Feeding and Waiting

Every morning begins with feeding.

First I bottle-feed Neo.

IMG_5952

Then I let the chickens out of their coop. Sometimes I give them a treat.

Elvis presiding over breakfast.

Elvis presiding over breakfast.

Normally I feed the goats some hay. But yesterday I let them into the paddock where the pigs had been living (the last of whom are now at the processors) and they’re feasting on the stockpiled forage there.

IMG_5969

Sally is ready for her closeup.

Sally is ready for her closeup.

Once the animals are all fed, then they feed me.

IMG_5983

We have new chicks arriving next week and new piglets a few weeks later.

The seeds are ready for planting and so is the sower.

Ready for spring.  Waiting.

20 comments on “Feeding and Waiting

  1. shoreacres says:

    That Elvis is such a handsome dude. When I got my email yesterday from “my farmers,” it included a photo of their 190 new chicks. And, they’re putting in asparagus, but we’ll have to wait for a second spring before we can get a taste of that deliciousness.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love it when new chicks arrive. We’re only adding 24 more. Should have them in a few days.

      I’m surprised asparagus will grow that far south. There are few things better than freshly picked asparagus. So much better than anything you’ll find in a store. Ours should start popping up in the next few weeks.

      In the second year you can only pick it for about a week. You don’t get a full season of production until the third year. It’s a long wait, but definitely worth it.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Well, here on the coast we’re region nine, but the asparagus planters are in 8, and I suspect 8a rather than 8b.

        But lo! Our strawberry-picking farm opened today. I have two quarts of fresh-picked, luscious strawberries to eat. Spring’s a-coming!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bill says:

        Freshly picked strawberries! The thought of that makes my mouth water. Lucky you! Enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bill, I think it’s a given that we are all ready for Spring. Spring time seems to have arrived here in Nebraska with 50s and 60s temperatures for the next couple weeks …. so the weathermen say. The ground should be ready to at least scratch around in by that time. I can’t say that I really disliked this Winter because as Nebraska Winters go it was one of the better ones. It just kept teasing us with very mild 50 degree temperatures for a day or two then plunging back below zero. I’m sure we are very much behind in average moisture because we only had about 12 inches of snow for the whole Winter. That’s about a half of what we usually get. We can still get snow here even in April but it’s usually a wet sloppy snow that soaks into the ground and is gone within a day or two. The onions and cabbages are doing good and I have to really restrain myself not to start the warm weather crops yet. I’ll probably start hardening the onions and cabbages off this next week. There’s still eight weeks before the last frost date and last year we got a killing frost two weeks after that. I bought some marigold flower seed to plant this year. I’m planning on starting them in flats and putting them in flower beds around the gardens. I’ll be integrating flowers for in my gardens this year. It’s something new for me.

    Have a great Spring anticipation day.

    Like

    • Joanna says:

      I can relate to a lot of what you say NebraskaDave. Our winter hasn’t been too bad but we had snow again yesterday. Trying not to plant too many seeds, having seen the grass the itch to get out and do something is strong

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Our lettuce starts are the best we’ve ever had. The other starts are OK, but a little leggy. The problem for us is how wet the last few weeks have been. We need a good week of warm dry days, but I see more rain forecast for Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. That does not bode well for March planting.

      We’ll just have to see.

      Thought of you today as I was helping our friends in town on their urban garden project. There’s a lot of work yet to be done but they’re excited and they’ve gotten some folks in the neighborhood excited too. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. avwalters says:

    Not ready yet. But waiting.

    Like

  4. BeeHappee says:

    Elvis sure deserves his name. Sally not worse herself either. Beautiful crew you have there. I bet you they are waiting for spring too. 🙂

    Like

  5. It may just be feeding chores now, but it’s coming…funny how we look forward to the change in season so much and then as we get towards the end of a season, we can’t wait for it to end. Something cyclical about that :). I’ve got a bit longer (a month) before it all starts again, but I can feel it stirring with the longer days and the bulbs up everywhere.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You are so right about that. I need to get better at just going with the flow of the seasons, enjoying whatever time we’re in rather than anticipating the next change.

      I’ll start doing that next year. For now I want spring. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Boy, you are ready aren’t you?! I pray it’s a good one for you. 🙂

    Like

  7. barnraised says:

    I always love your pictures! Next spring I am adding in goats and chickens! Want to do it this year but know that I need more time to plan and learn and start right. Isn’t it wonderful how our animals and working the earth we live on make us so much more aware of, in tune to and appreciative of the seasons. I remember way back working in a office and, honestly, I never really thought that much about seasons/weather/the simplicity yet significance of nature’s rhythms. I see now what I was missing!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you enjoy them. I wish the quality was better but I just use my phone to take the pictures (and I’m no photographer).

      In our culture we’ve increasingly lost that natural rhythm. But living the farm life can return us to them. I’ve just come in from feeding Neo and putting up the chickens. I now know without having to check what phase the moon is in and whether I’ll need a flashlight or not. Back in my city life I would have had no idea.

      Like

  8. Zambian Lady says:

    What a nice photo of Neo. Seems to be enjoying breakfast.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Neo always chugs down his bottle with gusto. We’ve had bottle-babies who were difficult to feed. But with him we’ve never had a problem.

      Like

Leave a Reply

