A few more

Yesterday’s spring-like weather (much welcomed) melted away the last of the snow.  Here a few more shots I took the morning it arrived.

IMG_5907

IMG_5909

IMG_5911

It’s March and I’m ready to start planting.  When that will happen is up to nature and she’s notoriously unpredictable in March.

21 comments on “A few more

  1. Sue says:

    I’m just starting to think of starting seeds. I would LOVE to be able to think of planting outside at this time of year.
    The snow is always beautiful, until March. Then out it must go!! (It doesn’t listen to me up here–we are due for 3-5 inches today. Sigh)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Of course have a longer growing season than you do, but we can never predict what’s going to happen in March. We’ve had years when the ground was ready on the first of the month and years when the entire month was too wet. This year has been especially weird with some wild temperature swings.
      I saw a lot of robins in the yard today. Time for the snow to go away. 🙂

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    We have a saying in the UK, March in like a lamb out like a lion, in like a lion out like a lamb. I am not too happy then that our weather is just damp and drizzly and the snow rapidly disappearing – I wonder if that means we are in for more of the white stuff at the end of the month. The great thing about a dumping of white stuff in March though is that it doesn’t hang around long 🙂

    Like

  3. Buffy says:

    I’m ready for Spring too! We have another round of snow coming for tomorrow!

    Like

  4. Bill, March here in Nebraska is the change up month. Any thing can happen in March weather wise. Nature has a full bag of things to use and usually does before the month is over. The saving grace is that it’s also the month that starts the warm up. Many days in the 50s are a welcome indication that Spring is on the way. My sure indicator that Winter is winding down is the beginning of the Spring flowers. I noticed that the Tulips are poking up through the frozen ground by my front patio retaining wall. I am always amazed at the toughness of tulips and daffodils. They are my Spring time indicators. The lows for the last five days have been 0, 7, 17, 20, 38, and a forecast of 3 for tonight. And yet Spring flowers are starting to grow up out of the soil. How do they know when it’s time to start growing even though the soil temperature is not above freezing? Nature was designed with amazing talents, don’t you think?

    Have a great snow melting day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      So true. I’ve seen daffodils blooming in the snow. It really is amazing.

      I think it’s the day length, not so much the temperature, that causes some of the changes. Our chickens have started laying more because the days are longer, for example. That’s probably what triggers the tulips and daffodils too. Nature never ceases to amaze me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Day length, huh. How can they know what the day length is if they are buried in frozen ground. It could be totally true and I’m not an expert but I’m just saying. 🙂

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Good point. Beats me. And some years they bloom earlier than others, so it must not be day length. But as you say, it isn’t temperature either. I don’t know.

        Like

  5. bobraxton says:

    Kermit says: knee deep

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    Wow, Bill, for a second there I thought you just moved to Chicago. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The first time I went to Chicago I arrived late at night, in January. I took the L from the airport to downtown, planning to walk the few blocks from the station to my hotel.

      I thought I was going to die. I don’t ever remember being so cold. I’ve never been happier to see a cab in my life.

      Like

      • BeeHappee says:

        😀 You do have a talent to describe it very accurately! Obviously you did not have gear fitting for Chicago. We had ice and sleet all over today, and we are back to 0F tomorrow, which is really unusual for March.

        Like

  7. avwalters says:

    Yeah, we’re the same, only to a deeper degree. It’s snowing like the dickens out there!

    Like

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    To reiterate Joanna’s comment about March 1st coming “In like a lamb, out like a lion…” (Not sure, but it’s likely a Commonwealth thing, as we also say it here in Ontario… Canada… Perhaps even North America as a whole?)
    So, which was it for you, lamb or lion?
    Wow, our “last threat of frost date” here is (or should I say has always been, historically speaking): May 24, the Victoria Day weekend; so, I’ve got to admit feeling just a little envious you’re already thinking about planting outside.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      In like a lion this year. A roaring white lion.

      I was curious about the saying (we have it too) so I did some quick internet research. Seems it is English originally. Evidently the Welsh say the same thing about April. I also read that it has something to do with Leo being in the meridian at the beginning of the month and Aries at the end of it.

      Our average last frost date is April 15. We don’t usually start our warm weather crops until the first week of May, but we plant cold-hearty veggies as early as the soil will permit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

