, the stuff in the stores comes from places like Peru and Mexico. Go figure.

      I’m excited about having fresh asparagus again. Definitely one of the joys of spring.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    I just finished reading the latest from a farm couple in Kansas who have two calves (both from sets of twins) they’re trying to bond with new mamas. Oh, my. Cute and chaos are joined at the hip in that instance — I suspect you have a little chaos to go with all this cute, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Today’s chaos was thanks to those seven little devils somehow managing to get out of the shed. They seemed to enjoy their romp. I’m afraid tomorrow may bring more chaos to go with the cuteness.

      Like

  5. Dani says:

    Oh, too cute 🙂 And, in the case of the last pic, yummy.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A friend of mine posted a picture of his first emerging spear on Facebook. I was jealous. But when we looked carefully we found that we had one too! I’m looking forward to the first fresh asparagus of the year. One of my absolute favorites.

      Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Spring is the season of new life. It’s my favorite season. Every thing is all fresh and clean. I’m still in the process of cleaning up the weed mess at Terra Nova Gardens from the fallow year last year. The nurseries have the first round of garden plants. I may buy a couple tomatoes and green peppers just to get things started in the basement in the five gallon bucket portable setup for this year. These are monster plants that stand about 18 to 24 inches high. People will buy them now by the droves even though they can’t plant them outside for another six weeks. It would be interesting to me to find out exactly how many of these plants make it to maturity. Urban city dwellers are some what naïve in their education about gardening and figure if it’s in the store, it’s time to plant them.

    Just last week I was working at Terra Nova Gardens and one of the neighbors stopped by and asked what I was planting. It was one of those sunny windless 75 degree days and I was working in a tee shirt. I tried to explain that planting time was not until the middle of May but I don’t think I really convinced him. Soil temperature is still hovering around 50 degrees and at depth of about five inches.

    We did get about 1/4 inch of rain on Wednesday and put about 50 gallons of water in the garden water storage tank. So Spring has begun here in Nebraska.

    Have a great new babies on the homestead day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah I scratch my head every year when I see what people are buying to plant (and when). They have good intentions but they’re being set up for failure that way.

      It rained again yesterday and our spring planting continues to be delayed, much to my frustration. I did go ahead and plant our kale and collard transplants (in the mud) and our lettuce mix in the raised beds is starting to come up.

      Like

  7. bobraxton says:

    sunshine on my shoulder

    Like

  8. Babies are the best!
    Have a lovely day Bill.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  9. Joanna says:

    So cute! We are still waiting for our grass to grow, but our garlic is up. We are the same as Nebraskadave – we have to wait a wee while before the ground will be ready

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Our temps are fine now, but we’re still waiting for the soil to dry. We’ve had a lot of rain this spring. I did manage to get a few things planted, but we’re at least a week away on most of the planting, maybe more.

      Like

  10. What’s a pig without its nose in the food bowl. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  11. Spring is definitely springing where you are – wonderful shots of all the babies. Asparagus! I’m envious, but my rhubarb will be ready to eat in another week or two, so I’m not complaining too much.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever had rhubarb. It’s not part of our food culture here. I tried planting some a couple of years ago, but it was a fail.

      Asparagus is one of my favorites. Glad to see it return.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Rhubarb is seriously tough stuff and can be found growing around old homesteads here decades after their demise; but, it doesn’t like an overly hot location, if you do ever try growing it again.

        Like

  12. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    It’s wonderful to see so many happy campers on your farm these days! (LOVE the smiley Piggies: )
    But sprouted asparagus? Omg, you definitely saved the best for last! We are still SO far away from that… It’s finally going, but there are still snow banks melting everywhere – and it was seriously SNOWING here for most of Thursday… *sigh*

    Like

    • Bill says:

      No snow here, but tonight’s forecast low is 25. Good grief.
      The gardens will not enjoy that.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        It will be SO nice to be able to see the soil again – well, once it’s gotten past the “muck” stage – but y’know, right now even that sounds attractive; ) At the rate we’re going this year, I’m not holding my breath. (Snowing again today ): Meanwhile, enjoying your progress vicariously.

        Like

  13. beyond adorable … what a great time of year … everyone looks so happy, and I love knowing that deer has found companionship with your goats.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The deer has joined the goat herd and seems to fit right in. She grazes with them in the pasture in open daylight and beds down with them at the stall at night. Not deer-like behavior.

      Like

  14. Cindi says:

    Spring! Such an active time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

