Reunite as Friends

Science arose from poetry, and … a change of times might beneficently reunite the two as friends, at a higher level and to mutual advantage.

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

5 comments on “Reunite as Friends

  1. Bill, Yesterday was a glorious day here in Nebraska with the temperature reaching up to 75 degrees. The last couple days I’ve been able to start scratching around in the garden. It’s still quite muddy but the frost is almost gone from the ground. Serious gardening is very close now. I hear the geese, as well, honking their way North for the summer. I’m like a race horse in the gate ready to get started with the outside gardening year.

    I never thought much about poetry until I became a regular here on your blog. I really didn’t like poetry much …. well …. except for maybe a certain cowboy poet named R. P. Smith. His country style of farm and rural poetry I understand and enjoy the humor in it.

    Science and poetry? I never really considered them to be friends. Science is so logical and poetry is so creative. At first glance, it would seem they are on opposite ends of the spectrum. After some stimulating thought, which naturally comes from reading your blog, I can indeed see how one could energize the other. I just never know what I’m going to learn when I open your blog with morning coffee.

    It’s another 75 degree day here and the soil temperature just keeps climbing. Yesterday it was 40 degrees. Potatoes require at least 55 degree soil temperature so we here are definitely on the way to spud planting.

    Have a great science/poetry day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We were discussing planting by signs recently. I read that you can plant potatoes based on soil temperature, or you can plant them when the dandelions bloom.

      Here it’s traditional to plant them on St. Patrick’s Day. I don’t see that happening this year.

      I have our seed potatoes ready and I’m anxious to get started. But it looks like it’s going to be a while longer…

      Like

  2. Poetry seems more attuned to quantum mechanics than Newtonian Physics, Bill. A leap of faith into a mysterious universe, if you will. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I thought of that too. Goethe probably couldn’t have guessed how wild and poetic science was going to become.

      Like

      • Slightly off topic, but relevant none the less, Bill, I once asked my father, who was a devout Christian, what his concept of heaven was. He replied, “Oh, I am going to be a spaceship travelog through the universe.” “Oh,” I replied, “you are going to be on a space ship traveling through the universe.” “No,” he told me. “I am the spaceship.” –Curt

        Like

Leave a Reply

